Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Oxford

Nice hotel a little way out of town

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Cons: The ability to control the temperature in the rooms.
Location: As above, once in town there are plenty of bars and places to eat. A small but vibrant capital city.
A nice hotel with very friendly staff. The rooms were comfortable but had no temperature control so were slightly stuffy. Although the hotel is right next to the domestic airport (no noise at all) it was a little way out of town. In good weather it would probably take 20-30 mins to walk in but in the cold and snow, there is a bus service (free of charge with a travel card provided by the hotel) that runs every 30 mins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert & Lynda from Prather, Califorina, USA

Great Hotel to stay in

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything was perfect.
Cons: More choices for in room dinner service.
Location: We went into the town where there is a lot to do and we also took the Golden Circle tour and the south island tour & Blue Lagoon (a must).
My wife and I followed the advise from a reviewer and stayed on the top floor facing a small local airport because this reviewer said you could see the Northern Lights and we in fact did see them several nights. Also I never had to use earplugs as was suggested due to the airport noise because there was very little and none at night. There is a very short walk to a bus stop that takes you into Reykjavik and the bus pass is provided by the hotel. We loved the hotel and Iceland. The only thing about this trip we did not like was the Icelandair plane which was cramped more than any plane we have been on and as is getting to common - NO meals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Peterborough

Friendly hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff. Good nights sleep. Complimentary local bus ticket( 5 minutes to centre) Able to book tours at reception.
On arrival found alocated room small and cold,and discovered spa would be closed for maintenance the next day, so not a good start. However reception manager very understanding and ( without any fuss),changed room to one with carpet and better lighting. From then on really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samantha from England

Nice, clean hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2014
This was one of 2 hotels we stayed in during our trip. It's perfect if your hiring a car, which we did. It is clean, with good service and plenty of parking. It's also walking distance to Perlan restaurant - which is outstanding! If your not hiring a car there are usually plenty of taxis sat outside, but the prices of the taxis are extortionate!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sheila from Millersburg, OH, USA

Not in Rikjavic, but CLOSE ENOUGH

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Friendly, English speaking staff (and how many visitors can you expect to know Icelandic?!) Down comforters. Info at the front door/ flights, temp,
Cons: Increase the amount of seating in the common area to accomodate guests waiting for shuttles.
Location: Use the FLy BUS. Take the grayline tour early in your stay to orient yourself to the city - that's all it will take. Walk to churches, eateries, shops
Enjoyed a fabulous 4 day holiday over New Year's. Front desk and concierge service efficient and friendly. Booked some excursions ahead of arrival, and some there at the hotel. All excursions picked up at the door. Used a taxi once only because of ice covered walkways. Walking in to town is safe, possibly 2 miles at most. Even though the walk is icey, its well lit and had some volcanic sand for traction. Didn't use city bus, which picks up across the parking lot. Take your own water bottle to refill. Hotel breakfast/brunch is most convenient, and very Icelandic. If you want authentic meals go for the restaurant. Wait staff and bar tenders attentive and friendly. Food is expensive in comparison to US. Beds are smaller. WiFi access a plus. Hotel was always hoppin' due to holiday partying, but may be a quieter place to stay during the summer months when the party lasts alll night, given the endless summer sun. LOVED IT!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kevin from Boston, MA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Kingston-upon-Thames, UK

Only Hotel in Reykjavik with a swimming pool which

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Style, staff and swimming.
Cons: Client lounges could be open all day not just 17:00-23:00. Little choice of food on New Year's Day and charged at twice the cost!!
Location: On the edge of Reykjavik but very handy for the bus terminal. PERLAN Saga museum within walking distance.
Friendly, helpful staff - spa and pool facilities which were excellent - excellent quality fresh food in the restaurants - interesting decorations, wood sculptures of people, great pictures, life-size bird displays, books on flora and fauna. Well connected with all bus services for trips and the airport at the door. Also given use of an all-Reykjavik bus pass for the length of our stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Adam from New York

Iceland Air Hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was really far from the airport, the room was not so fancy for a 4*. In fact it seemed quite old. My daughter got locked in the bathroom during a shower, the door just wouldn't open, they had to come up and pry the door open. The restaurant was good but it cost 90 dollars for two buffet plates for me and my 13 year old daughter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob from Toronto

modern

Posted Dec 21, 2013 on Hotels.com