Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Disappointing experience.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Build a new hotel.
Location: The only advantage was its proximity to the Washington University. The Staff managed to give us the wrong direction to get there!
The hotel was old, run down, and most of all smelly. We could not sleep due to smell of the room. The Staff was not welcoming or friendly and the restaurant on the property was below average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrenton, MO

Best Hotel in St Louis

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything!
Cons: The cost fluctuates..and sometimes is too high.
Location: We love the Delmar Loop, and since renovations, the restaurants on the property ,
We try to stay at the Cheshire each time to spend the night in St. Louis. We love everything about the hotel and location,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zimmerman, MN

Great hotel! Smells a little weird inside

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: The wait staff! And it was so eclectic and interesting. Loved the focus on rooms' names being English authors! Great breakfast. Pool ROCKED.
Cons: Please get a whirlpool. Please. And please don't charge us to park per day. That seems pretty unreasonable.
Location: Oooo, the Arch! CITY MUSEUM. Science Center. Turtle climby-park. Eat at Dooley's! Mall. Crown Candy Kitchen!
We LOVED our trip, and this hotel was a huge part of it! The staff is SUPER awesome. The pool is wonderful, but there is no hot tub / whirlpool. Just noting that. They provide a lovely breakfast free of charge each morning. My kids loved the workout room. We ate at the Basso: very different and exciting! The wait staff got to know us by name. Our beds were AMAZINGLY comfy, but the housekeeping staff did not give us as many towels or complimentary hair stuff (shampoos, conditioners) as we requested daily (we needed 3 per day... girls with long hair!). Everyone is super-friendly, and they want to make your stay incredible. I ordered up this hotel online and had no idea what I was getting into, and we were SO PLEASED.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Branson

Dr trip to St Louis.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: The location. The nice bedding. Friendly staff. Clean room.
Cons: Breakfast bar arrangement. 7.00 for self parking. We checked in around 5 pm and left the next morning.computer added $7 twice. Clerk took one off.
Location: It is near the Zoo, but we didn't have time to go.
We drive up to St Louis once a year from southern MO to see the heart specialist at Barnes Jewish Hospital. The Cheshire was rated very well and was pretty close to the hospital. It was an older property but very clean and well cared for. The bed was really nice and comfortable. We had a drink in the pub after checking into our room. It had a nice atmosphere and drinks were good. We inquired about restaurants nearby and decided on a neat little local place just down the road. "Jimmy's In The Park" was a great little place. We really enjoyed our dinner. Food was great. The continental breakfast was good the next morning. My only complaint is the way the breakfast bar is set up it was really crowded. Everyone was lined up blocking the bar. I would like to have gotten something else but there were so many people in the corner I didn't bother.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Nice room, good mattress, friendly staff, excellent breakfast with great local coffee, clean pool with great seating and cabanas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aurora, il

Wonderful Hotel with charm close to Park and Zoo

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Not cookie cutter, fun, clean, breakfast in the morning, wonderful staff.
Cons: Nothing...
Location: Easy to find, close to park and not far from Arch and downtown.
We loved this hotel and so did my kids (age 4 and 7). It was super close to the Forest Park and the FREE zoo. Overall wonderful experience. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kathy from akron, ohio

Comfortable and unique

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Unique feel, friendliness, had a royalty theme.
Cons: Thought it was very nice.
Location: Close location to arch and easy access to anywhere in st louis
Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was great! Breakfast was good. Loved the unique look and feel of the place. Only complaint is the front desk had no idea about the VIP program, so no upgrades. Showed them our expedia card and they responded that was through expedia and they don't have anything to do with it, so no upgrades.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Cheshire Experience

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Pool, Rooms, Floor.
Cons: It's location, but I understand that's not available.
I love the hotel, I spend the afternoon by the pool which was furnished elegantly. The room was great but the best part was the "sliders" order from the bar area. I believe the Fox and Hound??? Overall excellent experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Flip your mattress!

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Everything about this hotel impressed. With that said the mattress was so over sprung my wife and I kept rolling to the middle. Management said they would address this. Other than that a wonderful staff and hotel. PS do the treasure hunt! Just ask the front desk about it!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant little hotel steeped in English history.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The people were great, pleasant and helpful. The English nature of the room was neat. It was quiet despite being on Clayton Boulevard.
Cons: The breakfast was OK but not great. They had fruit, which was nice, but limited cereal and the coffee was so-so.
Location: It's near SSM Hospital, if you need that. It's next to the Washington University undergrad campus. Easy to get downtown or good shopping west.
The Cheshire is a little hotel on Clayton Road near St. Louis. The front staff was very helpful. The room we had was accessible to wheelchairs so the shower was very flat and the water ran into the bathroom drain. We were still in the room one morning and the cleaning staff never came back to clean the room that day. The other days were fine. There are several interesting restaurants on the grounds. We ate Basso's which was very good. It's a bar type restaurant. They served small dishes (like a tapas restaurant, except Italian) and they were all delicious. The waitress was excellent.