Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsford, NY

Fantastic location, friendly & knowledgeable staff

Posted May 23, 2015
It's not the Ritz, but this clean, efficient, entirely adequate hotel is quieter than many more expensive competitors. My only complaint would be the breakfast which was less than I had expected and hoped for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Excellent stay, modest budget, heart of Reykjavik

Posted May 11, 2015
Great hotel right across the street from the landmark church (made it very easy to find my way back). I travelled solo and the single room was just right for me. Small, but a comfy bed and very clean. I was out sightseeing all day, so a fancy room wasn't needed. Added bonus, I arrived on an overnight flight, getting into Reykjavik at about 6 am. The staff let me check into my room early (no charge), so I was able to have a small nap and some breakfast before properly starting my day in Iceland. Very nice touch that was greatly appreciated! The included hotel breakfast is excellent! I was expecting a no-frills stay and this was better than I expected! Really nice home base for exploring the area. Definitely recommend! (Note there is no elevator, so expect a walk-up to your room).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor ukr

Great location

Posted May 3, 2015
Excellent position easy to find as opposite cathedral on a high point in centre of city. Great base for exploring South West Iceland Don't expect luxury but lots of pluses, clean and friendly and the free coffee, tea, hot chocolate available all the time is a great bonus. No hesitation in recommending.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo

町歩きにも便利で静かなホテル

Posted May 3, 2015
目の前が教会。繁華街の端にあるため静かな環境。駐車場も無料。部屋は暖かいで清潔、朝食も美味しい。コスパもよくて選んで正解だった。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Very comfortable hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Breakfasts was included which is very practical. It was very cold so not in the mood to go looking for a place to have coffee in the morning early
Cons: An extra towel in the rooms per person would be helpful
Location: Cafe Loki is right next door if you want to try some Icelandic foods Reykjavik roasters is also one minute away to enjoy a nice coffee
The hotel is simple and clean Close to everything as Reykjavik centre is not too big anyway It is opposite one of the main attraction so quite handy Rooms were well heated And there is a local indoor pool/ hot baths 5 minutes away!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but more like a dorm room

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi
Location: Loki cafe has super rye bread ice cream. Don't knock until you try it! Sunhollin swimming pool is wonderful and a short walk behind Hallsgrimkikja.
Super area to stay and quiet at night. This is a basic hotel meaning small to very small dorm like rooms, many floors and no elevator. The quality of the room and working wifi varies tremendously. My room and bed was comfortable and adequate. Reception area is friendly and comfortable with free tea and coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Spent the afternoon exploring Reykavik, ate out and then watched the moon pass over the spire of the cathedral (no northern lights unfortunately). A simple hotel with simple facilities but a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good value hotel and location

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The hotel was in a great location facing the cathedral. It was minutes from the main shopping hub with plenty of choice of restaurants. The rooms are small which is typical for Iceland but ours was well equiped with 2 chairs and a desk in addition to the bed, side cabinets and a small wardrobe. As we were on the 4th floor,in the eaves, part of the room had a very low ceiling but did not cause any issues. The only draw back was carrying the cases up the stairs as no lift. There was also no hairdryer so bring your own. The bathroom was a wet room; again typically small. Unfortunately, the water did not drain away very quickly so lots of wet feet or shoes. Breakfast was a good quality simple buffet but there was a wait for a seat most mornings. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and knowledgeable. I would definately discuss plans with them. They only dropped to 4 because there was some confusion over our transfer back to the airport which they had reserved with the wrong carrier. However, this did not cause any problems or delay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle,WA

Great location..small rooms. No lift.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Room overlooking landmark church and statue. Good breakfast. Reception very welcoming..We had breakfast when we got there early in the morning and they said our room was ready before our 10 am walking tour! Great location! Good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom Aberdeen

Booking error did not stay at hotel as booked

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
Could not rate as we didn't get to stay!!! They made a mess of the booking so tried to put us in a very poor hotel (4th Floor Hotel") awful. We went back and complained and they put us in "Room with a view" which was excellent. This wasted 1/2 a day of our short holiday so I am not impressed anmd never got to stay in the hotel we booked.