Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Hotel was in a great spot, perfect rooms, great staff, everything was lovely. Would definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ann from Cambridge, England

Excellent hotel, perfect location

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Location is superb. We had a bathtub in our room (room 214) as well as a separate shower room.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Location is definitely a bonus, just off the main street, we were not affected by noise but we were there mid week. Highly recommend
Don't let the outside put you off this hotel. We've just returned from an amazing 4 day break, made all the more special by staying at this lovely hotel. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet is substantial and the spa, although small is an added bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maz & mark from Sutton, Surrey England

Great Location near Laugavegur, the main street

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Very modern & relaxing. Comfortable Beds. Good Breakfast choice including Streaky bacon & scrambled eggs
Cons: Coffee, ok but not great. Happy Hour includes draught beer & wine but would be nice to include cocktails and bottled beer.
Location: Mokka oldest café, Skolavoroustigur 3a . Artic Adventures Laugavegur 11 ( silfra snorkelling day tour float between two continental plates ).
We have stayed at the Centrehotel Thingholt before. Many changes to the layout this year. Bar & breakfast area have been relocated. A new spa with limited exercise equipment is situated behind the breakfast area. Trips can be very expensive. Golden Circle / Northern Lights / Blue Lagoon are all popular. WOW airlines fly from Gatwick to Reykjavik and you can book transport from the Reykjavik Airport to your hotel on line: flybus. Tourist information is near the Timberland Shop, Laugavegur 4 .Good sources of things to do, reading material include Grapevine & What's On . The Visitors Guide ( includes tear off discount coupons) for excursions, restaurants etc. Recommended Bars, Pubs & Restaurants: Kaffibarin, English Pub (for sports), Olstofa Kormaks & Skjaldar (stocks beers from all over the world) Vegamot (extensive international menu, cocktails & DJ at weekends). Saegreifinn ( little fishing shack by the harbour, great lobster soup). Icelandic Fish & Chips ( very popular ) opposite Saegreifinn. Shalamar ( indian restaurant ). Found it more expensive this year example 2 bottles of Einstok beer £12.50 Budget Dining : Subway / Saegreifinn / Burger Joint ( Geirsgata 1 ) near old harbour
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Private from UK

Nice hotel in need of TLC maintenance

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Design & ambiance
Cons: room maintenance, especially of the window
Location: City centre, everything is within close walking distance
A nicely designed hotel, with pleasant helpful staff. Unfortunately the rooms need some maintenance TLC: in our room, the window would not close properly, which with a central location, made it quite noisy on a Saturday night (the outside party seemed to start at 12 midnight & go on for several hours), as well as windy. Also, the TV was broken, and the on-site staff could not get it to connect correctly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel right in the centre of town

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Had a great time in Reykjavik wonderful food and excellent tips to go on
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from London UK

Great Central Reykjavik location - European style

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: A nice European style hotel. Comfy lobby, good breakfast, very helpful staff all were excellent English speakers and knowledgeable about Iceland.
Location: Very central location to everything, great resto's nearby, museum not far, Harpa centre close.
Very helpful staff. Good breakfast, very well located in the centre of the town, so easy walks to most everything. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Reykjavik

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Location was ideal. Staff was super. Breakfast pretty good (especially given that you'll pay min $30 each anywhere else downtown). Deluxe double room is a bit tight... kept bumping into the hanging light. Overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Birmingham. UK

Nice hotel right in the city centre.

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: The location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean and well proportioned. Excellent choice at breakfast.
Location: Location is excellent for all the shops, restaurants, and one of the main tour bus offices.
Hotel is very modern inside, has large leather settees in reception area for you to relax and have a drink. Rooms are well proportioned and very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent choice of food at breakfast. Very pleased with overall experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located, comfortable and friendly

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Despite being just off the main downtown street and our room being almost at street level the windows did a good job of keeping the noise out. The bed was comfy and the wifi, TV and safe all worked fine. The bathroom was a good size and we had no problems with hot water or similar. Only downside was that even with the radiator turned right down the room would get hot. Opening the window for short periods sorted this. Breakfast was a good buffet spread (hot and cold food, juices, pastries, cerials ...). Reception were very helpful with any questions or booking requests we had. We were in the basic double and although not huge it was a good size and definitely not cramped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from France

Nice Boutique Hotel with small Spa in Reykjavik

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: walking distance to everything in Reykjavik city center
Cons: Early check in fee
Very Nice staff, modern boutique hotel close to Reykjavik main street, shopping and bar/ restaurants walking distance. Small spa with thermal tube.