Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Iggy from NJ

Good location though...

Posted May 5, 2014
This hotel wasnt that bad. The restaurant was a delight, as well as the breakfast. The location is perfect, right in the middle of the old town. The fa├žade is from around the 13th century and is a regular instagram pic for Heidelberg. The rooms are small though, they are not the cleanest or the most luxurious. Not worth what it costs but not that bad in the end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We would stay there again.

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Location, location, location. Everything is close in Heidelberg, but this hotel is in the middle of it all. 20 feet from the cathedral, 1 block from the tram up to the castle-this place was great. Beautiful, historic building. The rooms are apparently 2.5-3x more expensive when booked directly, so for the deal we got we liked it even more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic location, friendly and helpful staff!

Posted Dec 6, 2012
hotel is perfectly located and the staff is FANTASTIC - the girls at the desk, especially manuela, went above and beyond the call of duty to help us, even after we'd left - highly, highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John & Chris from Seattle, WA, USA

Zum Ritter

Posted Aug 7, 2012
Very helpful front desk personnel. Nice restaurant, very good breakfast, elaborate dinners if desired. Prime location.
2 out of 5
by Linda from Lehigh Acres, FL

Run down and overpriced

Posted Apr 21, 2012
Pros: Oldest hotel in Heidelberg
Cons: Run down
Location: Great location in old town
We can now say that we stayed at the oldest hotel in Heidelberg, however we would not stay there again. It is becoming so run down. The shower leaked all over the floor causing rot in one corner of the bathroom. Tile was chipped and paint was peeling. I think the toilet was clean but just badly stained. The upholstered bed needed a good cleaning as did the chairs. The pillows were so flat they were almost non existent and the curtains did not close well or keep the light out. We were facing the main street in old town so had to be very careful when dressing. It was not worth the ridiculous price we paid but we wanted to stay in the oldest hotel. Glad we only booked 2 nights there. Stayed at the Villa Marstall the rest of the time and it was fantastic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Great location

Posted Oct 20, 2011
The hotel was right in the heart of things which was wonderful. It had a historic feel which was nice, and still had modern amenities. There is no parking & no convenient way to drop off your bags. I felt there should have been more instructions under the hotel's description. The man at the front desk could not answer any questions when it came to local restaurants or live entertainment which was frustrating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami

hotel in Heidleberg

Posted May 31, 2011
The location is superb! It's an interesting building. Room was very clean. The restaurant seemed overpriced so we avoided it. We had little contact with the staff, but they we pleasant enough. They had no a/c, we were okay as it was still cool in the evening
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Zum Ritter is fabulous!

Posted Mar 30, 2011
Reception staff was helpful and charming and accomodating. Very enjoyable location right in the heart of Heidelbergs old town, near the Alte Brucke and with the Castle dominating the skyline.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Heidelberg Hotel

Posted May 5, 2010
Great location - though hard to find if driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Excellent historic hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 21, 2007
All facets of the hotel were to an extremely high standard. service, the room and restaurant were all exemplary. Would not hesitate to recommend to anybody for leisure or business