Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice area and near the park and zoo

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and atmosphere
Cons: NA
Location: Park Zoo
Loved the hotel and the staff and food The Hotel location Sevice was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Camarillo, CA

Close to Forest Park and Wash. U.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The Cheshire is a charming hotel with a literary theme, where each room is named after a famous author. In a world of sound bites and tweets, I found this refreshing. The bar was a cozy place to sit and chat with friends, and the restaurant was very good. The area is very nice with lots of people out and about. Forest Park is a great place, with its winding roads and paths, the art museum, and the zoo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carbondale, il

Best hotel stay ever! Definitely will return!!!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
This was an incredible stay and had exceeded my already high expectations. Friendliest hotel staff. Justin was working during the majority of our stay and went out of his way to make our trip the most pleasant. The music on Saturday night was great! I have never seen such excellent service and quality. I would recommend taking advantage of the free bike rental and the park! We did this first and it started our trip off well! I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Excellent staff.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Its quirkiness and engaging decor, the relaxing poolside environment, and the staff.
Close to many attractions in St. Louis. Well-run hotel with ample, friendly staff. Delightful breakfast. Relaxing pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

A wonderful hotel, reminiscent of old English Inns

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The decor, the service, the food, the drinks, the room - in short, everything.
Cons: There seemed to be a humming involved with the air conditioner in my room on my last day there. I reported this to the front desk.
Location: The location is excellent, easy access to the freeway. The zoo is nearby. Don't miss out on visiting St. Francis de Sales Church on Ohio and Gravois.
When I first walked into the Cheshire Inn, I was immediately reminded of the White Hart Inn, where I stayed when I first traveled to Great Britain as a teenager in the early 1960's. The common rooms have paintings, furnishings and decor which recall the atmosphere and aesthetics of the 18th and 19th centuries, complete with a portrait of Queen Victoria. The staff was more than courteous, addressing me by name whenever I called the front desk. The room service was very good, with an amazing selection of original and fancifully-named cocktails as well as excellent cuisine and a nice wine list. This was one of my most enjoyable stays in an American hotel. The Cheshire is one definitely not to miss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014
a very unique and interesting getaway evening. wonderful olde english feel, great restaurant on the grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murphy, TX

Old World Charm

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Easy access to Washington University and the park areas
Clean rooms, comfortable beds. We enjoyed the restaurants with the hotel. Only complaint: free continental breakfast was not substantial enough to feed a hungry teenage boy. The Market however, offered fabulous breakfast food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from galesburg

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Had a great time..staff great..answered all questions...enjoyed the pool as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Neat place to stay

Posted Jul 29, 2014
This was our first stay at this hotel. The setting is quite unique. The reception we received when we first walked in was awesome. The receptionist was very polite and friendly. She was knowledgeable about the hotel and the surrounding area. The continental breakfast was better here than at most hotels we've stayed in. A good variety of food, well stocked and rotated so that you're not eating 2 hour old food... They room was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. They also offer underground garage parking. An awesome option to have... I would highly recommend this place to anyone who's visiting St. Louis or just driving through the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edwardsville, IL

Cheshire Get Away for 50th Birthday

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Decor
Cons: Longer breakfast.
Location: Forest Park, Wash University.
Reasonable price an love the decor. Recommend this hotel at 3/5. Quaint and romantic. Great location. Fox and Hound Bar is a pub setting. Great for drinks. They rent bikes! Usually the breakfast is great. But this last visit they ran out of food. Picked over by 9:30am. I hate to mention the bathroom light. But for people who want a dark room...the bathroom light is on a timer. Stays on for a set period of time and no way to turn it off. The door has frosted glass. No there is no way to darken the room. The light will turn off after 5 minutes or so....but if you are a light sleeper. This hotel is not for you.