Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spartan

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Very basic. No thrills motel type. Better to stay in town. Otherwise bus ride takes 45 min.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Wonderful Stay in Iceland

Posted Jan 17, 2015
The hotel was lovely, room was clean and had a spectacular postcard view which was fabulous to wake up to every morning. Great selection of excursions. Staff very knowledgeable. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Very Friendly Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The staff were all friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: Room 'cooker' consisted of old double portable electric hob perched on the draining board next to the sink. Replace with microwave away from sink?
Location: Out of town off main road. Other than Petrol Station KFC and supermarkets the local dining options were few. Travel by bus into town for more options.
Hotel is some distance away from Reykjavik. Staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. Room was clean and spacious albeit ‘basic’. More of a motel really. View to mountains and we twice saw the Lights 'dancing'. We opted for one-up from the standard room which included a fridge (v. useful) and basic cooking facilities. Old fashioned (huge) TV which was broken. Sean, the (really helpful) manager struggled in with a replacement. Two English channels - Sky News and a Film Channel. Room was pleasantly warm from underfloor heating. Area was just off main road (Route 1) near petrol station KFC, Subway and supermarkets. Not as bad as it sounds but downside was lack of nice eateries around. It had a pleasant little bar off which was a dining area where they show English football matches on a massive screen occasionally. Lots of locals were enticed in for that. Breakfast was very basic - bread cheese and meat mainly with a few boiled eggs porridge and waffles. That sort of breakfast appears to be the norm in Iceland unless you dine out in a cafe. We travelled into town on the bus (No. 15) which took 25 mins each way. One every half hour and costing 350isk each (about £1.75). You need the exact money on buses as no change given and they run twice an hour. Sean and his staff organised tours for us which were all good and pick ups were spot on time. Evening meal provided on New Years Eve (no buses to town) and the Fireworks were just awesome. Thank you Shaun, Nunu and all the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom S

雑な掃除、臭い部屋、スタッフはフレンドリー、ロケーションはGood

Posted Jan 3, 2015
ホテルからオーロラが見れるということで、3泊しました。 ただ、オーロラは、オーロラが見れる処へ足を運ばなければ、観れないもの(もちろん、運が良ければホテルからも観れます)。 わざわざ、市内から離れたところにする必要はないと思います。 レンタカーをして、市内から離れるのであれば、アイスランド一周を考えて、南のVikや北のAkureyriの宿を取り、アイスランドを満喫されたほうがいいと思います。 しかも、こちらのホテル、 連泊するとシーツもタオルも変えてくれません。 タオルはさすがにフロントにいって新しいのをもらいましたが、もらいに行かないともらえません。 掃除も雑で、前の宿泊者のコンタクトが落ちているという始末。部屋の隅には埃と髪の毛がたまっています。 お風呂の異臭もかなりこたえました。フロントに異臭を伝えると、窓を開けておくように言われますが、寒い。笑 開けても少し臭いは残り、お風呂、トイレに入るのが怖くなるほどでした。 夕食は1人8000ISKしましたが、その価値はないもの。 ラムとサーモンを選べますが、ラムは独特の臭さが強く、オススメしません。サーモンは焼き加減が最高で、美味しくいただけました。 これに、スープとパン、コーヒーとワンドリンクが付きます。 が、同じ値段だせば市内でもっといいものがいただけだと思います。 ここの利点は人がいいこと、 ですね。 ここのオーナーさんと思われるFunnyなおじさんとお手伝いの男の子たちがかわいく、 笑顔でお客を迎えてくれます。 オーロラが見えれば、窓を叩いて起こしてくれますが、 ここの庭でみるより、 街明かりのない場所へ 移動したほうがもっと綺麗に観れます。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milton Keynes UK

Trip to the Northern lights

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Very helpful and friendly staff, the size and cleanliness of the rooms. The location was 15 min outside the capital and so easy to get to and park.
Cons: Rated at 4.9 instead of 5 purely because the room was too warm at times and we couldn't see a way to regulate the temperature.
Location: Fantastic views, petrol station, places to eat and a little general store. About 5 mins from start of Goldern circle car route.
Stayed for 4 nights in Iceland. The trip was a wonderful experience and we managed to see the Aurora on the first night despite the forecast being just moderate. We had to drive north from the hotel to get really dark skies to see the best effect. Did the goldern circle, saw Geysers, waterfalls and the tectonic divide. Things to consider if you are thinking about a similar trip. 1. Expedia and Easyjet don't work well together if u want hold luggage and you have to jump through hoops with EJ to get this simple addition via the helpline. EJ helpdesk took 5 attempts before it was sorted out as most didn't know that you can't book hold luggage via EJ web site if booked via Expedia. 2. I hired a winterised car from Budget but later when we were drifting backwards down an icy hill we found the studs were worn out. We were lucky and no one was harmed. Budget replaced the car with one where you can see the studs are proud of the rubber tyre. We now know what to look for. 3. Iceland (except for petrol) was about one of the most expensive places I have visited in the world (like for like). Expect to budget between 2-4 times what you would in the UK - but the place is worth it! Would I recommend Iceland? - Most definietley , this has to be on your list of places to go to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridgeshire

A Wonderful Stay!

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Warmth, professionalism, knowledge, cost.
Cons: Cannot think of anything.
Location: Location is good. KFC, subway and eateries are close by. Alafoss Wool Shop and Museum short walk away and generous discount given if staying at Hotel.
Returned from a four night trip to Iceland last week. This Hotel is probably one of the most comfortable and welcoming that I have stayed in for many years. It is mid range cost with a very homey feel. It is beautifully decorated with a personal touch. The Staff cannot do enough for you and are very professional. It is about 20 minutes drive outside Reyjavik Centre but has everything you need locally if you don't want the City Lights! The Alafoss Wool Shop is a must visit but take your credit cards as you will be in heaven and like me will load up with presents for Family, Friends and mostly yourself! If you do want the City Lights then the Hotel will organise transport for you. They are knowledgeable and will advise you of what to do and when and will make the most out of your trip. The excursions offered are varied but another must is the Blue Lagoon. Don't base your Holiday on seeing the Northern Lights alone as they are a natural occurence and if they don't dance for you then your holiday may be a disappointment. There is plenty to do in Iceland other then hoping to see the Northern Lights and the Hotel Laxnes will guide you through the choices. The breakfast is good and fresh, rooms warm and well furnished. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Iceland as it epitomises the Icelandic friendliness and culture. Special mention for Shaun, the Manager, and his Team behind the Bar, Reception, Kitchens and Housekeeping - they are great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Quiet, friendly staff, motel style room with your own front door, out of town.
Cons: The bar area where breakfast was served was perfectly adequate but not luxurious.
Location: There are a couple of lovely restaurants within 10 mins walk and you can walk down to the beach from hotel but most things to do are in Reyjkavik
We stayed recently at Hotel Laxnes. Our room had everything we needed but was not luxurious! It was very clean. Checking in and checking out were very easy and the hotel staff were very helpful. The fact that it is 30 mins on the bus from central Reykjavik mean that it would not suit everyone but we enjoyed being out of town as it was quiet. The breakfast was adequate - self service - but again not luxurious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Laxnes review

Posted Nov 22, 2014
A quiet location with great views of the mountains. Simple transport to city centre. The local bakery is worth a trip. Staff at Hotel Laxnes could not have been more helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NRW

weit entfernt von Reykjavik Citycenter

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Recht ruhig gelegen und guenstig fuer die " Goldene RIng " Tour. Man braucht auf jeden Fall einen Leihwagen, wenn man hier absteigt.
soweit o.k., jedoch kein Telefon auf dem Zimmer und in der Naehe nur Fast Food Restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lorient

plus motel qu'hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: la gentillesse et le dévouement à la réception tenue par Shaun
Cons: tout ce qui touche à la possibilité de cuisiner , il n'y a que le strict minimum et encore !!
Location: c'est la périphérie de la ville (15kms) 20minutes de bus peu de choses à voir en dehors dela capitale qui est une ville de 120000 h,
manque de choses pour cuisiner dans les studios :pas de casserole, de tire bouchon ,de passoire ,d'ouvre boite , de saladier .il faut se débrouiller avec les moyens du bord C'est assez loin de la ville mème si le bus 15 est a coté de l'hotel Pas de ménage le samedi le dimanche .Shaun à la réception est très très gentil et parle super bien Anglais , il aide beaucoup pour les excursions. Pas une mauvaise affaire puisque les petits déjeuners sont compris et corrects. Un hotel moins cher que la moyenne car la vie en Island est hors de prix!! nous sommes restes une semaine L'hotel est bien chauffé, mais c'est plus un motel qu'un hotel