Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great stay every time 4 times now

Posted Jul 12, 2014
I have had busines in the Richmond area frequently. I have stayed at the Microtel a total of four times now and have had a wonderful experience every time. The raits are good and the rooms are clean and stocked. Great staff with easy check in and out. Never had a complaint to pass on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Damp Room.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Employees were polite.
The room was damp. After reporting the AC to Mgt, they worked on the unit, but did not move me to a dry room. Even after swapping out the unit, they did not set the new unit to a setting that would correct the dampness. I worked all day and returned to a still damp room. The breakfast room has only three tables and I never saw one vacant in the two days I was in town. The breakfast counter is very small and selection of items is very limited. You have to stand in line for a coffee and they pull the decanters shaprply at the end of breakfast hour. The bathroom in my room had other peoples' hair (at least two other people) on the sink, floor, and tub. Cleaning looked cursory at best. Amenities were scarce and the general condition of the hotel was marginal, if that. The only positive attribute, was that the employees were pleasant to deal with. However, I will only stay there again if every other hotel in town is full. I cannot imagine how they got a rating in the 3s.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by s and j from martinsburg wv

Great staff, old building

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Cons: the whole hotel could use some TLC, and the wi-fi could be better - got a stronger signal from the hotel next door.
we were booked in a single queen bed room for our 1st night. the room was tiny, with no microwave, fridge, or in room coffee. asked the desk staff for an upgrade and they were very helpful and accomodating. we were given a suite with all the missing features, but bad wi-fi access. I would stay here again, but not in the tiny room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Green Bay

Nice hotel close to the airport

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: It was cheap and close to the airport. Big enough for what I needed
Cons: nothing
Location: The airport was 2 miles away.
The front desk lady was very pleasant. The room was nice enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic

Posted May 28, 2014
Basic overnight. Oops! Please add a bit more to your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room was clean but small

Posted May 27, 2014
Casey was awesome she went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from PA

OK price for OK hotel

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Clean, convenient. I'd recommend it, but without enthusiasm.
Cons: Friendlier, more welcoming. Put a chair in the room.
Location: Richmond airport.
You kind of get the feeling that the hotel expects its guests to be not very nice. There are some rather overtly bossy signs prominently displayed which make you feel kind of unwelcome. The staff were polite but brusque. No complaints about cleanliness. Breakfast isn't bad. Just a feeling of not being all that welcome. Other budget hotels (e.g. Red Roof) manage to make you feel welcome.
2 out of 5
by NW from Washington, DC

Nice front desk staff.

Posted May 11, 2014
Bathroom and room didn't feel clean. Get what you pay for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs some work.

Posted May 1, 2014
Close to airport, racetrack, and other attractions. Clean room, mini-fridge, tv, and the bed was sort of comfy. Sink had warm and hot water, shower was terrible and barely worked. I would've slept better but the paper thin walls and neighbors who partied loudly until 5 am made it a rough night. I'd pay more to stay somewhere else. And microtel, what's with all of the mirrors?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but needs work.

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Room small so not room to open flat 2 suitcases. Room is in need of several small repairs. No bedside lights but a fluorescent light on ceiling. TV reception was weak on many channels.desk clerks nice but not very professional looking at all.