Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bed and Breakfast

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: location, friendly staff
Cons: as stated in my review section
The mattress is too soft. The pillow is too thin. There is not much choice in breakfast buffet, no fruit, and not good coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Great for the money in downtown Reykjavik!

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The staff, the location, the restaurant, the bathroom and shower facilities.
Cons: The bed was two twins pushed together. I slept well, but that could have been improved a bit.
Location: Everything. You can book tours in the lobby (do Golden Circle, do Blue Lagoon), and there are numerous bars, restaurants right outside the door!
Reykjavik, in all its fascinating, friendly and fun glory...is expensive. Hotel Fron is in the middle of the party district, but don't let that discourage you, as I had no noise issues at all. The staff are very helpful, have great advice on local exploration and there is convenient tour booking available right at the front desk. There's a great little seating area outside the restaurant. And there is a complimentary breakfast, which in Reykjavik is worth a lot. I love my coffee, and it is bottomless here, which would otherwise cost you a bundle out around Iceland. For the reasoble rate, you are not going to do better in an expensive (but gorgeous) place like Iceland.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario canada

Disappointing, not clean

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: Cleanliness, customer service
Location: Close to everything downtown.
Booked this hotel after reading some reviews that said the apartments were good value. We found our room to be very disappointing. The room seemed old, there were hairs in our sheets and it was obvious that the bedding wasn't changed between visits. There was mildew in the shower and hairs as well. We raised the issue with the front desk clerk, who was pleasant and apologetic. We got new sheets and changed the beds ourselves. We were promised a credit for our trouble but that never materialized. Overall, this was the worst place we stayed on a 3 week trip of the region.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2014
One of the most beautiful countries I have been to.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine but noisy

Posted Jul 19, 2014
It was a fine hotel. Nice, big room (but that's because we paid for an apartment). Staff was fine - not friendly but not rude. Free breakfast was nice. Our room faced the street, which was VERY loud. Not sure what you have to do to get one of the quieter courtyard rooms but I wouldn't stay here again unless I could be assured of that. Oh, and the water smelled very, very strongly of sulfur. I understand that's normal for hot water in Iceland but other hotels don't have such a strong smell (maybe they treat the water with something??). Overall, a fine hotel but I'd shop around before returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Good hotel right in the Main Street of Reykjavik

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Liked the location and the size of the rooms. Many are like small bachelor apartments.
Cons: The breakfast gets a bit boring.
Location: Hotel Fron is within easy walking distance of restaurants, museums, concert halls and shopping.
Love the small kitchens at the Hotel Fron. You can easily make a small meal when you don't feel like eating in a restaurant again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B from Nova Scotia, Canada

Central to everything

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Kitchenette, breakfast included, Rm 124 a bit noisy with deliveries in early morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Good location

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Cons: Sofa bed was terribly worn. Painful to sit on
Location: Great location
.helpful staff. Decent breakfast. So e strange slopes in the stairs to bedroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Greg from Edinburgh

Nice hotel in the centre of town

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The staff couldn't be more helpful and were happy to arrange pick-ups for airport transfers etc.
Cons: There can be some noise from nightclubs during the night. This is only to be expected from a hotel in the centre of town, though.
Location: Right in the centre of town, with everything on your doorstep. The hotel is on the main shopping street itself.
I picked this hotel as a result of the reviews on Expedia, and I wasn't disappointed. It is a very nice hotel, right on the main shopping street in the centre of Reykjavik. Pretty much everything in town is within walking distance, with no need to bother with buses or taxis. The room had cooking facilities if you wanted to make yourself something to eat, which is a nice touch - and there is a supermarket just down the street. We stayed for three nights in June, as a trip for my wife's birthday, and used the hotel as our base to explore the city and for bus trips out of town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Cactus from Tucson, Arizona

Great Choice

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
A charming small hotel, with a great city center location. It's true that the room and bathroom were quite small, but they were tasteful and sported every convenience. The adjoining restaurant was great for a light dinner as well as breakfast. The desk staff seemed more harried than friendly, but they were efficient.