Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Distance from centre of town

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Location: Nothing nearby.
The hotel was too far out of town although in itself did what we needed-clean rooms and friendly staff. For the reason of distance I would not recommend it to anyone visiting Rekyavik for a few days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Highbury Sue from London UK

Basic hotel. Breakfasts very good. Staff excellent

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: staff were very helpful and breakfasts were good.
Cons: maybe a courtesy bus into the main town?
Location: Nothing much to do around the hotel apart from the shopping center (which didn't open til 12:00 midday!). Expensive taxi ride into town or the bus.
Hotel a little bit out of the way but there are buses into Reykjavik that leave from the opposite side of the road near to the shopping centre car park. Room was basic but clean, quiet and warm. Breakfasts were good. Staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lee from Hong Kong

Friendly Host

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Heidrun is very helpful and is willing to help us to check the road condition via phone even after we have left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but 25 minutes from town centre

Posted Aug 30, 2013
The hotel is new, clean tidy and private. Rooms small but well fitted out. The staff all speak English and are very helpful with information about tours, bus time tables and the surrounding area. The self service breakfast is varied and tasty. The hotel is sited in a quite shopping area very near a shopping centre and many other shops. Having said this it is 25 minutes from the town centre. A short walk to the bus stop (Number 2 bus - Smarilind to Hellmer) which runs every half hour takes you right into the top end of the towns main shopping street. (A one way trip is 350 ISK - return 700 ISK) so unless you are going on other bus journeys that day only buy single tickets which the hotel will actually sell you and please note you need the correct change if paying on the bus itself - a bus day pass is 800 ISK for unlimited travel. The hotels room rate per night make this journey/effort well worth making compared to the price of city centre hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2014
Thank you for your rating of our hotel and your kind word about our staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alex from new york

very nice hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: friendliness of the stuff, cleanliness, quietness
Cons: nothing really
Location: take the free shuttle bus to the city, all the things are right there
super nice stuff, everyone was extra helpful. the hotel is 15 mins away from Reykjawic, but there was a free shuttle bus every 2 hrs from smaralind to the city center (the shuttle operates from 12:30 to 5 pm); being away from the city, the hotel was very quiet, which was nice. the room was nice and clean, everything was in working order and there was a free wi-fi worth of 750 mb and one can book all excursions right through the hotel staff. free breakfast was abundant and the hot water was awailable 24/7 for tee or coffee. just a reminder: it rains 85% of the time, so bring your own waterproof clothing, or be prepared to pay extra $$$.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2014
Dear Alex. Thank you for your kind words about our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, only too bad about this poor weather we've had this summer. Hope you will have better luck next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel, but a long way from anywhere useful

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Location: One of the two big shopping malls, and nothing else.
I had booked a room for four people, and Expedia returned a triple+cot, and did not price the cot. The hotel had four-bed rooms as well. Room was reasonable size and comfortable. Staff was outstanding. Breakfast was good & varied. The main drawback is that it's about 8km from the city center, so a pain for going out to dinner. Bus lines are easy, about 30mins. Most of the day tours will pick you up at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JD from Minnesota

One week in Iceland

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Good location and clean.
Cons: Front desk could be more helpful.
Location: There was the Smariland mall within walking distance and several resturants were close by. It was a good location for heading out to highway 1.
We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and made it our central location for exploring Iceland. The Hotel had a good location close to a big mall. The morning breakfast was very good and they kept the food coming and the tables clean. The maid staff was excellent too. The front desk staff changed frequently and the were not overly friendly or helpful. Overall though I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denny from Minnesota / USA

Quiet, clean, friendly hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Quiet, clean, easy access to Reykjavik's road system. Friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: It looks a little dated, but so do we.
Location: Close to the large Smarland mall--access to food, shopping, ATM. Easy access to the main highways that either take you into or out of town.
Our room was always cleaned up nicely. The hotel itself is quiet--even though there were lots of guests. Really a nice breakfast each morning. We found the hotel to be located centrally for the things we planned to do---we did have a rental car. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful in giving suggestions of things to try and places to go. We have no complaints after an 11 night stay at Hotel Smari.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jiji

Recommend

Posted Jun 30, 2013
Good location. Room is clean and comfort. Staff is very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kevin from London, UK

Modern friendly Motel style hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Clean and friendly
Cons: Location
Location: Outskirts of City
We stayed at Hotel Smari end of May/early June 2013. This hotel is situated more towards the outskirts of the town and is not near the main city centre so is probably more suited to those with independent travel means. We didn't have a car but fortunately the tourist bus service we used went out of their way to pick us up even though Smari was not on their list of hotel pick-ups. Having said that we experienced excellent friendly service from the staff, who went out of their way one morning to give us a take-away breakfast as we had to leave that day before the 7.30am breakfast start time. Hotel is very modern and clean.