Ratings based on 523 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from white plains ny

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Cons: The fitness facility and restaurant
The hotel is dated and tired. front desk staff were cold and not friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Convenient location but that's about it.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Almost nothing, especially when compared to other places.
Cons: Almost everything about the physical condition of the rooms.
Location: Plenty of restaurants nearby, but Richmond generally shuts down at Sunset.
Good location, but little else. Our room, which was on the 10th street side of the hotel, was very noisy throughout the night and keeping the windows closed didn't help much. The room, while reasonably clear, was otherwise unpleasant. The lights were too bright, the walls were bare, which lent a real Spartan feel to the room. It appeared that there had been a fairly recent attempt to modernize the room, but the net result was an odd configuration of heating units and wires. Several fixtures and pieces of furniture were remnants of the previous d├ęcor. Finally, neither of the TV's worked very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, Virginia

Great location and price.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location was ideal for my planned sightseeing. The room was huge, I'm talking a few hundred square feet.
Cons: Dated feel, but seems to be well maintained. The elevators are tiny.
Location: Central location. Ten to fifteen minute walk to all the hot spots of the city, Shockoe, Canal Walk, Civil War Museum at Tredegar.
I was traveling to Richmond to attend a concert and to do a bit of sightseeing. I'd never been to Richmond prior to this visit. I had planned out what I wanted to see and chose my hotel accordingly. Price was of course something I considered. The hotel was right across from the State Capitol and an easy walk to the River, the Canal Walk and all the other hot spots of central Richmond. Parking is valet only, which was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Fantastic staff. Wonderful room. No complaints at all !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Great view!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Great stay & surprised by the size of the room. Overlooked the capital.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Good location,great size & service, cld be cleaner

Posted Aug 7, 2014
The guys at front desk were really nice, the hotel is very close to government offices, nice restaurants within walking distance, close to VCU. The suite was huge, I loved that. They need to improve their cleaning. Strikes by the toilet looked like bleach had hit the wall or urine that was not properly cleaned. My son was playing on the floor with dark khakis and they turned brown. The cleanliness was bad enough that it makes it lose 2 stars, if not, it would be a 5 star based on location, price and size. No parking though. Valet $15/day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Return visit. Hotel has been upgraded.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Better gym.
Great location. Friendly staff. Rooms have been updated and are more modern since my last visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

A very strange place indeed...

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, great location. Might be a good place for a family looking to stay all together close in to the historic sites.
Cons: Everything inside the front door.
The hotel is centrally located and the staff is warm and helpful. My issue with this place is that although the outside of the building is a nicely restored historic structure, the inside leaves a LOT to be desired. The lobby smells bad, as do the tiny elevators and decrepit corridors. The room was very large and plenty clean, but all the finishes are outdated and the lighting is awful. It feels as if you've entered a cheaply furnished rental apartment. It's just way too weird a place for me. There are way better hotels for business travelers at the same price point.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

So quiet, nobody around

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Character and location
Location: The working Capitol building opposite is full of history and offers free tours. Good restaurants a few blocks away.
My wife and I like older hotels but often have an issue because of the size of the rooms - normally very small. That is where this hotel wins, an old hotel with large rooms but a very small elevator. When we were there the whole of Richmond seemed to have taken the time off, the place was empty - I guess because of school holidays. The hotel is old with a great deal of character and I believe is a listed building, hence they can't do much about the size of the elevators, don't let this put you off, the staff are happy to bring your luggage up rather than you struggle to get you and it in the elevator. The staff were great and could not do enough for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
While its not a modern or hip hotel, it still has a very nice old world charm along with some updated amenities. If you're lucky you'll get the view of the Virginia state capital and its gorgeous grounds. Only valet parking and you or the hotel needs to call for a taxi. Very close to many fun & cultural activities. All staff was very pleasant.