Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Great Location

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The great location and the very helpful and informative staff (Jessica)
Cons: Better windows to buffer the street noise
Location: Definitely in the heart of the city. Many restaurants and shopping and great clubs featuring live music
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Reykjavik and the our accommodations at the Room With A View were a big part of it. The location was awesome. You are right in the heart of the city. Our room had a kitchenette which was well stocked with everything you would need. Sugar, salt and coffee supplied were a pleasant surprise. The kitchenette was a must as dining out is quite pricey- so with being able to have breakfast in our room and packed lunches were a definite bonus. Jessica at the reception desk had a wealth of information and was very helpful. The only negative was the noise from the streets in the evening -but can not complain as previous reviews mentioned this many times so this was not a surprise for us. The great location was worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Great Location

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The location and its cleanliness . Staff member Jessica at the desk was a great source of information
Cons: Thicker panned windows to lessen the street noise down in rooms
Location: Right on the main street- every tour company will pick you up for any of the tours as well as the to and fro the airport.
This hotel/apartment was ideal for our 4 day stay in Iceland. Our room had a kitchenette unit which was stocked with the basic salt , sugar and coffee and all utensils and dishes one would need. Very clean. Jessica at the desk was a wealth of information and very helpful throughout our stay. The location was excellent- although was noisy from the street at night but reading previous reviews we were aware of this. It was great having the kitchenette to cook breakfast and pack lunches as dining out can be very expensive.. Grocery store, many restaurants and nightclubs and of course shopping close to Room With A View. No need for a car at all. Would certainly stay here again when we go to Iceland again. Great trip, travelling here is very easy for tourists
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by candace from d

Room with a View

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Good location for shopping, food and night life. A little loud if you want to sleep at night though. Better for young travellers as not families. Overall a decent stay though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zanna from Isle of Wight

My 50th birthday treat.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Really central, clean, warm, and inviting.
Cons: Less smelly water..!...Alas, that's a volcanic island for you.
Location: You are in the shopping high street. Many bars, cafes, etc. The Big Lebowski almost next door a must for all Dude fans.
Myself and a friend are/have hit 50 and we decided on a get together and trip. Iceland couldn't have been nicer. Freezing cold, snow that hurts when it hits you in the face, but who cares..! We booked the Golden circle tour which was glorious, and even more so with the aid of our tour guide Dooly. A total character. We had also booked whale watching and northern lights, but alas, nature was not on our side and we didn't see any, and the sea was too rough for us to go out. Disappointing, but if you don't try, it'll never happen! The town of Rejkyavic is wonderful. The architecture a joyous hotch pot of colour and tradition, and some superb wall art/graffiti on most walls. The gallerys were wonderful too. It is expensive but most bars do happy hour which helps, and you could cook meals in your room too which would save you money. When you come out of the hotel to the right is a great place for breakfast. You are in the centre of town and surrounded by clubs and cafes and eateries, so there is noise of people departing quite early in the morning and rubbish collection, but to be honest, you're so knackered from sight seeing you drop straight back off. Everyone was pleasant, so helpful, and with all that breath taking scenery, YOU MUST GO.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience! Would go back!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
It was a great central location, right on the main drag (Laugevegur). This hotel is in the midst of all the shopping, restaurants and tourist travel information (along with the tax free shop!). It was a great experience, highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andy from nottingham england

Great rooms, fantastic location!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Location
These appartments were fantastic, the location is perfect, right on the Main Street but not too noisy, we used the rooftop jacuzzi and the staff very friendly and helpful, the appartments was very well equipped with very good appliances and around 10 English TV channels. I would recommend these to anyone. Only down side was second bedroom a little small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Todd from Toronto, ON

Central location, loved having a kitchen

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Location, ammenities, kitchen facilities, comfortable bed.
Cons: Parking lot is small. We parked on the street, next to the hotel which was ok because it was the weekend.
Location: Centrally located to all amenities in the city. Grocery store and liquor store close by. Easy shopping for all.
Booked online, unknown as to what to expect in the city. Close to everything, centrally located. Rooms were clean, and the entire place felt new. Jessica, on the front desk, was amazingly helpful. Would stay here to again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good alternative option

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Location, not just a room...an apartment!
Cons: Maybe a little more finishing in terms of touching up the apartment but this is a really minor. Plus you don't go on holiday to stay in your room!
Location: City high street location, ten mins walk to harbour, harpa, cathedral. Everything is closeby
Nestled right on the high street but without as much noise on busy weekends, this place is a brilliant alternative to a hotel which costs more! Plus you get your own apartment with good shower, reasonably well heated, good kitchen, fridge everything you'd need and more. Definitely worth staying in if your looking for a central location without big costs of a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Iceland fan

Nice central hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Location: Hallgrímskirkja chuch, Reykjavík is a 5 min walk away
Nice central hotel right on the main strip in Reykjavik. Central to bus location, same street as shops and restaurants. Hotel apartments are good size with your kitchen and fridge. Friendly staff. Helpful Reykjavik map and guide books in reception area. Free wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location in the heart of reykjavik

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Location and comfort
Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. They couldn't do enough for us!