Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smallest single bed since college dorm days

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location is good if you have a car, free parking. Staff very helpful. Coffee pods in rooms. Good bedside reading lights, big windows with view.
Cons: More staff. New towels and bed linens.
Location: Quiet area, close to National Museum. Next door to multi-screen movies theatre. HUGE grassy area in front of hotel for kids to run.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

enjoyed it, great for business

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: appearance
Cons: sauna, free spa
Very Nice hotel, Pretty, elegant. I went for business... wish i could have enjoyed it more
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Location nice, hotel rooms not so much...

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: The hotel lobby and restaurant
Cons: Rooms have recently had some water damage... quite evident in hallways, doors and rooms... renovations slowly underway
Location: The location in Reykjavik is good
The hotel lobby and restaurant aren't bad. The location in Reykjavik is good. However, the rooms have recently had some water damage... quite evident in hallways, doors and rooms... renovations slowly underway. Until that's completely dealt with and newer, I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by boysx4 from Oregon

Room to hot to sleep

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: If you had a room on a higher floor, the view at "sunset" was really nice.
Cons: See above
Location: It was a nice 10-12 minute walk to down town through a residential neighborhood. Very relaxing.
You would think it's not needed, but air or a fan was a must. The rooms are tiny and the sun reflects in the window and makes it a sauna inside. If you could remember to close the blackout curtain entirely before you went out, you were better, but yikes! The hotel staff tried hard with what they have to work with but there must be better hotel choices I'd think. The shower pressure was nice, but the shower curtain was a foot to short, so the water pressure blasted the shower tile floor and sprayed everywhere soaking the bathroom. The TV was broken in our room for 2 days so they nicely moved us to another room, 2/3rds the size with a broken hand held shower nozzle in a miniscule shower. Tiny! Last complaint, many towels were threadbare! It was odd, each time they changed out the room, IF they left any new towels, one was okay and one was rough and threadbare. Breakfast was good though. Just get there before 10, even though it goes to 10:30am
2 out of 5
by Nina from Oxford

Nasty experience.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The breakfast it was ok and the hotel staff was very kind.
Cons: Furniture.
The air conditioner it was not working. I couldn't find a menu for a room service. The phone did not work either. The furniture is old, really old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2014
6th floor back of hotel felt like we were in a wind tunnel when the window was open. In the rain it doesn't feel like 15 minutes walking to the center. Over all decent. Beat part was we arrived at 7am and our room was ready!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Large, older property

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Surface maintenance to update it.
Location: Thirty minute walk to center of town along busy roadways
This property is older and asks for some updates. It is further from the center of town than the website indicates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent place to stay in. Good location by car. excellent room with high standard of cleanliness. however, the standard of bedding should be improved especially the pillows, in giving the good sleep quality. breakfast is excellent with vast variety of choices available, as well as excellent price for the Icelandic cost of living. the staffs were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ian from Bristol, UK

Big luxury hotel near the centre of Reykjavik

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location. Well presented
Cons: Open the health suite on Sunday evening
Location: Great location. Everything in centre of Reykjavik is within walking distance
We stayed for one night at the hotel. Family of four in a Junior Suite. Nice building. Good breakfast. Pleasant staff. The rooms are a bit hot but you can open the windows to cool them down.
3 out of 5
by mags

Ok

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Old furniture and beds clearly need to be updated- ours was so well worn