Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Comfortable hotel --- great breakfast but a bit far from town ( and we like to walk). Given the weather, walking is not always an option and taxis were 20 US DOLLARS EACH WAY. STAYING IN TOWN WOULD HAVE BEEN A BETTTER OPTION FOR OUR NEEDS.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Brilliant!!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
20 min walk from main city centre. They do provide a taxi service for free though. Everyone in the hotel was brilliant. It I was going back to Iceland I would want to stay at this hotel again!
1 out of 5
by Morgan from Glasgow, Scotland

Poor Service and Sleep Quality. Stay Elsewhere!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The room was clean, if not comfortable. The breakfast was not bad, although one of the heat lamps was broken, so half the buffet 'hot' food was cold.
Cons: Almost everything! Make the rooms quiet, provide decent toiletries, fix the door lock, install aircon, fix the TV, set the clock!
Location: There's a Hilton nearby. Stay there instead.
This is a huge hotel that caters to tour groups and conference goers. We stayed as independent travellers and felt like unwanted guests. It is an expensive hotel with aspirations of luxury, but we were provided with the service of a cheap motel. I stayed in a 'superior' room, but it did not feel that way. The room had no aircon, but it did have aircon pipes and they made the room as noisy as a train carriage. When I complained, a member of staff from reception came to my room and agreed that it was too noisy. The manageress offered to move me to another, but told me that it was above the bar and would be even noisier as it was Saturday night. No other room was available 'in my class'. I stayed in the first room, and did not sleep well. The wifi did not reach the room, so to use the internet I had to go out into the lobby. The only toiletries in the bathroom was a wall-mounted public-bathroom style soap dispenser. There was no temperature control in the room and it was extraordinarily hot. The room lock didn't work properly - it beeped as if not closed properly even when it was closed. A member of staff agreed that it was a problem, but the only advice was 'slam it shut three or four times until it stops'. Even the TV signal was poor quality, and the clock in the room showed the wrong time. These are very basic things and I would expect better from a cheap hotel, let alone a 'luxurious' one. I would not stay here, or in any 'Grand' hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stav from London, UK

Great location

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Great hotel, the only downside was that we had to pay for the spa facilities in the hotel as we used it. Never had to do this before. Other than that ideal place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carole from Forest of Dean, UK

Great bed and breakfasts!

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Beds and breakfasts.
Cons: Bedroom was too warm at night and only one window opened but little air got in because of heavy curtains which did not clear it.
Location: Walking distance to Laugadalur swimming pool, park & small zoo. Excursion pick up point. Pleasant sea promenade walk to town centre (20-30mins).
A very good hotel reasonably priced, presumably because it is a good walk into the city centre and eating places, with bus stops elusive. Hotel provides a free shuttle service to town centre 2 or 3 times a day, - but not back. Hotel staff polite and helpful. Hotel is large with very tall atrium so this makes it a little impersonal. Wonderful views from top floor though! (18th). Buffet breakfasts offered a great deal of choice of both hot and cold foods, juices, hot drinks,etc. No problems experienced and my son, grandson and I enjoyed our stay there. We shared a triple room with 3 double beds!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John and Vera from Edmonton, Canada

An excellent buffet breakfast was included

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: See previous answer
Cons: Nothing in our opinion
Location: See the first answer
Very modern hotel with a friendly helpful staff who spoke perfect English. The buffet breakfast was excellent, they even had an organic food buffet section. The only fault was the hotel was located approx one km from city centre shops, but they did have a free shuttle running there and back every hour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel, Iceland.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Very pleasantly surprised; Iceland isn't known for its luxury hotels, but this was very very good! Only complaint is that the restaurant staff are very slow, and in some cases clueless. The food however, is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2014
We were very comfortable at the hotel. The rooms were clean, staff was nice and the breakfasts were bountiful! It was also nice to have a gym.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jd

Staying in Reykjavik.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The Grand Hotel Reykjavik is one of the tallest hotels in Reykjavik, close to the town and harbour. The best views are up high facing the mount Esja.
Staying in Reykjavik gave us an ideal base to venture out across Iceland with its many mountains, volcanos, waterfalls, hot mineral spas, melting icebergs and glaciers. Let alone the numerous museums, shops and dining around Reykjavik itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Boston, MA

Excellent Hotel

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Nice rooms Good breakfast buffet
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Short taxi ride or free shuttle to city center, Harpa concert hall, thermal swimming pool. Most day trips have pick-up at the hotel.
We always stay at the Grand Hotel when we are in Iceland. It is comfortable, and an easy ride to the center of Reykjavik. They have a free shuttle, or a short taxi ride. The breakfast buffet is excellent.