Ratings based on 1,095 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great location - great breakfast!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
This hotel had a superior breakfast buffet with fresh jams and various smoked fish. It wasn't as loud as people said it would be, and the staff were excellent and always friendly. We only had one issue when our room heated up quite a bit, but the staff took care of it while we were out exploring the town. Would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Beautiful- great location

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: The design and location
Cons: Available parking
Beautiful hotel- love the modern, Scandinavian design! Perfect location for being close to everything downtown. Although it was beautiful it was quite small and parking was very tricky. There is no designated parking for the hotel and the paid parking that is available has short time limits. Other than that, it is a really great hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: The location and friendliness. The breakfast was good and the evening menu looked good also, but we did not eat in.
Cons: The rooms are dated and the large furniture makes it feel cramped. A refurb will be needed in the not too distant future.
Location: Being centrally located all the shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. We were unaffected by noise.
We are in our sixties and arrived late with lots of luggage and the night porter was extremely helpful and created a good first impression. All the other staff we met were equally helpful. The room on the second floor was dated and over furnished which meant we were a little cramped with our 4 suitcases, but we managed without discomfort. Tea and coffee facilities were good as was the mini bar. The access corridor to the room was very dark and on the first night we had difficulty finding the room as the room numbers were virtually unreadable in the poor light. Breakfast, the only meal we ate in, was very adequate with a choice for all tastes, and was good quality. Happy hour between 5 and 7pm was useful for a pre-dinner drink and there is a very comfortable lounge. The location is central which is great for access to restaurants etc, and is served by the fly-Bus for transfers to the airport. We were able to park our rental car free on nearby streets between 6pm and 9am after which the meters start to operate. This is an adequate hotel and served us well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Pleasant hotel in good location

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Location excellent, Breakfast had plenty of choice of both hot and cold items. Style was modern and had some local influences, not a chain hotel!
Cons: Only real problem was noise from nearby bars, until after 2 on Friday and Saturday, the downside of the location. Better double glazing??
Location: Restaurants, harbour and town centre shops all nearby. Segway tour round Reykjavik was great fun and starting point was at nearby harbour.
The Hotel staff were all welcoming and friendly and the hotel facilities were adequate. The price was high for such a small room but Iceland hotels are all expensive and this hotel was comparatively good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northants

Trendy hotel close to the centre of town

Posted Jul 19, 2015
We had a lovely 3 night stay in this stylish hotel which is situated in the centre of town close to lots of restaurants and only a short walk from the harbour. As mentioned by previous reviewers the buffet breakfasts are spectacular, cooked breakfast, waffle machine, fruit, meat, cheese, fish, skyr, bread, pastries... The staff were charming and happy to provide leaflets and an excellent recommendation when we asked about whale watching. Rooms all have a fridge and a hairdryer. Street noise was not a problem for us even on a Saturday night. We would definitely recommend staying there, thank you hotel Thingholt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Modern - nice location - nice hotel.
Cons: Sound at night is a little loud - but its Reykjavik you have to remember.
Nice overall place - modern and in the central part of the city near things to see and do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel is in the perfect location.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Loved this boutique hotel. Great location, friendly staff. Breakfast was also well done. Be prepared that Icelanders like to party, especially in the summer months and especially on Saturday nights. Heard a lot of people complaining about the noise. I was on the top floor (4th) and it woke me up but I was able to fall right back to sleep. To those who were complaining non-stop like it was the hotel's fault: Instead of complaining at 3am to the front desk, why don't you go have a beer with those outside having all the fun!!?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NAPOLI

ALBERGO CENTRALE

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: LA POSIZIONE
Cons: LA STRUTTURA E LA PRIMA COLAZIONE
Location: PRIMA COLAZIONE MIGLIORABILE NELLA SCELTA DELLE PIETANZE.POSIZIONE PERFETTA PER VIVERE IL CENTRO CITTA'.
ALBERGO UN PO' VECCHIOTTO DA RISTRUTTURARE E RIMODERNARE
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Summer time visiting

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Location was great. Right in the city center. Close to shopping and restaurants. Could NOT hear road noise.
Cons: Blackout shades on all the windows for complete blackout.
While the facilities were nice and clean, and the staff friendly, the room was always too light. Traveling in early July, the sun sets at midnight and rises around 3am. The window in the bathroom had no shade and the walls between the bathroom and the bed were frosted glass. Therefore, the room was always light. I'd have preferred a room with full blackout shades.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very good location and great breakfast.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Exceptionally helpful staff espicaly for tired and jet lagged arrivals. They even loaned us electrical adapters when we forgot ours.