Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

stay was fine

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: location to the tourist sites and close to the train station
Cons: price. Thought the price was a bit much for mid week.
Location: all of the tourist sights were within walking distance.
had a great experience since I only had one day there. Needed something clean and comfortable and the hotel did this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from East Rochester, NY

Nice Hotel Close to the River and Old Town

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Staff and Location
Cons: Nothing deal breaking
Location: Old Town is close The River is 2 Blocks away
This has a good location that is an easy walk to the old town and river districts. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly. All staff members spoke english very well since my wife and I speak very little German. I would recommend giving this place a chance. Parking can be tough though if you are driving. The garage was nearly full but we were able to get one of the last spots with some patience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michelle from Montpellier

Well located hotel in Heidelberg

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Lighting in bathroom is meant for men, horrible for women to put make-up on / have to pay for internet - very few good business hotels do that now
Location: Sakura, Café Rossi, lots of good restaurants within walking distance - must see the castle
I have stayed at the NH hotel in Heidelberg for over 3 years, but even though I am a frequent customer of NH hotels in multiple EU countries, they never treat me well. I work for a global company and my colleagues and I spend a minimum of 12 days per month in hotels and expect better service. My last experience at the NH was horrible, so I changed to the Leonardo. The staff was very welcoming, the room was nice, and bed was great for a tall person - overall, a much better hotel and value than the NH.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mickey from Indiana

Clean and comfortable hotel close to downtown.

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The location is very convenient to downtown. The hotel is clean.
Cons: Internet speed is unacceptable for the price they charge. Service and staff could be more reliable and prompt.
Location: 5-7 minute walk to the pedestrian shopping street or the train station, nice bakery with sandwiches, pastries and coffee half block down.
The hotel was not comfortable by US standards, but more than decent by European standards. The room was clean and had all the expected amenities. The beds were hard and the temperature in the hotel was unpleasantly warm. Had to keep the window open at night, which is a waste of energy. The Internet was expensive and incredibly slow. The hotel service was so-so. Housekeeping forgot to refill coffee one day and in spite of 2-3 phone calls to reception, they never brought any to our room. As other reviewers point out, the bathtubs are very high and it could be dangerous to step out of the bathtub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Greg Geidel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sheena from lancashire

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Pros: location and comfort
Location: shopping, markets, easy walk to river and castle.
excellent location, close to Bismarck Platz for transport and old town for shopping/markets. Friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kirsten from Kinross, Scotland

Great, central location.

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Central location, only 5 min walk from shops and old town.
Location: Centrally located. Shops only a few minutes away. Old town and lots of interesting historical sights nearby.
Very comfortable hotel in good central location. Very helpful and attentive staff with complementary sparkling wine on arrival.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ma94jcg from Sevenoaks

Not good for families

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Thoroughly unimpressed with this hotel. We stayed at the Leonardo Hotel for one night en-route from Munich to Luxembourg. We are a family of 4 with two small kids, and had requested two adjoining rooms when booking (a number of months ahead of the booking date). When we arrived, the rooms were not connected. We quizzed the reception staff as to why this was. They first tried to say we hadn't requested connecting rooms (which I was able to show them that we had), and then they said that all of their adjoining rooms were being "worked on". After about 20 minutes of asking them to fix the situation, they ended up putting an extra bed in their triple room. To add insult to injury: 1) their knowledge of their own city center was not great, suggesting we walked (20 minutes or so with two small kids) into the old town rather than drive as it was difficult to park. We followed this and was astounded by the number of public car parks that were actually available. 2) the breakfast buffet was not replenished rapidly (eg bacon was missing for ages, we gave up waiting). Other 4* hotels put them to shame. 3) The hotel car park is extortionate (€17 a day). Fortunately we arrived on a Sunday so just parked on the road for free (and paid €1 an hour for on-street parking on Monday morning at 8am). Overall I would not recommend this hotel (there are many other better choices out there)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Germany Trip

Posted Aug 29, 2013
The hotel was pleasing. The location is near everything we needed to be next to. I would definitely come back to this hotel in the future and recommend it to my friends and family.