Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Gatineau Québec

Close to Legoland

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Breakfast buffet gives you a healthy choice.
Cons: Carpets are old and the bathroom needs upgrading.
Location: Legoland and Lalandia center offers a good choice of restaurants, shopping and activities.
Excellent buffet breakfast the hotel is divided in small buildings that makes your stay quiet. It is close to airport, Legoland and Lalandia center.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Great place to stay if you like being ignored!

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The rooms are nice, it's the staff that let it down.
Cons: Sack all the staff (except the check in staff) and replace them all with people who can smile and don't ignore guests.
I've stayed at the Svanen a few times and unfortunately I've always had the same experience. Why do I keep staying there you might ask, and it's always because of short notice availability during the LegoLand season - I guess there's a reason why this hotel always has rooms available when the others are sold out - whenever possible I would rather stay at the Propellen as it's a much nicer hotel. Check in staff were friendly, but I was ignored by 4 different staff while trying to get a drink. I didn't eat at the hotel this time as I've experienced the poor service many times before and the food is poor as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

More of a motel than a hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
This is more a motel than a hotel by North American standards. The walls are very thin, I could hear my neighbor's TV. The restaurant is excellent, but pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Ideal location for logo land

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Very nice hotel - comfortable, clean with friendly staff. Nice restaurant and Buffett
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

decent place to stay

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: breakfast buffet, hotel staff were very good
Cons: bathroom, air cond, beds
Location: very good location, the free shutttle goes everywhere needed, legoland, centrum, stores, food
this hotel was a place to sleep while at legoland, nothing more. no air cond, the room seemed to be old and not updated for a long time. the breakfast buffet was the best i have had at any hotel, very good. the free shuttle is a huge bonus. i would look for another hotel if i returned to the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kirsty

Great location near Legoland

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Staff were very friendly and helpful, hotel had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Dining experiences at both breakfast and dinner were excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by yk from AUS

Terrible Check-in Service

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel did not have my confirmed reservation. Arrived hotel very late at night only to be informed 'no room' available. Had to be persistent by showing copy of reservation, only to be given a room, which was 'occupied' by someone...which the reception guy did not know!!!....what a performance to get a room!!!...At check-out was offered 50% discount!!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

oven hotel

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was directly opposite the afternoon sun and as such the sun is up till 10 pm. There is only a quarter window for ventilation and when opened you sacrifice your privacy The room looks like a prison cell that's so small. Even the bath curtains are black and scar. ed my young son
3 out of 5
by Charlie from UK

An average hotel / motel.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, good location.
Cons: Staff, one man on reception was really good but the others really didn't seem to enjoy their job at all.
Location: Lalandia, Legoland and a good base for exploring surrounding towns
Room was good size and clean. The motel is a good distance from Legoland and Lalandia even if walking with small children, and would make a a good base for exploring surrounding towns. But this motel obviously built as an after thought as the footpath does not extend as far as the hotel. You have to walk on the other side of the road then cross what is the main road in Billund and walk up the grass verge this is ok when it is dry but as we discovered water pools very quickly when wet. I wouldn't describe this as a family hotel in regards to restaurant, a few reviews I have read said the children's menu was really good but the the only option for children we were given was the evening buffet which was very much aimed at adults (£25pp) and not worth the money especially when when compared to the buffet meal we had Lalandia up the road. Breakfast was excellent good choice and topped up as things ran out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pete from UK

Hotel near airport and fun parks

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The very large shower room within bathroom, ipod radio charger, great coffee machine, breakfast and waffle maker! It was clean!
Cons: Staff being more informative on arrival and especially if people need to spend time waiting.
Location: Old town 20 mins walk. Legoland 5 mins walk, water park, 3 mins walk. However, Billund is a fun parks airport unless you hire a car.
Arrived too early due to flight time, was able to leave luggage at reception so we didn't have to drag it around with us with no car. We asked if there were anywhere we could go to spend time until the room was ready, we were told there is nothing at all in Billund and we have to take a bus ride 30 mins away to another town or a taxi would set us back £60 for a 20 mins trip. The alternative was to sit in small lobby for four hours until the room was ready. However, we decided to find a map and try and find our own way around, we found Billund old town area within 20 mins walking with quaint cafe and shops, we had a nice sandwich and coffee in a lovely cafe in town. Also the plaza at the water park was free entry with other entertainment, restaurants and shops and that was only 3 minutes walk away from the hotel. This information could have been offered to guests and also its a shame staff do not marketing their own town to tourists, although small the centre is very quaint and historical to Lego.