Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for your money

Posted Apr 10, 2014
All you need, nothing extra. Close to everything. Great continental breakfast. Compact room with ample shower. Public car park lot 2 blocks away by the shore - really inexpensive and you can pay "forward" skipping the free hours eg. I paid 380 Kroners ( < $4 or < 3 euro ) to park for over 40 hrs from tue afternoon until thu morning. Parking is free from 18:00 until 10:00 in the morning and the parking machine recognizes that.I would stay at Hotel Klopp again !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Naomi from Newcastle, England

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: WIFI, central location (round the corner from the main restaurant/shopping street and up the street from the harbour), free breakfast, helpful staff.
Cons: A double bed instead of two single beds pushed together.
Location: Lots of bars and restaurants seconds away. The harbour is a ten minute walk down one street.
The hotel staff were very helpful and spoke perfect English. When we arrived we were informed our Northern Lights trip planned for that evening had been cancelled due to overcast skies but were immediately booked on for the following evening. Our room was to the back of the hotel overlooking derelict land but was quiet and lovely and warm. (room 509) The rooms to the front had view of the mountains which were beautiful. The room had a flat screen TV, wifi, small fridge (stocked as a mini bar but we went to Bonus round the corner and put our additional things in), wet room and a 'European double' bed (two singles pushed together). Perfectly adequate as a base. The hotel has a lift so no need to carry heavy bags up the stairs. The hotel lobby had several sofas and a happy 'hour' from 5-7pm each evening with a pint a larger costing 500ISK (approx £2.50). The breakfast consists of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, juices, cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, ham, cheese, beetroot, yoghurt and croissants. Perfect way to start a morning. The location of the hotel was amazing, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Laverne from Louisiana

Great Place to Stay!

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is only 4 blocks from the main bus drop off for the airport and day tour shuttle, which makes it very convenient. The breakfasts were delicious and filling! The rooms were a great size and very quiet. The only small complaint has been stated here before that the bathrooms are oddly freezing (especially the floors). But, if you turn on the hot water about 5 min before you take off your socks and get in the shower, the water will heat up the floor nicely. The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful, and the location one block from the main shopping/restaurant street was perfect! Bonus: Because you get free wifi at all CenterHotels and there are so many in downtown, you can get free wifi almost anywhere in the heart of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from London

Perfect hotel with a superb location

Posted Dec 31, 2013
This is an absolutely ideal hotel if you want to be close to the city centre, it is literally a 30 second walk from the main shopping street where there are also many lovely restaurants. A further 5-10 minute leisurely walk down this street will take you to the harbour area. The hotel itself is very clean throughout. Our room was compact but modern and perfect for what we needed it for. We were a little concerned about how warm it would be at night but the heating stayed on throughout and kept us very cosy and warm. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They helped us track down a camera that we left on a tour bus as well as booked airport transfers for us. All in all a great hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Uli from Merrimack, NH

all city sights within walking distance

Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the location. Staff was extremely helpful, courteous and patient. Check-In, lobby, breakfast area was small but, sufficient for everyone. Hotel is located half-way up laugavegur, which means you don't have to hike uphill a lot. I don't have any noise complaints however, since sleeping rooms are hardwood floors noise from above is probably inevitable. All In All a quiet hotel. Lots of one/two night stay overs. Sleeping- and bathrooms were typically european style small. Mini-Bar was stocked, loved the quality of the bathroom amenities. Bonus supermarket is about a 5 min walk from hotel, next 24hr convenience store is a 8/9min walk toward the harbor. I am a female traveler, by myself and never felt threatened walking around at night. Highly recommend the hotel and area of its location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sheri from California, USA

Good price for great location

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's an average hotel with average amenities, but the location is right in the center of the town and is close to shops and restaurants. The shower is a little lacking, but it was clean and the hot water was plentiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jackie from harrogate england

Very central hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Only one toaster so had to wait awhile. Maybe a four slice toaster would be better.
Location: Very central location right in the Center of rejkavik, just off the main street and a couple of minutes walk from the harbour. Plenty of trips to book
The hotel was right in the Center of rejkavik. We found it pretty basic but had everything you needed at the same time. The staff were very helpful booking tours and ringing around to find if tours were on,nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel was very clean and pretty modern. We would highly reccomend this hotel. Breakfast was basic but plentiful. Lovely hotel,lovely staff and lovely place to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Downtown Location

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Location. Also, most of the staff helped with locating restaurants and booking/checking on excursions for you.
Location: Main shopping area is near by as well as the church.
I loved Hotel Klopp. It was a 5 minute walk to everything I wanted to see in Reykjavik. Restaurants, shopping and bars were really close. It was also nice that all of the bus excursion companies will pick you up from the lobby. The hotel staff will also call and book excursions for you. Majority of the staff was really helpful, but some seemed like they were being disturbed if you had to ask them a question.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Reens from Northants

Good location

Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Glad we picked Klopp in terms of its location, on the main shopping street which meant it was close to restaurants and some attractions but there was no noisiness from any bar goers etc. Breakfast was enough to get you started for the day and room was what we expected for a 3 star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

very convenient location in centre of Rejkyavik

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: More room to shower, better fitting windows. Ugly front door of hotel could be changed to something more attractive to give better first impression
Location: Good central location. Restaurants, shops nearby. Can walk to all sights in the centre.
Good location meant able to walk to see everything. Simple European breakfast was sufficient, although the coffee could be better. In small room windows draughty, shower area too small, but clean and comfortable.