Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal area

Below the usual Icelandic standards!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
If very basic is good enough, then the Peace Centre will do. The rooms are small, but comfortable and clean. The rest of the facilities are ok, but the place feels desolate. As for the lady in charge, she is not the owner and doesn't seem interested. She gives you your key, and that's about it! The grounds are completely abandoned, which is a shame because it was probably of very nice at one time. If you see "Breakfast included" on Expedia, it's a mistake. Breakfast will set you back 9.5 euros, and the lady in charge didn't recommend it! One last thing. Don't reserve at the Peace centre if you won't have a car. Nothing of interest is within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite place to stay

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Nice room, affordable
Cons: Smoking away from the facility.
Location: Not much to do nearby, sub-urban area but very quite and safe neighborhood.
A bit out of the way, good clean facilities and a charming ambiance. Only issue was the proprietor smoked outside the front door in the evening and you would get the smell in your room (we were above the front door) as well as in the office, which meant the place often smelled of cigarettes. Advertised breakfast did not exist...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Far from city center, but worth considering

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Our room was quite pleasant, with a bath and toilet just outside of it that was much better than one might expect. The beds were moderately comfortable. The room was rather large. We were 'greeted' by an employee almost with a scowl, and it was quickly explained that if we were expecting breakfast was included (there was some confusion about that among our party), then "the website lied." Finally, this place is several miles from anything you'll want to see in R., so take that into account. Be sure to have a reliable map when you are finding it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peace Center?

Posted Apr 23, 2014
The Story that was happening for me and my wife there is too long to tell, but to put it in short words: The Boss of the Guest House is far away from Peace, and the Mood is tough and uncomfortable. It is everything else of what i would imagine a Peace Center is about. So i absolutly recommend, choose something else! There are many nice and peaceful Guest Houses in Reykjavík! :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Daniel from Toronto, Canada

"Automated" hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Got to the hotel, key was in a box, entered, stayed four nights, left the key on the table and left. Absolutely no human interaction. I guess the owner was around but we never talked to anybody, we hoped for a little more friendliness, maybe some tourist advices. Room was OK, windows were extremely dirty but the room itself was clean. Basic but this is what we paid for. Bathroom could have been cleaner even for a basic hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

More like a hostel but great value I felt

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: homely and nice to stay in typcial icelandic area and huse
Cons: hostel feel more than guesthouse
Location: you need your own transport - great location for heading ot the airport
You definitly need your own transport to stay at this guesthouse. Althought clean I do feel it is more like a hostel. The house is very unusual and it was nice to stay somewhere homely. i would recommend to others - based on the value in comparison to other places we stayed on our trip. Use of the kitchen facilities was also great!
2 out of 5
by jiji

Not recommend

Posted Jun 26, 2013
Room is not comfort and very small. Bathroom only have little facilities. Not shower curtain. We have carry all luggages to stairs. Very inconvenience.
3 out of 5
by Kerri from Washington, DC, USA

Better in theory than reality

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: The house is beautiful... loved the library.
Cons: There was no one there!!!
Location: Far from the city; hard to find
The Reykjavik Peace Center is really cool, in theory. We loved being in the house and support the mission if the nonprofit organization connected with the property. However, there were a few things that made our stay not great. (It should be noted that although the location is very far from downtown Reykjavik, this was not really an issue for us. We had a car. You need a car to stay here.) The most basic complaint we had was the fact that there is a skylight directly over our bed. This was AWFUL in a location that never got truly dark. We couldn't sleep at all. Also, there was no manager or anyone attached to the property on the location, which made things super difficult. We received instructions on how to check in via email the night before we arrived. The email included information from how to get on the internet to how to access the locked box where the keys were stored. Great, in theory. In practice however this almost screwed us. We had been traveling for a few days and had limited internet access. If a family that was staying there hadn't left the door unlocked and given us the password, we would have never made it to our room. It was an awkward situation and made us feel very unwelcome. Staying at the Peace Center is like staying in a person's home, someone you don't know. There was no one to talk to, and we found it very difficult to really relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice accomodatiion, but be forwarned

Posted May 28, 2013
The space and rooms were nice at the guest house. The need for a code to get your key was inconvenient as we were traveling and did not have email access to receive the code, but called the number on the door to get direction over the phone. If we had not had a cell phone with us we would have been stuck. Overall a nice place to stay with good kitchen facilities for a longer family stay, though rather far from the city attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for short or long stay

Posted Aug 6, 2012
Nice location close to 41. Has a sculpture garden right outside the front door. Perfect!