Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Easy walking distance to the sights

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked this room for my parents. They found it to be a beautiful, spacious and quiet room, with excellent breakfast, and pleasant and professional staff. The only drawback they found was that there was no elevator, so with carrying their luggage this was a bit of a problem. Otherwise they really enjoyed their stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by erika from Anchorage AK

a little run down but good location

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We couldn't get a room in any hotel other than allstadt. At first I was concerned it would be crowded and uncomfortable. Lobby is tiny and smells of cigarette smoke. No elevator, and we were on the 4th floor, our friends on the 2nd. Rooms were large, shower was great. At the beginning of the street for shopping, which is nice. Did not eat breakfast there so can't comment, but it looked good but simple. Beds were not too bad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by great cathy from nz

Good value Aldstadt perch

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is run by a laid back mother-daughter duo who are very friendly. The rooms are a little old and tired but ok for the price. The breakfast is nice. The location couldn't be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Matt from Chattanooga, TN

Perfectly reasonable and convenient

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Altstadt Hotel is very close to the bulk of the sights to see in Heidelberg. It's on one end of the Old Town, within walking distance of Heiliggeist Kirche, the castle, the old bridge, and an excellent local history museum (the Kurpfälzisches Museum). It's also only a few yards away from the Bismarckplatz, where you can find a tram or bus going wherever you need to go. The hotel itself is rather spare (or at least my room was), but it was comfortable. I wouldn't recommend it for a group, but for a solo traveler or a couple, it works just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jon and Jamie from Hawaii USA

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located in the old town but near the town end rather than the castle. This was perfect for us as we had meetings to go to and people to see. It is really close to Bismarckplatz with all the transportation so if you want to get around it is really easy. Most important though, is the staff. The owner went out of her way to get a room ready for us early when we showed up looking like something the dog dragged in after 20 hrs. of air travel. The he room was spacious but not luxuriously furnished. The bathroom was a typical German. 'Water closet'' but then you can't have everything! But anyway the water was always hot and the room was clean. Would definitely stay here again. Note. . .be sure to write down the address for the cab drivers as it is a small hotel and.many cabbies don't know it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy from Rota Spain

Quaint, but no frills

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Location was great - we even walked the 1.5 km from the train station!
Cons: Bath soap and shampoo would be great.
This was a nice little place in the Altstadt of Heidelberg, just right around the corner from the main pedestrian shopping area, fairly close to anything you would want to see as a tourist. The hotel looks like it has been recently refurbished; clean and comfortable, but no frills. Our room had a pod type shower, no soap or shampoo, but immaculate. Beds are firm like in the rest of Europe, but not bad at all. The breakfast buffet was adequate. The staff was very helpful with Wifi (you have to pay 5 euro per day), getting taxis, and even let us check in early. Perfectly adequate place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GB from Houston, TX

Good place to spend the night.

Posted Nov 29, 2012
Nice room and bathroom, not fancy, hotel staff was pleasant, decent breakfast buffet that came with room, good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jamie

Simple, clean and efficient

Posted Sep 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Arrived at 2am and used the automatic machine to get my key using my booking code. Breakfast was nice if a little too artistic rather than filling. Wi-fi is not free, the best I could work out from the sign is it's a daily charge - can't comment on the quality of this as I didn't use it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A good value

Posted Sep 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
Regular hotel down the first cross street of Hauptstrasse. Good value, nothing out of the ordinary. Everything was fine.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels.com