Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Basic comforts taken care of. Good value.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The room was basic but clean, with comfortable beds, a kettle, proper hairdryer and a basic but powerful shower. Given that we only spend minimal time in the room (there is far too much to see outside) it had everything that we needed. Breakfast was again, not fancy, but there was quite a lot of choice and it kept us full to lunchtime and beyond when out on excursions. When we arrived in the early hours of the morning on our first day they had the room ready for early check in, and also invited us to have breakfast that morning, which we hadn't expected and it felt like a bit of a godsend after an overnight flight! Reception were helpful in setting up/making amends to our trips with Reykjavik Excursions, and being able to buy reasonably priced bottled drinks, soup, postcards, stamps and dinner on site was also useful - Although it's only around 15 - 20 minutes walk to the main shopping street which has all of the above on offer. Not a luxury hotel, but an excellent base camp to crash in after days out exploring the outdoors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ATB61

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Barrie

Fosshotel Lind, Iceland

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Rooms are clean & comfortable. Space is small but that's normal in the Scandinavian countries. Complementary breakfast had lots of variety, suitable for locals and tourists. Desk service were very helpful and directed us to a local geothermal pool, 42 degrees C, very nice, but you'll have to get over being shy about nudity in the change rooms; Everybody is required to fully shower off and wash hair before they enter the pool which is good hygiene practice anyway. Location is just off the major roadways, but close to the waterfront, and just downhill from Eric the Red's statue. We'd go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gordon from Edinburgh

Great hotel, very good location

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Location and facilities
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shops, cathedral etc
We were a group of 12 and everyone loved the hotel, perfect location for the main shopping street and sights, ATM across the road and minutes from everywhere. The room was a good size and had a good desk and plenty of power sockets. The bathroom was spotless and had the usual Icelandic hot thermal water shower with plenty of sulphur and minerals. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, really efficient Great breakfast selection. All in all, perfect budget price with all facilities
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel, clean did the job, good breakfast

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Good Breakfast, and rooms clean.
Cons: Net curtains on the windows at the back of the hotel. Also a lobby area to sit and relax if weather to bad to go out.
Location: Location ideal not far from main shopping street,bars and Restaurants everything is so expensive everywhere you go, be prepared.
Very basic accommodation, staff were friendly and helpful, view from the room not great looked like a prison camp at the back of the hotel. Could do with net curtains on the windows. Shower so small you had to leave the shower cubicle door open whilst in the shower. It was clean and was within walking distance of the bars and restaurants if you could afford the prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tom from NYC, USA

Friendly staff

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best part of staying here was the friendly, helpful staff. They were great about arranging tours and buses and giving advice about things to do and where to eat. The hotel itself was a bit of a walk (15 mins.) from the city center.The rooms could have been better maintained during the visit. They made the bed but didn't do much other cleaning. The bed was comfortable and the neighborhood quiet. I slept well and overall was satisfied with my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Wolverhampton UK

Good location, clean rooms, fab staff & breakfast

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, not too large, good breakfast, good location, clean warm rooms, comfortable, home from home!
Cons: Training/supervision of new inexperienced staff! As others have said the rooms are not the most soundproof. Rooms cold do with coat hooks.
Location: Fosshotel Lind is just a few minutes' walk from the far end of the main street in Reykjavik. About 30 mins to far end of harbour. Cafe Glo is amazing!
We stayed for four nights in March hoping to catch a glimpse of the Northern Lights and experience everything else Iceland has to offer. On arrival the hotel staff were very friendly and helped us to get our bearings with free maps and recommendations. The room was clean with an en suite bathroom and equipped with a hairdryer, wardrobe, safe, tv, tea & coffee making facilities. The bathroom was wet-room style and the water on the floor didn't drain away very quickly, fortunately we had our flip flops from visiting the Blue Lagoon! Overall the room was fairly basic but clean and neat and we didn't spend much time in there any way. The reception kindly lent us a UK plug adapter. You can book tours easily from reception, (although a new member of staff took our booking for our return transfer to the airport and booked the wrong time, so we were later than we'd have liked for our flight! The other staff chased the transfer company for us, so it worked out ok, but it's worth double checking details at time of booking.) The breakfast buffet from 7am - 10pm was great with cereals, pastries, continental breakfast, fruit, omelette, beans, mini sausages, cold boiled eggs, fruit, toast and even had a waffle maker! There is also a hotel bar but we didn't use it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Doreen Tan from Singapore

Excellent service

Posted Feb 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staffs and informative. The only down side is I do hope they could change their buffet breakfast menu every other day or 2 to 3 days. (I had a 9 days stayed).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rosalind from Gloucester

Great Location, fantastic service

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just got back - The FossHotel Lind ticks all the boxes. Great location, comfy beds and superb service. Breakfast plentiful. Would deffinately stay here again.