Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island New York

Housekeeping needs training

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Close to my destination
Cons: Proper housekeeping and comfortable linens can go a long way to overlooking other disappointing conditions
Very pleasant staff and willing to help . The bathroom had dirty toothpaste covered glasses and hair stuck to the shower walls as though someone had shaved and tapped the razor on it. Towels were old and scratchy.. Elevators (the ones that did work ) had small sticker stating " push hard for 1st floor " I didn't have my glasses on and thought the elevator was stuck. The surface around the indoor pool was crumbling and dangerous since the lights were very dim. Hot tub was not heated .. Breakfast 6:30-9:00 but no coffee by 8AM.I had to ride elevator with the exterminator who was carrying bug sprayers .( not a pleasant ride) To their credit a large landscaping crew was busy making the outside more appealing. We had pre-paid but chose to check-out at 4pm rather then stay till morning.. .The website photos do not reflect the true conditions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

look for another hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: the front desk staff
Cons: def.stay at courtyard marriott down the road next time
Location: we spent most of the time out and about .lots of stors and food places right down the road
the pics of the hotel looks alot cleaner and nicer then the actual hotel.very dissappointed.the room had a terriable oder and tub had black mold.the hot tub in the pool area was ice cold,the restaurent and bar were both closedThe only thing that was pleasent was the woman at the front desk and the young gentlemen
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay for one night only...

Posted Jul 21, 2014
We were traveling through town and needed a place to sleep. We looked for a hotel with a reasonable price and thought this would be okay. The room was clean enough, the bedsheets were clean and soft, but the bed itself was very lumpy and uncomfortable. Our backs hurt so bad all night long. So, I didn't get a very good night's sleep and that was all I really wanted. There was mold and mildew in the bathroom and the glasses had not been cleaned very well. The tv was old and picture was rather grainy. I could tell at one time this hotel was a nice one, but has deteriorated somewhat. It was good enough for one night, but I wouldn't go there again on my way through. The desk clerk was very nice and helpful, but he'd only been there for a couple of days.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Hanging by a thread

Posted Jul 19, 2014
There is no working a/c bottom floor lobby, halls, and restaurant. Continental breakfast which I would not eat, was in the hot not opened for business restaurant and bar area. Had to be moved rooms two times. First room had water soaked carpet behind the bathroom. Next room the a/c barely worked. Last room was okay. Grass was overgrown and not maintained. Very few lights worked outside. Internet was not password protected. Ice machine was broken. One elevator was broken. Hot tub was broken. This hotel is hanging by a thread to stay opened and definitely not a three star hotel. Very depressing and stressful stay. Unfortunately when you book through expedia you do not get a refund at the hotel so I was stuck with it for two days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Decent for the price

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: AC in the hallways
Location: Located next to tons of shopping and dining
Even though the hotel was in the process of renovation it was an ok place. The staff is friendly. When the reno is complete it has the potential to be a great hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Reasonably priced and clean accomadations..

Posted Jun 25, 2014
I was initially concerned about booking a room at this hotel because when I arrived several guests were complaining to the front desk about their rooms. However I checked and had no major complaints about my room. The hotel is just old...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Wedding In Richmond

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: there was no air conditioning, looked as though gangs were outside of the hotel, elevator didn't work.... HORRIBLE RUN AWAY.
Location: nothing worthwhile.
We didn't even stay here.. walked in to check in.. did not feel safe at all and so we got a room at the Marriott instead.... TERRIBLE experience and I would like a refund for how incredible horrible and unsafe the experience was.... Expedia should NOT be supporting this location.
2 out of 5
by Roger

Big Disappointment

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Cons: Everything.
Hotel was in disrepair. Elevator not working. Continental breakfast very minimal. Grand is not the word this hotel's name.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Excellent, courteous staff BUT....

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Staff and rooms
Cons: Keep the staff, throw out the rest.
Location: good location\
This hotel did not live up to my expectations. Ice machines did not work. A/C did not work in dining area. None of the corridors appeared to have A/C. Room was good and comfortable. All in all, this hotel appeared to be on the verge of closing down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smells bad ,old tv's , small rooms the list goes o

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Do not be fooled by the pics will never stay there again they drafted $50 deposit from my debit said it would be returned at check out still haven't gotten it