Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Yes, there's a hotel back there!!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
This hotel is located in seclusion due to it's neighboring property being very over grown and looking deserted. The pictures on their website are accurate however, it's not located where one would expect. It's an older hotel with older accomodations while still being very clean with a friendly staff. The breakfast was a typical continental and the area was very clean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Fantastic place to stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Offset from main street, quiet, comfortable close to everything you need. Room was clean, continental breakfast was well above average, pool was clean, this was a great value for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey Shore

Convenient location

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Very helpful staff. Able to get me in for an early check in on a very busy weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a visit to Richmond.

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Perfect hotel and only 10 to 15 minutes from Carytown, Museum of Fine Arts, Monument Avenue and downtown Richhmond. Large clean room with a very comfortable bed and pillows. Quiet area and quiet hotel. Had two very good breakfasts - they changed the two hot dishes each day.We stayed for 2 nights and missed staying for more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanna from Maryland

Nice, quiet hotel.

Posted May 28, 2014
Location: Enjoyed visiting the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens - the butterfly house was a wonderful experience. Also enjoyed the Canal Walk and eating downtown.
We had an overall positive experience staying at this hotel. Our room, though it was just one king size bed, was HUGE. Not sure why it was that size, but we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed 2 nights and had no troubles at all - it was not too far outside of the city and it was tucked back in so it was quiet. Also enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. It had waffles, eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, yogurt, bagels, cereal, etc. Nice variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by linda from minnesota

Richmond

Posted May 23, 2014
The building is old but well maintained. Beautiful hotel and quiet and the staff friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bill from cincinnati

A little dated but no complaints

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: comfortable room, good breakfast
Cons: needs some remodeling
this hotel could use a facelift but despite that it's a very solid hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MizLiz from Massachusetts

Good value

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Location and room
The room was nice and large. Liked the design of the hotel. Very clean. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimmy from Providence, RI

An Overall Pleasant Experience

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Cons: It would be nice if they refined their heating system so that it would turn off after reaching a certain temperature, but this was not a huge deal.
Location: The hotel is just a fifteen minute drive into downtown Richmond and the wonderful Carytown, as well as the beautiful James River Park area.
Our party of four enjoyed two comfortable queen beds in a spacious room. The lighting, heating, and other amenities, such as the television, microwave, and fridge, were all adequate for our needs. The bathroom contained a toilet and shower, with a sink just outside the bathroom door, which was convenient in expediting our four morning routines. The shower had sufficient water pressure, and the bathroom was very clean and well maintained. There was a small leak in our shower, but we alerted the staff and they corrected the problem within a half hour. The staff members in general were all pleasant and helpful. The exercise room had three relatively outdated cardio machines, but they worked well enough, especially for the degree of exercise one would want while on vacation. The complimentary breakfast was delightful; coffee, milk, juices, cereal, eggs, biscuits, bagels, yogurt, and fruit were available daily, with other variations in the menu depending on the day. This was certainly an asset to fueling our squad of poor college students for a day of spring break fun. As it was winter, we did not have an opportunity to check out the pool, and we also never had a chance to try out the bar, but we appreciated those options. If you're looking for an affordable motel with all of your needs and a few luxuries, consider The Best Western Plus Governor's Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good stay

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Cons: the H/AC was very noisy.
Location: sports event
Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was accommodating.