Ratings based on 1,003 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Cool hotel in central location

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Cool and Unique Decor, Friendly, Helpful Staff, Great Central Location.
Cons: The scrambled eggs, and the position of the TV in room 415(!)
Location: Perfect - 2 mins walk from tourist info, 5 mins walk from Harpa Concert Hall, 3 mins walk to Gray Line Bus Depot and the Lobster Hut! (amazing!!)
Great place to stay. If you get the Gray Line bus from the Airport to their terminal - you are a 3 minute walk from this hotel. Very cool interiors - nice decor, feels chic but relaxed - really unique, never stayed anywhere like it. Breakfast was fine - the only complaint being the scrambled eggs were solid lumps each morning. However, we had a very early morning flight on the day we checked out, and the staff happily put out some breakfast necessities (coffee, tea, croissants, orange juice) for us at 4am - this really seemed above and beyond the call of duty and was greatly appreciated! Our room was fine but perhaps a little crowded. The flat screen TV was wall mounted and stuck out a little - so I hit it each time I went into the bathroom. But that is really the only issue I experienced - and is why my room comfort score is a four out of five rather than full marks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Excellent location, but too dark

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The lighting to be brighter
Location: Restaurants, ice wear shop , souvenier shops, concert hall, harbour
I really love this hotel for its location. Located in the the city center. Shops & good restaurants surrounds the hotel. The room & en suite has plenty space to put your stuff, and toilet was kept really clean. Good breakfast to start the day. The receptionist was friendly and spoke good English. They assisted in calling up the local tour to enquire about our northern light tour and helped to arranged airport transfer by flybus. However, the room lighting was too dim. Although it created a boutique style romantic atmosphere, It would be good to make it brighter. For holiday goers, we definitely wanted a bright room to pack our luggage . The room came with wifi, tea making facilities, security box. Big wardrobe to hang the jackets, jeans... Overall a good hotel to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great location great hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Brilliant hotel - can't fault it and would stay again. Just be wary of loud night clubs near by on Friday and Sat nights - if you want an early night take ear plugs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hoboken, NJ

Lovely Hotel Thingholt

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Cons: Would like to see bigger Flat screen TVs in the room and more channel selection including music…also they should redo the bedding, a bit flat.
I had a most wonderful long weekend in Reykjavik this past March 2015. The hotel is very attentive and also allows you some freedom to do as you will, if you seek privacy. Great little bar and wonderful hotel lobby. They are situated in the best spot in all of Reykjavik. Literally around the corner from the prime street for shops and bars, restaurants, etc. You will be very happy you stayed at this hotel. Nice rooms, clean and modern, wonderful shower/bathrooms too with heated floors. I was in heaven and didn't want to check out! Would highly recommend for active couples, singles, etc.. Not really great if you need ADA assistance or are wheelchair bound but otherwise, great for the active traveler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nuneaton U K

Good central hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Great location,good breakfast,helpful staff
Cons: The spa looked inviting , but at 20 euros a head we felt it was well over priced.
Location: Central location meant it was great for wandering through the town and the sea front. Lots of eating places close by.
First trip to Iceland with two friends and my disabled daughter .Getting from the airport was made simple, a coach picked you up took you to the terminal where you were transferred to a mini bus which dropped you off at your hotel. The same system applied to go on excurtions.Hotel staff arranged your tickets the day before then you would just wait for the mini bus to arrive.We did the Northern Lights one evening and were lucky to see them,if we had nt been we could have gone the following night free. We did the Golden Circle and the Blue Lagoon in a blizzard. Amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh, UK

Central hotel, close to best areas.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The best thing about this hotel is its location - very central, walking distance to the bus station and harbour area. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly and good humoured.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cardiff

Lovely stylish hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Fabulous hotel,slick and modern design and great central location. Staff were reserved but polite enough, although this seemed to be a general Icelandic trait. Breakfast included in price was varied with something to suit all tastes. Would definitely recommend and stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Nice hotel, great location, good free, breakfast. The room was small but we didn't spend much time in it nd were only there for a short time. Hotel staff was super helpful with directions, recommendations, reservations and whatever else we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Excellent location

Posted Feb 23, 2015
The location is perfect. Breakfast was good. The rooms were cleaned everyday. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this boutique hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hawaii

Check in when Maggie is on duty

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Our flight arrived before 7 a.m. So arrived at hotel way before check in time. Maggie not only helped us with our luggage but was a ray of sunshine answering questions, getting a walking map plus tagging our luggage until a room was available. We stayed 4 nights and she was on duty when we checked in and checked out. Our Northern Lights Tour was postponed all 4 evenings but she even rang them to find out the status , called us in our room to relay the status and even booked our return Gray Line transportation back to the bus terminal and airport with a non-stop smile. As we left the hotel on our last day Maggie ad the manager both helped us with our luggage up the stairs to the street leve ad een to the shuttle. Enjoyed breakfast there every morning and miss their wonderful chocolate bars and croissants. Our room 101 was quiet, immaculate, comfy. Towels were so white, thick and looked new. Every day when we returned, the bedding looked fresh and invitingly clean. TV worked well. Hint: double click light switch by front door and bed. Hold down until you reach your desired lighting preference. Location is close to shopping street on your right, coffee shops, many cute shops. If you walk downhill you will come to Gray Line bus terminal, Cafe Paris, a good book store that has everything, a market across the street and if you continue walking down further there are many ethnic eateries.