Ratings based on 674 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Washingon University

Posted Apr 26, 2015
The hotel isn't a beauty from the outside, but it's very well done on the inside. As long as you're not looking for sleek & modern. There's interesting antique furniture throughout all of the public space, the rooms are nicely finished, and the continental breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great proximity to Wash University in St Louis

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Charming hotel for the literature enthusiast or anglophile. Quaint decor but not cheesy. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and the decor was lovely. Helpful staff. Well-equipped fitness center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
A beautiful hotel minutes from everything stl can offer. Great staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2015
I stayed at the hotel when taking my son for his final selection of the college. We liked the unique UK atmosphere of the hotel and the personal touch by the friendly hotel staffs. The location is super for campus visit. My son has made the decision to attend Wash. U. For sure, I will be staying here again in future visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique English experience

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Authentic British ambiance and décor, comfortable and welcoming lounge for groups to chat with puzzles, chess set up. Cozy fox and hounds pub.
Cons: More towel racks, and as I am getting older, would like a bar in the shower.
We enjoyed the British atmosphere, furnishings, paintings and pictures, fireplaces, and the 9 foot stuffed bear! The author themed Rooms are cozy with comfortable beds and sitting, modern baths and tv. There is a very good complementary breakfast. The staff was most pleasant and helpful. It was charming.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Just okay

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: I liked the neighborhood.
Cons: Parking was quite difficult. Food and waitstaff were not up to par.
Location: Really nice neighborhood near the zoo. Beautiful homes and accessible to the highway.
We were a little disappointed by the Cheshire. We had a number of options and might have been happier with a different choice. The hotel was a little tired and while the front desk staff were very nice, the waitstaff in the restaurants were not very good. The food was not very good. Our room was comfortable but overlooked the pool area. In the summer I'm sure it would be quite loud. Traffic noise was also an issue. The location of the Chesire is a very charming part of STL. Parking was difficult. We have a large vehicle and there was no where to park it. The outdoor lot was full and small and the garage only had one floor that was tall enough for our truck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom springfield mo

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Nice quaint hotel. Love that we were able to open the window. Hotel staff was nice but did not go out of there way and when we inquired about staying another night They couldn't offer us the same rate but wanted to charge us almost $100 more for the same room. I thought that was very poor customer service. And didn't offer any upgrades.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 night stay

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Location to Washington University.
Limited parking. Recommend not taking a full size pickup. Returned to room at 4:45pm and still no housekeeping. When they did arrive they apologized for lateness. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Decent continental breakfast but small area where breakfast is served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our 'Go To' hotel in St. Louis

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Great hotel experience. Rooms are very nice. Right next to the Zoo and walking distance to the Pageant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Hope you're able to join us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Wonderful hidden gem 5 minutes from downtown.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
This hotel was not our first choice. But now that I've stayed there, it will always be my first choice. A secret little treasure of St. Louis, the Cheshire whisks you away to the English countryside the moment you walk in the door. A courteous staff is always ready to help, and being right off the freeway keeps you away from pains of downtown, but close enough for convenience.We will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you'll stay with us again next time you visit St. Louis!