Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

2 night Stay in Nov 2014

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Location: near everything
The hotel is perfectly located and within walking distance of any major tourist attractions. The staff was excellent always asking if things we ok and even recognizing you after one day. The bar and lounge are fine and there are at least 5 decent restaurants within one block of the hotel. The rooms can we hit or miss; although all are clean and comfortable. It wouldn't hurt to check your room before accepting it to make sure you don't have one with a cut ceiling line or one facing the hot dog stand which stays loudly open until 5am on the weekends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2014 by Soffia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for posting your review. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, the location, bar, restaurant and the service of our team. All the best, the Radisson Blu 1919 team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Nice hotel near the harbor and city centre

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Location: Harbor, Harpa Concert Hall, Saga Museam, etc.
The hotel was very central to a lot of different museums and things to see around Reykjavik. Hotel staff were knowledgeable and friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by Soffia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your short and sweet review. All the best, Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great location, nice staff, clean rooms.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Hotel is in an excellent location. The staff was helpful about arrangements and the rooms were comfortable and clean. When we needed extra towels they brought them up right away. There is free wifi which was great. Our bathroom ledge didn't have ample room for our toiletries (a design problem but workable) and we didn't think the breakfast was worth the money. Would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by Soffia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you posting your review. We are delighted to see that you had a enjoyable stay with us. All the best, the Radisson Blu 1919 team.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Avoid; particularly if you want to sleep

Posted Oct 1, 2014
I had a terrible experience at this hotel. At check-in, I was told that my room had been "upgraded." In reality, I was given the worst room in the hotel - 2nd floor facing a busy street. Until approximately 6 am, it sounded like there was a party going on in my room due to all of the noise from the street. I actually paid for two nights of this hotel, since I was coming in on a red eye and wanted to get some sleep, but got no sleep at all. When I told the person at reception about the issue, I was told the hotel manager was not in but the manager would be contacting me by email. I received no email in response. And I received no email in response when I contacted the hotel to complain. In addition to the noise issue, the hotel facilities are dated and in need of renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Great Hotel in Good Location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Location: Lots of shops, restaurants and cafes nearby and in easy walking distance to lots of attractions.
Reading previous reviews I was a little concerned about noise as I'm a light sleeper but had no problems at all. There was some traffic noise but hordes of drunken party goers weren't an issue at all! The room was very clean, the bed was comfy and the staff were excellent. The breakfast buffet, while not cheap, is excellent and if you fill up there a snack for lunch should do. Very good location for easy access to lots of sites and tours. I would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by Soffia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to see that you liked your stay with us. All the best, the Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Great location but noisy at nights

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: See above
This hotel has an excellent location for transport and access to the attractions of the city. The accommodation is reasonably good if a bit basic by US standards. There is quite a lot of nightlife around the hotel so it can be noisy into the early hours. Hotel breakfast and dinner were of excellent quality. Hotel services, bar, restaurant, laundry etc are pretty pricey so this is not for the budget traveller. Staff were friendly and efficient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by Soffia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best, the Radisson Blu 1919 team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Room somewhat sparse and bathroom shower not exactly spotless but a great central location and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by Soffia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. We see that you liked your stay with us and be sure that we will go over your points. All the best, the Radisson Blu 1919 team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

City centre hotel highly recommended

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Great location, excellent service, polite friendly staff. Super breakfasts. Car parking very expensive but staff recommended the local car park adjacent which was much cheaper and free overnight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2014 by Soffia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our service. All the best, the Radisson Blu 1919 team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ravifrom Sydney

Great Location

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2014 by Soffia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your short and sweet review. All the best, the Radisson Blu 1919 team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Location
The location of this hotel is fantastic with the Main Street just around one corner and the harbour around the other.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2014 by Soffia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your short and sweet review. All the best, the Radisson Blu 1919 team.