Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai, India

Easy accessibility

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The staff at the reception are simply amazing. They make one feel like friends, almost. Lovely girls. Ask them for anything and they cheerfully help.
Cons: My friends stayed in the ground floor. We stayed on the first floor room directly above. Walking on the wooden flooring of our room disturbed them.
Location: Go visit Maria's bakery bang outside the lane. Awesome breads and pies. Maria offers extra food gratis.Take day trips offered at Casa Vitae. It is VFM
The hotel sits pretty with a courtyard and flowing water in a small ornamental garden. However, mosquitoes descend as evening approaches. One could read a book, eat a meal in the garden with no interruptions, albeit at daylight. The pomegranate trees in the front of the garden were laden with unripe fruits, the bright bougainvillea adds to the charm of this lovely, small boutique hotel. The tables are way too small for four people to eat at one go. One has to perforce keep some of the food on ledges or on other tables, if free. However, this is one hotel I would strongly recommend to anyone visiting Rethymnon Town. Imagine living in a 16th century castle! It is simply beautiful. You can visit almost everything from here without any hassle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave & Margot

Exceptional Quality and Value for Money

Posted Jun 20, 2014
It's hard to think of an original comment as so many guests before us have said what a wonderful time they had because of the attentive and friendly service. We stayed two weeks and our experience was just as expected. It's a charming hotel, located in the middle of the old town, and is in easy reach of shops, beach, tavernas and bus station. Our thanks to Athina and all her team who made us feel so welcome and ensured our stay enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kaz from england

Retreat

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Everything as we have been before
Cons: Nothing now as they now have a safe in the room for your passports and you can relax even more in this knowledge
Location: It is not accessible directly by coach but it is very near a car park .it is at the base of the old castle near to the shops and the port
This hotel is fantastic in the old town where it is basically traffic free. The court yard for breakfast is informal and relaxed the staff are fantastic and cannot do enough to make your stay special
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M from england

Great boutique hotel on the edge of the old town

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and it's location
Cons: The directions to the hotel could be clearer.
Location: Just enjoy the old town and all it has to offer. If you have a car try a trip into the hills. Ther are some spectacular scenery
Casa Vitae is so convenient for exploring the old town of Rethynmon. It's a little oasis of calm tucked away from the tourists who fill the narrow streets of the town. There are loads of places to eat near by,and nowhere is more than a 15 minute walk. The hotel is small with very personal service. Breakfasts are taken in the small courtyard and are ample to set you up for the day. We had a junior suite (Daphne) and whilst it was not huge it was very nice and cool and had a balcony on which you could sit out overlooking the courtyard and the surrounding hills. The room was on the top floor of the building and one possible drawback is that access to the room was up a flight of steep external stairs. No problem if you were moderately fit. Another drawback is that if you have a car you have to park it some distance away from the hotel as the streets are very narrow. It all adds to the charm of the place! The staff are lovely and very happy to chat and give advice. All in all a great place to stop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Allan Brocklebank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by val from Bath

Lovely old building

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful location and staff who could not do enough for us. Breakfast in the courtyard was a real treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Casa Vitae - absolutely wonderful!

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay here!!!! Staff is wonderfully helpful and superior room is great. Breakfast on terrace was good. Very convenient location, We loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in the old town close to everything.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Had a wonderful holiday during April. The hotel was in a great location, close to old town, good restaraunts and the beach. Crete has lots to see and do and the locals are very friendly and welcoming. Couldn't recommend Crete enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Elizabeth from Durham, NC

Beautiful hotel with excellent service

Posted Mar 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This lovely hotel is situated in a quiet, largely residential section of the old town. It was a little tricky to find (bring a detailed map with you), but well worth the effort. It is about a 10-minute walk from the terminal bus station. The hotel is really beautiful and the staff are incredibly welcoming and accommodating. The room was immaculate and the jacuzzi tub was a great bonus! The garden was a lovely place to have coffee—and I was offered some immediately upon my arrival. The breakfast was generous, with the option of freshly cooked eggs in addition to the usual continental offerings. I would absolutely stay here again. It was a wonderful experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com