Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Frid from Mexico

One of the worst hotels in the city

Posted Jun 5, 2014
The conditions in the hotel are bad. The bedrooms are very humid and the rooms are not very clean. The reception closes at 4 pm and the staff is not friendly. We were trying to book a tour and they gave us the wrong information, so we had to change all our plans for the next day. When we arrived the hotel was closed and nobody was at the reception. Nothing works properly, including the Internet that doesn't work in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Central & bargain price

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Staff very friendly & helpful. Excellent location & much cheaper than the other central hotels. If you're looking for a basic base it's perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Barb from Pasadena, MD

Value Hotel Near Great Restaurants & Sights

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: Staff friendliness, great breakfast, cleanliness, free computer use, plenty of clean towels, staff knowledge and helpfulness for tours and scheduling.
Cons: Bath was small, but for the budget price, it was more than adequate.
Location: See above. Hotel is near some fabo restaurants and the wharf. Near Harpa, shopping, sights, museums. We walked it all! Tour bus also picks up there.
A friend and I stayed in the Metropolitan during the first week of November (the first week of their low season). The hotel was pretty much empty, but they still had a high quality basic breakfast buffet for us that was more than adequate. The room was average for European rooms, and the bathroom was small, but for the super value price, it was great! Clean towels every day; sheets were on a weekly schedule. The TV was small, but they don't have much TV in Iceland, so not a big deal. The entire hotel (and country) was very clean and hotel staff was extremely knowledgeable about all the sites, tours, shuttles, etc. They have free wifi, but if you need, they also have a complimentary computer downstairs for your use. Heating worked perfectly (gotta love that Geothermal heating!) and the black-out drapes also nicely insulated the windows (providing a mini fridge - of sorts - in the window!) Don't get me wrong, this isn't the Ritz, but if you are looking for a great budget hotel near some awesome restaurants and all the sights in town, this is it! We never tried the bus... we could walk everywhere. Strongly suggest the Krua Thai restaurant nearby the restaurant, at 14 Tryggvagta. Everything there was fresh and exceedingly tasty. Also: you MUST try the hot dog stand near the Harpa - Baejarins Beztu Pylsur. Get one with everything. Wierd looking, but *awesome* tasting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
poor hotel in a poor area.....hotel is even locked....need attendant to open door but you get key when you register
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ania from London

basic but comfortable

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: cleaning
Location: 2 minutes to the harbour and whale watching ships, 2 minutes to shops and resteurants. location couldn't be more perfect.
Rooms were small but comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast basic, but tasteful. Location was perfect. Good value for money, however they could pay a bit more attention to cleaning, I found strange stains on my bedding.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Tiny room, not very nice but location is good

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was awful, the bed was uncomfortable and didn't smell good. The only thing I can say on a positive note is that the staff was nice and the hotel was fairly well located.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great find for low maintenence travellers

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Excellent location in the heart of the city. The desk staff was very helpful in sorting out a personal loss. For an individual traveller with modest budget and requirements, this hotel was just right for me. Basic but comfortable and well equipped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Philip from New York

Location,location

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel experience.