Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Cambridge UK

Great hotel on river Neckar,near Heidelberg centre

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The spaciousness, the Business Center with computer access, the comfort of the room and the excellence of the restaurant.
Cons: My "SatNav" thought it was at least two miles down river!
Location: Close to the city center; walks along the river banks (either side) or trips on the river, followed by the old Schloss are to be recommended.
Modern hotel, with really helpful,mostly young, English-speaking staff. Has an American ambiance.Entire hotel was very clean and bedroom with "king-sized" bed was well-equipped and comfortable, The "Grill16" restaurant served excellent food and wine at less than "rip-off" prices. The food was beautifully cooked and the steaks, a "speciality" of the hotel were excellent and varied. From a tourist point of view, the existence of a boarding point for the local shuttle boat to the Heidelberger Schloss, one-way or a round trip was a real plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irene from Sunnyvale, CA

Nice hotel by the river

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Staff were very nice and willing to give information. Very friendly.
Cons: The only way to the road along the river is through the restaurant. It's very uncomfortable crossing the restaurant when others are dining.
Location: Old town is 20 minutes away, a bit far. But the walkway along the river is quite nice.
Hotel is big and exactly what you would expect from a Marriott in the U.S. I felt right at home. It felt more like a hotel for business travel than leisure. It is located close to the highway but a little far from the tourist part of town. All the staff there is very friendly and helpful, more than some other 5 star German brand hotels, so for that I liked this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
upon arrival we did not get the room we reserved and paid for. They did have that room and we could pay 80 euros more a night for it if we wanted it. We took another room and spoke with the manager the next morning and after some proof on our part he did agree that we had booked the room we thought we had. However, the updated room of that description was now not available and we could have a similar less updated room for the price we had pre paid. They seem to think the error was on the part of Hotels.com. The hotel was not full. We stayed 4 nights in a room somewhere between the room we booked and paid for and what was offered. The hotel staff were very nice and apologized for the inconvenience. The hotel needs more staff, no one to help you in with your bags etc. I would have expected a 4 star Marriott to at least have had a bell man.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by susana gols from hidelberg, germany

Not as expected

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
I went there for my anniversary and thinks didnt go as i expected. We paid 218 euros for two massages, but the quality doesnt worth the price. I hoped a nicer view, even the hotel wasn't full.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Amy from US

Business trip

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is fabulous. Would like to stay there for pleasure. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dr Nasir Mahmud

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alisha from Tampa florida

Great staff

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff went above and beyond during our stay. Nice location by the river and walkable distance to the city and castle. Restaurant was amazing for both dinner and breakfast. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, Far from the old city

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Average hotel, nice Gym, no safe in the room. Breakfast menu too expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rodrigo from Guatemala City

Very comfortable

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: Very comfortable, room size was OK.
Marriott Hotel is a 10 minute walk from train station. It is NOT located in the touristic part of the city, but it is in a nice region. If you want to go to the tourist attractions, you need to walk for around 20 minutes. Another option is to take the tram, the nearest station is a 5 minute walk. The tram is not expensive and arrives quickly. Hotel is very comfortable, personnel speaks good English and is friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Josh from Ramstein, Germany

Good but expensive

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Get it with breakfast included. The location is good for getting the bus and tram or ever walking. My wife and I actually walked to oldtown and the shopping everyday. Parking is an extra 20€ per day and breakfast is 23€ per person for eggs and fruit. The restaurant has the best steak I have ever had but was 60€ for two people without wine. Just keep the extra costs in mind when staying here.