Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Happy Birthday but no Northern Lights to be seen

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: staff, location and breakfast
Cons: the shower in our room was temperamental with it's temperature.
Location: near the sea front, within a short walk to main city shopping street and harpa hall. there is a 7-11 supermarket around the corner.
if you are looking for a top quality 5* hotel with room service this is not the hotel for you however if you want a comfy bed, varied breakfast, friendly helpful staff and be able to walk into main rekyjavik city centre than this is the hotel for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Nice hotel, good breakfast and location

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Excellent helpful staff and good , varied breakfast buffet. Great view and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, helpful staff, close to city centre

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Cons: Cleanliness in rooms
Good place. Breakfast is fantastic. Rooms are also good and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great budget hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The location is fantastic and the breakfast is brilliant with a waffle maker and lots of lovely pain au chocolate and mini croissants - my favourite!!
Cons: The shower.
Location: The hotel is near to the main shopping street and bars!
I selected this hotel on price and location as I had a strict budget for our holiday. The price was good and the hotel is a very short walk from the main shopping street of Reykjavik. We checked in late with no problems and the breakfast was fantastic, a very good buffet selection with cereals, pastries and also Icelandic choices. The room was basic but this was no surprise. The beds were very comfortable with clean linen. The only criticism I have of the bathroom was that the shower basin was very small and the shower curtain wasn't long enough so water did cover the floor however every morning this was mopped up and dried by the chamber maids and new towels provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor,UK

Everything you need

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Fosshotel Baron is in a great location close to the centre of town, just off the main shopping street. We paid for an ocean view & it was lovely to look out at the mountains each day a check the weather, the wind can be bitter cold. Our room was basic & small for 3 people, but adequate. They put a pop up bed in, my son said it was comfortable & slept well. A chest of drawers would have been a good addition as clothes ended up everywhere. The bathroom wasn't brilliant, designed as a wet room, but flooded during showers & didn't drain well, we had a few wet socks, so either shoes or bare feet if anyone needed to toilet afterwards. Breakfast is a continental style buffet & has all great selection, warm pain au chocolate, bread & croissant are plentiful & you can make your own waffles. Like all the Icelandics, staff are welcoming & can help with booking any tours. Overall this is a great hotel & I would happily stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Convenient hotel to all you need

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, rooms & breakfast
Location: Walking distance to main shopping area, bus garage, harbour and Harpa. Maritime Museum was probably the furthest away from us and took about 15 mins
We had 3 rooms for our party, one double was larger than the others but all were reasonable size, clean, ensuite, warm and tea/coffee facilities. There is a small safe although noe of us used it. Breakfast is excellent with hot and cold items via a buffet so we filled up and saved having lunch. Staff were all friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great room, great view, very nice staff!

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Room was large and very comfortable, staff was very friendly and helpful, great views and location
Cons: Restocking the room with towels and soap, otherwise fantastic
Location: Two blocks from main shopping/dining street - a lot of things within walking distance, easy to find, right on the harbor and close to tour offices
One of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in, certainly very large for Europe, with a balcony and a beautiful view of the harbor. Centrally located near the main shopping/dining street and has pick-up for day tours available. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved our stay and would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fossbaron

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Location staff, breakfast
Cons: bedside lights were too low
Great position in relation to the centre of Reykjavik. Visit the concert hall. Amazing building
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great sea view

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Cons: The mattress was a bit too soft.
We had a corner room which was huge and had a fabulous sea view. The staff were very friendly and the location was convenient. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com