Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SC

Old Europe is still in fashion

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Its history, its location and its restaurant are all gems.
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: You are right in the middle of the old town close to the tram for the Heidelberg castle and the university.Close to the Holy Ghost church.
This is a wonderful old European style hotel updated but without loss of charm. The location is perfect for a stay in the center of old Heidelberg. The restaurant is a find all by itself and elegant without being fussy. The rooms are period but comfortable with large baths.The staff is very helpful. This is my favorite hotel in my favorite German city and I will go back as often as I can.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great central location.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Right in the center of the pedestrianized zone of Heidelberg - lots of sights, shops and restaurants within easy walking distance.
Cons: The hotel gives a somewhat boring and neglected impression. Despite high season, it did not seem fully occupied.
It is a pity that this hotel - located in a historic building right in the center of Heidelberg - is not run more efficiently. Despite the presence of a nice-looking restaurant on the ground floor there is no room service available at all, the selection in the minibar is sparse and you have to pay extra for the internet service. The room itself was small (that's expected for the low rate charged), but the old carpet and small, bulky TV set just shows that it has not been updated properly for a few years. Overall, one gets the impression that this hotel has enormous potential, but is not run with the interests/convenience of guests as its central mission.
3 out of 5
by Iggyfrom NJ

Good location though...

Posted May 5, 2014
This hotel wasnt that bad. The restaurant was a delight, as well as the breakfast. The location is perfect, right in the middle of the old town. The fa├žade is from around the 13th century and is a regular instagram pic for Heidelberg. The rooms are small though, they are not the cleanest or the most luxurious. Not worth what it costs but not that bad in the end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We would stay there again.

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Location, location, location. Everything is close in Heidelberg, but this hotel is in the middle of it all. 20 feet from the cathedral, 1 block from the tram up to the castle-this place was great. Beautiful, historic building. The rooms are apparently 2.5-3x more expensive when booked directly, so for the deal we got we liked it even more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic location, friendly and helpful staff!

Posted Dec 6, 2012
hotel is perfectly located and the staff is FANTASTIC - the girls at the desk, especially manuela, went above and beyond the call of duty to help us, even after we'd left - highly, highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John & Chrisfrom Seattle, WA, USA

Zum Ritter

Posted Aug 7, 2012
Very helpful front desk personnel. Nice restaurant, very good breakfast, elaborate dinners if desired. Prime location.
2 out of 5
by Lindafrom Lehigh Acres, FL

Run down and overpriced

Posted Apr 21, 2012
Pros: Oldest hotel in Heidelberg
Cons: Run down
Location: Great location in old town
We can now say that we stayed at the oldest hotel in Heidelberg, however we would not stay there again. It is becoming so run down. The shower leaked all over the floor causing rot in one corner of the bathroom. Tile was chipped and paint was peeling. I think the toilet was clean but just badly stained. The upholstered bed needed a good cleaning as did the chairs. The pillows were so flat they were almost non existent and the curtains did not close well or keep the light out. We were facing the main street in old town so had to be very careful when dressing. It was not worth the ridiculous price we paid but we wanted to stay in the oldest hotel. Glad we only booked 2 nights there. Stayed at the Villa Marstall the rest of the time and it was fantastic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington Beach, CA

Great location

Posted Oct 20, 2011
The hotel was right in the heart of things which was wonderful. It had a historic feel which was nice, and still had modern amenities. There is no parking & no convenient way to drop off your bags. I felt there should have been more instructions under the hotel's description. The man at the front desk could not answer any questions when it came to local restaurants or live entertainment which was frustrating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

hotel in Heidleberg

Posted May 31, 2011
The location is superb! It's an interesting building. Room was very clean. The restaurant seemed overpriced so we avoided it. We had little contact with the staff, but they we pleasant enough. They had no a/c, we were okay as it was still cool in the evening