Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Good hotel and very reasonably priced.

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: Value for money.
Location: A bit out of the centre of town but tram close by.
I really liked this hotel. It is a bit out of town but you can catch the tram into the city, the room was really comfy and clean. Had dinner at the restaurant and it was delicious and also reasonably priced. The hotel is in a bit of an industrial suburb and yes there is a cement factory close by but it is still a great place. Has a gym and on site parking. Supermarket up the road. Would recommend to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JBeatty from San Juan, PR

True definition of a GEM!

Posted May 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
If there ever were a text book definition of a Gem, this hotel is exactly that. I was a bit apprehensive when I read about it being next to a cement plant, but was surprised when I arrived in this industrial town that looks more like a college campus with it's dorm like buildings surrounding the area. The hotel is a neat Tuscan village nestled in this campus. If it weren't for the big smoke stack next door, you would never notice there was a cement plant at all. The rooms are huge, definitely not the typical european broom closets you find. The tram stop is a block away and takes you directly into Heidelberg, the final stop so you don't have to worry about getting off the wrong stop. Staff was very friendly, the dinning room and the bar lounge is centrally located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2013
At first, we were a little apprehensive because of the location which seemed to be in an industrial area. However, once we entered and got settled, we realized how special the hotel was. The sauna was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly. For people outside of Germany, people using the sauna were naked and it was coed. We were surprises but eventually got used to it, even though we used towels judiciously.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Little oasis in unlikely location, easy travel by tram to Heidelberg. Stayed here for a month last year while my wife was in hospital in Heidelberg, found staff excellent, room excellent, definitely recommend. Came back for a weekend and as good as we remembered. Excellent Italian restuarant for a special evening in.Definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great option for Heidelberg but outside town

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Really nice hotel with very nice staff. Only disadvantage is it is outside Heidelberg in a residential area. However you are 5 minutes walk from the tram into town and easy to get a taxi back at night. It's cheaper than most hotels in the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Doug

Next to a cement factory, but hey!

Posted Sep 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was a great hotel. It belonged to several italian styled hotels in Germany. The layout and decor was great, although definitely not first class. Balconies to enjoy the evening overlooking the hotel's large central park/court. Great Breakfast with friendly service. The teenage girl who checked me in left something to be desired, so ask you questions while you have the clerk; they are not very forthcomingl. Surround town is not interesting, but only 10 km to Heidelberg. It was fun watching containers of cement go by near the hotel on an elevated cable tram! I was there in August, so didn't have a problem with noisy businessmen that others complained about. This is a nice spacious, comfortable hotel with a not so great location. I recommend it highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

nice, relaxed, good friendly staff

Posted Aug 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
stayed for one night en route to Venice, very friendly staff, EXCELLENT BREAKFAST, fresh salmon included, would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was great. We were not given the door code, internet access instructions or the price of the buffet until we asked. I feel all of these things should have been discussed at check in. The staff was very helpful when asked for this information and also with other requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by WorldTraveller

Nice hotel-22 mins from Heidelberg's old town

Posted Jul 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
I stayed in a double room: It was a large, clean,  charming and comfortable room. The WiFi was free. I would stay there again. The hotel lies 4 mins walk from tram station Johannes Reidel Strasse. The tram ride to the old town takes 18 mins. Note: The ticket machine at Johannes Reidel Strasse does not accept money or foreign credit cards, so unless you already have a ticket you should head for the next station; Zementwerke, a short walk. You need a 2-zone ticket to get to the old town or railway station. Some reviewers claim there is noise from the cement factory.  I heard no noise at all during the three  days in late July 2012. On the negative side: There is no air condition.