Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by susan from LANCASHIRE

EXCELLENT HOTEL LAXNES

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: THIS HOTEL WAS EXCELLENT EVERYTHING YOU COULD WANT BRILLIANT STAFF VERY FRIENDLY
Cons: we could have had 2 sets of small drawers at the side of the beds to put our little bits etc in but this is my only comment
Location: loved the location bus stop right outside hotel laxnes lovely views of the mountains and country side and a few places to eat
ONE OF THE BEST I DID THE GROUND WORK AND MADE THE RIGHT CHOICE ONE OF THE MOST ENJOYABLE HOLIDAYS EVERY
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous view from cozy quarters

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: View of the mountains from our window, able to see the Northern Lights! Cute little kitchen (stove, sink, mini-fridge/freezer). Warm room.
Cons: Perhaps a little more variety with breakfast, informing guests of daily cleaning schedules
Location: Golden Circle, Northern Lights, Reykjavik city center, Blue Lagoon.
My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights at Hotel Laxnes during early January. Finding the hotel was easy and check-in was smooth and easy. We chose the room with a kitchenette so we could prepare food for ourselves instead of going out to eat every night (Iceland is very expensive!) There are two stores within walking distance where we were able to pick up some food. We were warned that the fire alarms were very sensitive and better not to cook much more than boiling water to avoid setting them off although we had no problems with them - granted we only cooked pasta. It is under an hour from Keflavik airport and perhaps 20min from Reykjavik although there are busses that run to and from both. The Icelandic landscape is breathtaking and you can see it right from your bed through the large window. We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights from our room even with the lights of the small town. Breakfast is decent although the same bread, meat, hard boiled eggs, jam and oatmeal spread every day. The staff is friendly and accommodating but reserved. Our room wasn't spotless when we arrived and it had a B.O. -foot smell that we had to go buy an air freshener to remove but was manageable nonetheless. It was very warm even during the cold and windy nights in the middle of winter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by craig89 from hove

quiet hotel, out of city centre

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Quiet, out of city centre, good bar with extremely nice/ helpful staff. Large rooms with great views to the mountains.
Cons: A member of staff to be on hand over the breakfast period
Location: This hotel is not too far from Reykyavik city centre and buses stop right outside. lack of decent restaurants within walking distance.
First experience of Iceland and we loved every minute of our 4 day stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ross from Kidderminster, UK

Great location, convenient for buses to Reykjavik

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Above all the location, views are stunning.
Location: Hiking, horse riding, viewing the Northern Lights. Good access point to Thingvellir and points North.
Well appointed hotel in a lovely area. Good facilities, friendly staff and snow covered mountains as a backdrop. Right next to the bus stop for buses into Reykjavik. Lovely walks in surrounding area, hills waterfalls etc. Peaceful at night and low light pollution so the Northern Lights were visible from just outside the hotel. Very warm and cosy rooms, just what was needed in mid November! Definitely a place for those who prefer peace and quiet to the bustle of a city centre. No issues with tours or airport transfers as all of the buses pick up from all of the hotels. On the road to Thingvellir and points North.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and cosy

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Wonderful place to stay out of the city, room was maybe a little bit small for 4 of us but we got used to it and it was very cosy as it was cold outsi
Cons: Family room could hav been a bit bigger and maybe a view.
Location: Straight off the main road this was a very convenient hotel ionly 15 minutes drive to Reykjavik. Plenty of places to eat nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Debi from Miami, Florida

Very comfortable hotel.

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was perfect. We felt like we were in an apartment rather than a hotel. Very big and roomy for 4 people. We enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RF from USA / VA

Close to Reykjvik, not as secluded as pics look

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful, I definitely recommend it. We cancelled a second night at a different hotel (Selfoss) due to strong sulfur smell and came back to Laxnes. Great staff, nice view, good location short drive from Reykjavik. However, if you're looking for a secluded hotel away from city lights for Northern Lights viewing, this isn't it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Poppy from London (UK)

Nice hotel, easy getting to & from Reykjavik.

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: I can't think of anything I didn't like...it was a nice all round hotel
Cons: Paying more attention to the car park...it was extremely slippery under foot.
Location: Good bus service, cheap food store opposite, two well known fast foods places & a nice little burger place..good food at very good prices.
All the staff were friendly & very helpful, I would have no problem recommending this hotel to any of my friends & would be more than happy to stay there again.