Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Great Location

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: The staff was very helpful.
Cons: The one thing that could be improved is a better layout of the bathroom where there is no place to put anything.
Location: This hotel is walking distance to Perlan , the main shopping street, Harpa, and the old section, as well as the Reykjavik Art museums.
Hotel is adequate for a visit to Iceland. Staff is very helpful. Rooms are small with the basic amenities. Breakfast that is included is adequate. The best part is that it is walking distance to all the main sights and the main bus station, if a bus is necessary. I would recommend this hotel if location is important to you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edison,NJ

Close to center

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Close to the center and walking distance.
Staff help U and answer all your question. The breakfast was excellent and fill you for half a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, New York

Friendly,helpful staff.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: It was comfortable and conveniently located with a friendly, helpful staff.
Location: The hotel was a little out of the way but a short walk brought you to shops and restaurants. A longer walk took you to some of the museums.
The hotel staff was very helpful during our stay. Helped us book tours , gave good directions and helpful tips as well as recommending restaurants . The breakfast buffet (included) was quite good. The hotel was a little out of the way but walking distance to shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from York, UK

Nice quiet hotel but some minor design issues

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Good location. Friendly staff. Good choice at breakfast buffet.
Cons: Another plug socket installed either under the bed or behind the bedside table.
Location: Within walking distance to all Central Rekyavik attractions
As the title says, it seems to be a nice quiet hotel - within reasonable walking distance to the Central Reykjavik attractions without being too close to the noisy pubs/clubs. The only problem I had was with a basic design flaw in the (single, fourth floor) room I stayed in. Although there was a wall light above the bed the only switch for it seemed to have been by the door - and the only small, table lamp was on the desk across the room. This means that either you had to spend all night with the light on or find your way into bed with no light. This wasn't really an issue for me as I visited in midsummer when there was no real darkness but it may cause problems as the nights got longer. Another, very minor but unprofessional looking design flaw was that the kettle and TV were plugged into an extension lead but the cable on the kettle wasn't really long enough for the high shelf it was placed on so the socket on the end of the extension lead was left dangling several inches above the floor, and obviously pulling on the kettle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was basic but clean, free breakfast. Not great but no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gloria from Honolulu

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The best thing I liked about this hotel was the staff. They were extremely helpful. Special thanks to Jon.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is near the shopping district with a few cafes and restaurants nearby. There is also a super market and a bank near by. It is very convenient.
The Best Western in Reykjavik is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. I would stay there again. The breakfast is wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from Glos. UK

Short stay

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Very central to Main Street and amazing record shops. Staff helpful and friendly. Pick ups for tours excellent. Plenty of choice for buffet breakfasts. Reykjavik people very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from New York City

Excellent location, nearby Laugavegur/downtown

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Cons: Some of the hotel staff was not very helpful/knowledgeable, and was frustrating to access or leave the parking garage.
Location: Hallgrims Church, Laugavegur street, all the tour companies have free hotel pick-up.
Nearby Laugavegur street which is the main stretch of shopping and restaurants. Some of the hotel staff was very helpful and knowledgeable while others...not so much. Breakfast was good, the rooms were nice, everything overall was a pretty good deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient and pleasant hotel, helpful staff

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Very convenient and pleasant hotel a short work from town centre. Helpful staff willing to assist with tour bookings and advice on things to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Boston, MA

Pleasant hotel within walking distance of center

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The location was very good. It is very clean. Check out was at noon.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: A reasonable walk to city center. There is an excellent community geothermal pool ~ 25 minutes away. ($6 entry verses $58 entry to Blue Lagoon.)
We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights. It is very clean, reception was always helpful, breakfast offerings were the standard fare. Coffee was good and there was always plenty of it. Room was not spacious but was adequate for 2 adults. We were allowed to check in early and have breakfast the day we arrived - our flight got us to the hotel by 8:00AM. Our room was at the front of the hotel on the 2nd floor...there is a bus stop just outside where city buses stop along with tour buses picking up/discharging passengers...sometimes late at night after Northern Lights tours. A request for a room not on the street side would correct this small inconvenience. Overall a good place to stay. Don't be put off by the rather unexciting exterior!