Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Great spot. Very helpful staff. Very clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Location, location, location!

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Our recent stay in Reykjavik was made super enjoyable because of our accommodations at Castle House Luxury Apts. The location is superb--sharing a quiet square w/ a church & the National Gallery. We were a stone's-throw away from the beautiful Tjornin Lake. Our contact person, Freyja was incredibly helpful with questions & prompt with answers via email. She was the perfect virtual presence we never actually met. But all our needs were magically met & appeared in our rooms like the perfect Icelandic elf! Rooms were clean & well appointed. It was like having our own small apartment in the center of Reykjavik........I would highly recommend Castle House to our friends!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central apartment

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: It was clean and quite central
Cons: A friendly staff person and more comfortable amenities including more dishes i.e. cereal/soup bowls.
Location: Lots to do including great restaurants, major sights, etc. Tour pick up buses found us easily and there is public transport close.
We arrived mid afternoon and had to ring ourselves into a very small lobby type area and get a key which was left in an envelope with our name on it from a shelf. We might expect that late at night but not in the afternoon. A staff person did call just after we got into the room but was very unfriendly and quite curt. It felt like we were being watched...rather eerie! Room was clean but quite crowded. It did not live up to "luxury" status by any means. i.e. pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable, a sofa bed was advertised and available but no room to pull it out. Size would suite a single person more than a couple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort close to city centre.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: I like how clean it is, the little kitchen and the close proximity to downtown Reykjavik. See review.
Cons: The water from the shower needs some help being directed into the drain.Wifi is tricky but works.
Location: There are a mulitude of shops, restaurants and sites within walking distance. Gray line tours bus depot is a 5 min walk away.
I arrived to a very clean room with every amenity that I needed and then some. Although it was very late and I had forgotten the instructions there was a quick pickup at the other end of the phone and all was easily sorted for me to get into my room! A clean bathroom and real shower - although the amount of water on the floor from using it is a something to mop up. A kitchenette that had all the necessities! A clean and comfy bed, sofa, and table and chairs. The first bed on this trip that 2 would be comfortable in. Wifi reception was tricky in my corner, unit 61. The sofa means the unit could accomodate 3 but that would be very, very tight with luggage! The national art gallery is right here for an easy visit. This hotel is on the lists for airport shuttles too.The attractions of Reykjavik are all within easy walking distance, I walked all over.Bakeries and grocery are nearby also. I was very happy with my stay here and highly recommend the Castle House!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bring your rain suit and rubber boots.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The best part was the heated bathroom floor.
Location: Downtown was near by. I am not a cheap person but $250.00 for a dinner for two was a bit much. Most attractions are a long drive from Reykjavik.
We stayed in the studio apartment which was not suitable for two people. The bed was against the wall. The hotel in in the landing path of there local airport, which was most unpleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder CO

Reykjavik central location apartment

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Clean as a whistle. Great location near downtown. Comfy beds. Lots of privacy and quiet area. Some buses will pick up and drop off at apt, ie to and from airport, blue lagoon. Iceland is a wonderful place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great apartment with excellent location

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: The location is great and the setup of the apartment works perfectly. We appreciated the thoughtful details of what was included. Thank you!
Cons: Offer somewhere on premises where we could store luggage either pre-check-in or post. Top-sheets for hot sleepers!
We have already recommended this place to friends and will stay there again when we return. The apartment had almost everything you need - efficient yet thoughtful touches. We loved being out of the center of town with a view of the pond yet a VERY short walk to everything. The value of the apartments grows if you take advantage of the kitchen to save a few $$$ by eating breakfast in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable and convenient!

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Everything, we enjoyed having the smaller room with our own entrance from the garden, very private and quiet.
We stayed at Castle House twice during our recent visit to Iceland, the first stay in a larger suite and for the second stay we had a smaller studio. Both units were great. The first suite, #40, was spacious and well appointed while the second, #62, while small and still well appointed, was very cozy and suited our needs perfectly. The units were well equipped with mini kitchens providing all necessary utensils, appliances incl microwave, cooktop, fridge, toaster, kettle, coffee maker, etc as well as nice dishes and cutlery, all in good repair. The beds were comfortable, the linens fresh and clean. The heated bathroom floor and towel rail were a nice treat! All furnishings and walls, including rugs and tables, were stain free and suited the spaces provided. Extra pillows, blankets, iron, fan, etc in room should they be required. Original art on the walls was very tasteful and painted by one of the owners/staff. Windows were large and opened for fresh air, which was super. The location is just behind a church on Lake Tjornin, super convenient for short walks to Old Harbour, restaurants, grocery stores, and Harpa concert hall, and is also close to the bus terminal. Any inquiries we had were answered quickly and in a friendly manner from the staff, both before and during our stay. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location near centre

Posted May 29, 2014
Great location within walking distance of centre but away from noise! Blackout blinds were essential in summer. Room serviced every day, but able to self cater for breakfast as fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster. Good value and would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com