Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steven from Chesham, UK

Low touch, low hassle, lots of coffee!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Free tea and coffee, location and low hassle.
Cons: replenishment of toilet paper
Location: about as downtown as you could get - only one street over from shops and restaurants
The stay apartments work on a model of 'low touch' from the staff. The reception is unmanned with towels changed every other day. However it doesn't feel as though you're deserted - there are contact email and phone numbers in case of problems and issues are resolved quickly and without fuss. If you want an apartment that is good value and 'just get on with it' then this place is great. Although the apartment was quite small it was perfect for two people sharing - having a kitchen area for a quick snack or easy breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised that there was complimentary Tea, Coffee, Sugar - and not just 2 tea bags and 2 instant coffee sachets, but a full box of tea bags and a full box of ground coffee together with coffee papers to make a good coffee. We just needed to pop to the supermarket (next road over, max 5 minute walk) to get some milk. You can even make free use of the washing machine and tumble dryer (although the dryer was broken while we were there). Even the detergent is supplied free too. The beds and towels were clean. The only minor fault (apart from the tumble dryer) was not replenishing the toilet paper when it was running low. If you're staying during the summer it would be worthwhile taking eyeshades to sleep with. Although the room has blackout blinds there is still enough bright light creeping through the side gaps to keep you awake if you're a light sleeper.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but dark and noise is a problem

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Location: very central location
The apartment I got was in the cellar level with high windows which were just at street level from the outside. The walls are extremely thin and there were very loud other parties in the house. Location is great. Kitchen facilities etc were fine, but I would not recommend this because of the general problems with darkness and noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kiran from P

Great location

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Perfect if your on a budget. Excellent location. Did not meet anyone from the hotel so could not get any information about the local area from them. Bathroom was next door to the room which is a bit awkward.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from Derby, UK

Great location

Posted Mar 24, 2014
If you're looking for something compact, with the ability to make your own meals, with a great location, this could be for you. I read quite a few mixed reviews before our stay and would say it is reasonable for the price. Positives = price, location, warm, relaxed, ability to come and go as you like, Reykjavic Excursions pick up from Gretisgata making tris very easy, free laundry facilities, nearby cheap supermarket (Bonus). Negatives = some water damage in our room and slight damp smell, would've benefited from slightly more space for a draining board and around the toilet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Convenient location
It was good, what more can I say? I have nothing to add.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by techick from London

Room is big, but unfriendly service

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
In general, the apartment is big and the wifi speed is OK. But I have never seen the receptionist during check-in or check-out.The service is indeed really bad, please do not expect any service from this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by shanny123 from bolton

value for money

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
no such thing as customer service but you don't need it. everything was perfect. clean and tidy. great location. value for money at its best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance from main city streets.

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Brilliant experience. The condition of the apartments were comfortable and well stocked with utensils for self catering. The location of the apartments is within walking distance of the main streets of Reykjavic which contain a good range of shops, restaurants and cafes. The apartments are also well known to all the tour providers so they will not have a problem picking up from outside the apartments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Catherine from Kent, UK

Close to city centre, reasonable price

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Reasonable price, comfortable, great location.
Cons: Pillows were a little flat, and a pint of milk in the fridge would allow guests to make a cup of tea or coffee on arrival.
Location: Reykjavik city centre within walking distance - everything you would want to see in the city.
Small but well equipped apartment hotel. The kitchen had all we needed, even including tea and coffee! Very warm and comfortable. Main shopping street was 2 minutes away. Highly recommend it as a great place for a short break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Lawrence, KS

Excellent central location

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: The proximity to city center, the open-airy feeling of the room, the kitchenette, and the availability of luggage storage.
Cons: The internet reception was a bit wonky, but I don't go to Iceland to play around online, so that's really a minor detail.
Location: Steps away from Hallgrímskirkja, city center, one block over from Bónus, a few blocks from the seafront.
I stayed her very briefly between traveling different parts of Iceland, and I couldn't have been happier. The room had a small kitchenette, which meant I could make my own food instead of having to eat out all the time (eating out in Iceland can be very expensive). The room was comfortable, and was within the center of Reykjavik. It was one block off of Laugarvegur, so it has the benefits of proximity, without the drawback of the (sometimes) noisy weekend revelry. Highly recommend, and will undoubtedly stay with them again!