Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lee, NJ

Nice room close to the action.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, kitchenette, comfort, and staff were all top notch.
Location: Right in downtown Reykjavik.
We stayed here for six days recently. It was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Great location, central,lovely room

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Great experience. Lovely room Helpful staff...... ...............
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Mother/Daughter Adventure

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Central location, but quiet, ensuring a good sleep! Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Fresh bread was delivered every morning. The only suggestion I would have is that the bread products could vary eg croissants for a change
Location: walking distance of theatre, cinema. restaurants, shopping area and the central booking point for excursions
We booked a holiday to Iceland as my daughter is about to head to University to study Geography, and we felt this would be an inspirational trip. It certainly was. We made the most of our time in Iceland , visiting the spectacular natural features, and also enjoying the restaurants, theatre and spas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

A perfect short stay near the centre of reykjavik

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location, close to bars and restaurants and only one road back from the sea and all rooms had free wifi
Cons: Parking was a slight problem and we thought that the charge of 20 euros a night was quite expensive
Location: This hotel was close to the centre of town, the harbour, bars and restaurants. You could go to the theatre, museum, coast walks and guided tours.
We arrived on a dismal rainy day to a bright cheery reception with friendly staff. We were shown straight to our room, which was well equipped with fridge, hob, microwave combination oven. Essentials we're complimentary, including cereals, ground coffee, tea, milk and orange juice. The room was extremely clean, with a good selection of towels and toiletries in the bathroom. Bathrobes were stored in the wardrobe, but it would have been nice to have slippers. We had satellite television shown in English,with news, cartoons and films. We had a very large comfortable bed, with individual duvets and there was a very nice armchair, although it would have been nice to have two. Breakfast had been ordered for us with the reservation; it was placed in the fridge while we were out. It included white bread and flat bread, yogurts, jams and butter, cold meat, cheeses, fruit, hard boiled eggs herbal tea and instant coffee. Fresh bread was placed outside the bedroom at 7 every morning. The quantity was large and there was enough for us to make lunch. On the last day our breakfast also included a cucumber, a brie, baby bell cheeses, chocolates and bananas. It was a brilliant breakfast. On the morning after our arrival the reception staff helped us to order our hire car, nothing was too much trouble.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london ontario

Lovely place, great location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Home away from home, in a great neighbourhood close to the best restaurants and shops, located in the old Reykjavik. Very cute hotel, more like a bed and breakfast than a typical hotel. Small and intimate, very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2014
What I liked: Clean, modern, good location, quiet, and comfortable. What I didn't like: Expensive - but then again, EVERYTHING in Iceland is expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maesteg

Reykjavik Whales

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The location and the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel, the approachable staff and the space of the apartment and its cooking facilities.
Cons: A shelf or two extra storage especially in the shower room. We found the room very hot in the middle of the night.
Location: Major attractions of the city centre are within walking distance e.g the majestic Hallgrímskirkja church, the Settlement Exhibition, Harpa Opera House
We found this hotel to be very near to many of the attractions the city has to offer. The staff were always courteous and helpful. We arrived a little hot and bothered, after midnight to find our refrigerator had defrosted and water covering a fair part of the kitchen area floor. The receptionist mopped up the water and arranged a complimentary breakfast as a gesture of goodwill. The apartment was spacious with good facilities and a good base for our first visit to the city. We were fortunate with mainly sunny and warm weather. I can recommend superjeep.is and their exhilarating 4 wheel drive itineraries and Elding Whale Watching in the nearby harbour. There is a wealth of pleasing restaurants and shops in Laugavegur street, the next street to where the Reykjavik Residence Hotel is found.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Comfortable accommodations with friendly staff

Posted Jul 26, 2014
I liked that it was only a block from the main street in town. We ordered breakfast from the hotel, and it was a lovely basket full of bread, cheese, fruit, yogurt, thin deli meat, and jams. We also had cereal, milk, and juice. The basket came every evening. Every morning at 7:30am, the staff hung a fresh loaf of bread on your doorknob. I would select the Expedia package with breakfast because it saved us time and money on food in the area. The hotel provided a Pack N Play for my 1 year old with plush bedding. We had a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Spacious, helpful staff.
Cons: Noise. Better windows may help to cut out noise from street parties, particular on Sat and Sun mornings.
Location: excellent.
Great place as a base. good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from S

Great relaxed option in central Reykjavik

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Perfect accommodation in the centre of Reykjavik. Comfortable, roomy and great breakfasts left in the fridge with fresh bread left on the door handle. Would definitely come back.