Ratings based on 440 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Perfect Central Location

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Location. Brilliant powerful showers without smelly hot water.
Cons: TV picture.
Location: Main shopping street is 5 minute walk. Tourist information 1 minute away. Lots of restaurants all around. Didn't notice any noise at night.
My first trip to Iceland with my wife and two grown up kids for my 50th birthday. All I can say is we all had a fantastic time. If you enjoy the wonders of nature and are prepared to spend slightly more than you think then Iceland is the place to go. Hotel Centrum has clean twin or double hotel rooms with pretty much everything you expect. The walk in shower is brilliant with massive water pressure, as hot as you can stand and a fixed overhead and a hand held attachment. No bath, but I didn't miss that. The only thing that wasn't great was the TV picture, which was grainy, like the aerial wasn't connected properly. But I didn't go to Iceland to watch telly! The reception staff were extremely helpful, giving us advice on the layout of the city and offering to book trips for us. They also phoned one of the tour companies when my son left his hat on the bus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bristol

First trip to iceland

Posted Nov 4, 2014
As forewarned, room was very warm at night. Breakfast room unable to cope at times - food not replenished and too few tables. However overall experience was very good and staff most helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Location
Very pleased with this hotel and we would stay there again. It was centrally located and wonderful walking around the old town. The staff were very helpful with any questions we had and always very friendly. There was a comfortable bar and a nice restaurant as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice and central.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Unpretentious, just what I wanted.
Location: Within walking distance of most things in Reykjavik - but it is a small town with few excitements.
The Reykjavik Centrum is a modest, but very agreeable hotel. Iceland is an expensive country, but this hotel was good value. Friendly and efficient staff. The hotel restaurant served very good cuisine, and the breakfast was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2014
This hotel was just what we needed for our stay. Central location, clean, friendly staff, warm and spacious room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Group trip to Iceland

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Very helpful front desk staff. Nice breakfast Great location Hall way rugs need a good cleaning Hotel room are very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk

The best hotel central to everything.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: I liked the typically Icelandic look to the building, which gave it character, also it had a history as there was a museum underneath.
Cons: We booked it for its four star rating and it lived up to all expectations, free wi-if in rooms, maybe more TV channels but not on holiday to watch TV.
Location: Very central to restuarants, museums and shops, also the harbour.
Fabulous hotel, breakfast plentiful (at extra cost) a good start to busy days. Most museums, restuarants and shops within easy walking distance. Tours were bookable from reception, pick ups from the hotel in minibuses as road not suitable for big coaches. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were always friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Good Hotel near amenities, central for excursions

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: It was clean and staff were very helpful.
Cons: Not very much
Location: Central to shops, bars and restaurants also near pick up point for excursions
Hotel staff were very helpful and the room was small but clean. Iceland is quite expensive and a main course is typically around £26 - £30 an alcoholic drink is approx £8 and entrance to the Blue Lagoon is extra to the transport of the excursion and costs around £30 each. We were unable to see the Northern Lights as the conditions were not right and the whale watching was disappointing. Highlights were the Blue Lagoon, the scenery and the people.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Hotel close to everything but no internet

Posted Oct 10, 2014
No internet in the rooms. The internet wasn't so great in the reception area too. The bathroom shower seemed a bit uncomfortable due to the shape of the shower (corner of the wall and dark too). However the staff was nice. Very helpful. And there was a nice cafe/bar inside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom belmont

Perfect for me- mid priced central and modern

Posted Sep 22, 2014
This hotel and staff aim to please and the central location downtown a few blocks away from excellent bars and restaurants makes this hotel a great value. Parking is inexpensive in a nearby garage