Ratings based on 388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Good Enough

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive and close to the event that we were participating in
Cons: The hotel could use some cosmetic updates
Location: The hotel is just outside of downtown Richmond. It's close to a Target, Food Lion, and several chain restaurants.
We stayed in Richmond for a half marathon that we were running in. Most of the other hotels in the area were sold out and we randomly found this one and it had a special deal going on. The hotel was just what we needed for the night, a clean room with a comfy bed. Nothing fancy- though you could tell that it probably was at one point.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Disappointing Hotel Stay

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel has potential but needs much maintenance and better management.
Cons: Working ice machines Working elevators
We were very disappointed with our stay. There was only one working ice machine in the kitchen and the hotel staff had to get the ice for me. The hot tub was out of service and the pool was not heated. Half the elevators did not work. The included breakfast was skimpy and not replenished more than an hour before the end of breakfast hours. Also, there was not enough toilet paper in the room when we arrived and we had to go down to the desk to get more. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom M

Old, dirty and cheap

Posted Nov 16, 2014
There were bugs in our room, the "great" indoor pool was freezing, dirty and run down. The hot tub broken, pictures fallen off walls in hallway. Breakfast: not many options, lots were empty, room was dark and cold and dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Newport News

Creepy

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Very nice staff and room was clean
Cons: More lights and cameras
Location: Plenty of stores to shop and places to eat
Guest with pets stay on the sixth floor. That section of the hotel is under renovation. No one was in this section of the hotel. The lights in the parking lot were off, the entrance was not secure, one elevator was working and the hallway lights were off. The staff was very nice about changing my location per my request. I was relocated on the fifth floor in the section where the check-in deck is. However, I was still on the floor alone. Only half the hallway lights were on and only one of the three elevators was working. Creepy!!! When I took my dogs outside to potty, finding grass was a challenge. Upon my request, the staff called my room to ensure I was secure in my room.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom northern virginia

Hotel not worth the money; stay somewhere else.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Huge hotel but mostly empty. Old, dirty decor, spots on carpet, etc. Room seemed clean but old. The bed had the smallest pillows I have ever seen. No frig, no supplies in bathroom except a tiny bar of soap, and toilet paper roll just sitting on counter. "Breakfast" in morning offered a few stale bagels and an empty, cold coffee pot. Only upside - staff was nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing
Arrive late, front desk could not find reservation. After ½ hour they finally did. The hotel is terrible. Spent one night out of the seven I was booked for. Will never go back. The rooms and hotel do NOT look like they do online in the ad. Beware!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MD

Didn't even stay an hour

Posted Nov 10, 2014
The room was dirty, hair on the bathroom floor, stained carpeting, just gross. The staff couldn't care less, no apology or anything. Didn't stay, went elsewhere.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent enough "budget" hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2014
For those looking for a cheap hotel that allows pets be prepared to pay another $50 for your pet. Makes a budget price not so budget.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Upgrade it. Mirror had black spots. Chairs had dark dirty spots. Carpet had worn dirty spots.
Parking was good. It took a long time to get checked out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

With "Grand" in the name, its not what I expected

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Parking. It looked like I was the only person staying there, so I had my pick of spaces. Should have been a sign.
Cons: Refrigerators in the rooms and more decent TV stations.
Location: Location was great. Bowling alley across the street and a lot of restaurants near by.
First off, there is no refrigerator in the room. While it was not listed in the room amenities, I have stayed in hotels worse than this one and they had one. So there was nowhere to keep my beer cold. Yes, I could go to the ice machine and fill up the sink with beer and ice. Guess what, they had two ice machines and neither one worked. Second, you do not have a lot of choices when it comes to TV stations, maybe 25 channels. Two of which were the same station, just on different channels. It has the NFL Network, but no ESPN. Therefore, there was Monday night football for me. Oh well, that didn’t matter. It’s not like I had cold beer to enjoy while watching the game. My room was at the end of the hall and there were several lights out in the hallway. I felt like I had just checked into the Hotel California and was wondering if I would be able to check out. Except for the refrigerator and TV channels, the room was okay. If they had these two things, I would have given it 3 stars.