Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colchester, UK

Nice hotel in centre of older part of Reykjavik

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Its position in Reykjavik, warm comfortable rooms, helpful informative staff.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: In the older part of Reykjavik with small boutique like shops. The striking cathedral is nearby and you can go up the tower on weekdays.
The hotel is very warm and comfortable with excellent service from friendly well informed staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were very efficient with bookings and amendments. They also gave you quick updates on changes. I would certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Good choice in Downtown Reykjavik

Posted Feb 12, 2015
This is a well sited hotel 5 minutes walk from the harbor area and close to shops and sights. It is well priced and of good quality - not 5 star but neither will you pay a 5 star price. It has an older feel with lots of wood and the walls are covered with Icelandic art. I stayed in February and it was fairly quiet, which is perfect for me since I am not a party person. I found the staff helpful and pleasant. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colchester

EXCELLENT HOTEL

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: The whole experience.
Cons: Nothing that we can think of.
Location: Very close to the centre of Reykjavik with many of the sites only a few minutes walk away.
Could not have picked a better hotel in an excellent location in the heart of Reykjavik. A short walk to the main shopping and eating area. The hotel staff were excellent. Breakfast, which was included in the price, was ideal and just what was required prior to the long days driving around Iceland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Rainham kent UK

Great Hotel in city centre

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Close to everything 5 minute to centre
Location: City centre
Staff excellent most helpful nothing too much trouble and great communication. It is really a quality hotel in all areas , even left surprise bottle in room for Wifes birthday. Would recommend to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great Hotel close to downtown area of Reykjavik

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: .
Cons: .
Location: .
Very nice hotel and very helpful staff. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Modern hotel in downtown Reykjavik

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Clean, modern and modestly priced. Breakfast is very good. Free Wifi
Hotel Holt continues to be a reliable choice of accommodations in downtown Reykjavik. Close to the main tourist areas (the church, the museums, the Harbor), it is also pleasantly nestled back a few streets from the main street (Laugavegur) so it quiet and calm. Included in the price is a pleasing breakfast of cheeses, meats, pastries and coffee. The free wifi is also great. It makes an excellent base for going out in Reykjavik and is also well connected with tour operators, if you are looking to get out of town to see one of the many nearby sites (Golden Circle, whale watching, etc.). It is not a trendy boutique or extraordinarily fancy hotel but it holds its own and is a great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great mid-priced, rather small hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
nice bar where we gathered with the other 4 in our party. excellent breakfast included in price of room. room was spacious--i have a personal hate of down comforters. arranged concert tickets in advance thru hotel, also arranged tours while there--excellent staff. hotel is close to the streets where the action is, but the actual location has no appeal--just an ordinary street. the vast collection of art displayed on the walls is staggering and fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Arielefrom New York, NY

Great find

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Holt was everything we hoped it would be. The location is great, just a few blocks from the center of town. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The lobby is lovely. The best part of our stay however was the staff. Both before our stay and during they were extremely attentive and helpful with planning our excursions. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Old World hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Cons: Upgrade the decor.
Location: It's a short walk to the main shopping strip, bars and restaurants as well as the church.
We stayed at Holt for our last night in Reykjavik. The room was big and comfortable. It's a old hotel but well maintained. The staff were very helpful. I loved the old elevator and the shoe shine machine. Breakfast, which was included, was great. Don't miss their croissants. The Gallery Restaurant is also very good, a bit pricey, but worth the money.