Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location and wonderful views

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The location of the hotel was amazing! Super close to the action, and an incredible view from the 8th floor rooftop bar/restaurant. The room was very big, and it was upsetting to see that 2 single beds were pushed together for 1 queen bed. The bathroom was very nice, other than the shower, which could barely fit an adult. We had a leak in the tub, and when I told the lady at the front desk, she merely said "thank you." A little action would have been appreciated for $200/night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice hotel with great breakfast!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Close to the Harbor, not far from the stores...
Cons: I asked for a window looking at the ocean but did not get it.
Arrived to the hotel after a 12 day tour in the Highlands of Iceland. Eventhough the mountain huts were from a high quality, this hotel beated it. Great location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great Location, Good value

Posted Aug 4, 2014
We had a great stay! Excellent location just off the main drag with fantastic views looking over the water and Harpa Concert Hall. The bar/breakfast area on the top floor was the highlight. Excellent ambiance and good breakfast. We upgraded to a deluxe room which as a good size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, good location, good facilities.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Our visit to Iceland was enhanced by this hotel. It is located centrally in a large tourist area with easy access to tours, eateries, souvenir shopping and bars. Our room had a nice view of the bay and the opera house across the street. The 8th floor has a nice breakfast buffet in the morning, and in the evening has a nice bar and small restaurant with the best view we found while we were there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was one of the roomiest we found during our European vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Cons: Limited parking places for the rental car.
Great place, friendly staff, awesome breakfast buffet, great location, and clean rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Excellent staff and well positioned hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The staff and the location The Sky bar on the top floor The breakfast
Cons: The shower screens could be better positioned The windows could be cleaned
We booked this hotel based on other reviews and were disappointed with the room which was very small. The bathroom is not terribly well designed as the shower screen is positioned in such a way that water sprays all over the toilet! This truly was a wet room. The room was described as ocean view. Whilst this is true, the windows were filthy so it wasn't easy to see out. That said, the staff were excellent. We asked for suggestions for places to see and restaurants to visit, and each one was fantastic. Nothing was too difficult for the staff to organise for us, and everything was done in a very friendly manner and perfect English! The hotel itself is also very well positioned for getting around the city. It is 5 minutes walk to the main shopping street and to the bus station for one of the coach companies which organises tours and runs an airport shuttle bus. All in all the hotel was well chosen and we would recommend it, as long as you aren't planning on spending much time in your room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Nice hotel "great location" near harbor and main

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Great place for a short stay -- rooms are a little small but well designed -- would stay here again. Modern - clean -- good staff -- comfy beds and a great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swampscott, MA - USA

Perfect in every way

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: the bedding
Cons: not much
Location: awesome location. we geo-cached while we were there and did a bunch of fun excursions such as horseback riding, glacier hiking and climbing, etc.
We picked this hotel for location not realizing that we would love it so much. The hotel staff were extremely helpful in every way, excursions, restaurants, etc.. We especially loved the beds, they were two twins put together, but we each had our own comforters. My husband and I are still trying to find out where to buy them. We had breakfast every day at the Sky Bar on the top floor, nice variety of food, good for appetizers and drinks later in the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gigi from Boston, MA

Outstanding Hotel and Staff in Superb Location!

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Central location to downtown shops and restaurants; great staff and rooms; Sky Lounge had great food and views.
Cons: Hmmm....I can't think of anything major or minor.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, historic church, Harpa, Viking Museum
My husband and I just returned from a trip we'll never forget. Hotel Arnarvhvoll was terrific in every sense. The location was in the heart of the city but off the main drag so it was quiet. The staff was amazing--so cordial and accommodating. We dealt with two specific people, Andrea and Angel, who helped us confirm dinner reservations and road trip details. They were lovely. We could not have picked a better hotel. The room was somewhat contemporary with seaside views. The size was about what you would expect in any city--not overly large but clean and comfortable. Iceland was so incredible! Hotel Arnarhvoll made it extra special!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, beautiful view

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Location, view, comfortable bed, free breakfast buffet
Location: Very close to shopping and restaurants, the tour busses will pick you up at the hotel door
The staff was friendly and very helpful. Our room, #612, had a beautiful view of the waterfront, and though it was rather small, the bed was comfortable. We were disappointed in the lack of any dresser or closet, only small shelves to store our clothes. The bathroom was small, no tub, just a shower, we had to squeegee the entire floor after each use. The location was perfect, a short walk to downtown. The free breakfast at the sky bar was excellent