Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Barrie

Fosshotel Lind, Iceland

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Rooms are clean & comfortable. Space is small but that's normal in the Scandinavian countries. Complementary breakfast had lots of variety, suitable for locals and tourists. Desk service were very helpful and directed us to a local geothermal pool, 42 degrees C, very nice, but you'll have to get over being shy about nudity in the change rooms; Everybody is required to fully shower off and wash hair before they enter the pool which is good hygiene practice anyway. Location is just off the major roadways, but close to the waterfront, and just downhill from Eric the Red's statue. We'd go there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gordon from Edinburgh

Great hotel, very good location

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Location and facilities
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shops, cathedral etc
We were a group of 12 and everyone loved the hotel, perfect location for the main shopping street and sights, ATM across the road and minutes from everywhere. The room was a good size and had a good desk and plenty of power sockets. The bathroom was spotless and had the usual Icelandic hot thermal water shower with plenty of sulphur and minerals. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, really efficient Great breakfast selection. All in all, perfect budget price with all facilities
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel, clean did the job, good breakfast

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Good Breakfast, and rooms clean.
Cons: Net curtains on the windows at the back of the hotel. Also a lobby area to sit and relax if weather to bad to go out.
Location: Location ideal not far from main shopping street,bars and Restaurants everything is so expensive everywhere you go, be prepared.
Very basic accommodation, staff were friendly and helpful, view from the room not great looked like a prison camp at the back of the hotel. Could do with net curtains on the windows. Shower so small you had to leave the shower cubicle door open whilst in the shower. It was clean and was within walking distance of the bars and restaurants if you could afford the prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Wolverhampton UK

Good location, clean rooms, fab staff & breakfast

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, not too large, good breakfast, good location, clean warm rooms, comfortable, home from home!
Cons: Training/supervision of new inexperienced staff! As others have said the rooms are not the most soundproof. Rooms cold do with coat hooks.
Location: Fosshotel Lind is just a few minutes' walk from the far end of the main street in Reykjavik. About 30 mins to far end of harbour. Cafe Glo is amazing!
We stayed for four nights in March hoping to catch a glimpse of the Northern Lights and experience everything else Iceland has to offer. On arrival the hotel staff were very friendly and helped us to get our bearings with free maps and recommendations. The room was clean with an en suite bathroom and equipped with a hairdryer, wardrobe, safe, tv, tea & coffee making facilities. The bathroom was wet-room style and the water on the floor didn't drain away very quickly, fortunately we had our flip flops from visiting the Blue Lagoon! Overall the room was fairly basic but clean and neat and we didn't spend much time in there any way. The reception kindly lent us a UK plug adapter. You can book tours easily from reception, (although a new member of staff took our booking for our return transfer to the airport and booked the wrong time, so we were later than we'd have liked for our flight! The other staff chased the transfer company for us, so it worked out ok, but it's worth double checking details at time of booking.) The breakfast buffet from 7am - 10pm was great with cereals, pastries, continental breakfast, fruit, omelette, beans, mini sausages, cold boiled eggs, fruit, toast and even had a waffle maker! There is also a hotel bar but we didn't use it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Sussex, England

Very good hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Very good choice of hotel. Extremely central hotel and the staff were very helpful. Would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Reykjavik.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Lovely stay. Rooms small but very clean. Breakfast tasty and plenty of choice. Estanis and Elin very helpful in recommending/booking tours.
3 out of 5
by Evi from Denver, CO

sorry - not what we expected

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: breakfast, commons area, location
Cons: cleaniness of bedsheets (ours were stained and hair on them)
Location: restaurants and souvenir shops closeby, also grocery store
traveling a lot, I do my homework ahead of time and spent quite some time researching a hotel in Reykjavik. I found this hotel and thought it was a good option. We were quite surprised when entering our room. it was not what was shown on the pictures nor did it fit the picture the Tripadvisor reviews gave. We are guessing, they have remodeled their rooms recently and we must have gotten one that was done yet. the bathroom was not tiled as shown on the pictures and had a moldy shower curtain that separated the shower from the rest of the bathroom. the beds were ok. however, i got grossed out by the hair on the bedsheets. I guess we were just not lucky with the room. Very good about this hotel is the staff (very informative and helpful), the breakfast buffet that comes with the booking and the commons area which are modern and inviting. Also, the proximity to the main shopping area in Reykjavik is excellent and a grocery store around the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, great staff

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Hotel staff were excellent! Friendly and very helpful. Excellent buffet breakfast. Very short distance (2 blocks) to the heart of Reykjavik in quiet neighborhood. Close to major bus hub if wanting to explore by public transit. The only downside was that the bedside lamps were not working - this probably would have been remedied by the excellent hotel staff, but we were too tired to complain after an overnight transatlantic flight and spending the entire day exploring Reykjavik!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by RJF from ONTARIO

stopover for day touring Iceland

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Old hotel in pretty good shape. Staff was great, and meal in bar/restaurant was very good. We had an early flight out next morning and they gave us a sandwich instead of normally included breakfast. Taxi fare from airport is very high, so we booked Flybus instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels.com