Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Cons: The hotel could be improved with new carpeting, and to make sure that each room had a lamp on the night stand.
I was very disappointed in this hotel. We were in the handicapped room, because there was no stair and I didn't want my mother to have to walk up the steps to the second floor. I had requested a non-smoking room and the staffed claimed it was non-smoking, but the room had a strong odor and smelled like it had been a smoking room. The odor did not dissipate when the air conditioner was on. There was a huge tear in the carpet in the room. There was a stain on the lampshade. There was no lamp on the night stand between the two beds and when I asked the man at the desk to get me one, he looked in a storeroom and couldn't find one. The furniture had big scratches on it. There was also no welcome book, Bible or notepad. I am sorry that I disregarded the reviews that had read before booking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Parking was easy.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms, and friendlier staff.
Location: Ruby Tuesday's, Wendys and a car wash were nearby.
The outside of the building was nice enough; however, the inside entryway was painted in bright, tacky colors (and there was obviously a gap in the paint job...say 3-4 inches along the bottom of the walls)...no elevator to get up to the second floor's rooms, but more importantly the room had an obvious cut out spot in the rug as I entered the room (a piece 4 inches by 8 inches section loose/replaced), and the carpet had numerous stains in it...the room also had numerous places with chalk/dry wall crumbled on the rug. The bathroom's toilet looked unsanitized; however, the bathtub looked cleaned (but I was afraid to use it since I had already noticed the toilet seat was dirty). Positives: the bathroom was large, and the bathroom supplies were all there, and the AC worked well. The old fashioned tv's cable worked fine too, as well as the wi-fi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Close to my event

Posted Jul 21, 2014
A lot of work is needed at the hotel. Carpets are in bad condition. Rooms smell badly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from az

Not a nice hotel!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The bed wasn't bad but I wouldn't of wanted to sleep on it for too long.
Cons: The whole hotel. Breakfast should run to 10 it closes at 9 sharp!
Location: It was in a good location for all the areas of Richmond, the reason we stayed there.
When I walk into a hotel room, I look around and check to see if it is clean! Our first room had dog remains on the floor so we were given another room. No apologies or excuses, nothing! Second room was ok, you can tell they are working on the hotel but carpet have paint all over them and just a very old building!
1 out of 5
by robert from selden ny

Renovation

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Was awoke to renovation noise at 7:45 am..went to the breakfast..dining room full of construction workers eating complementary meal..back to room and hammering..banging..workmen yelling in spanish...a horiable time in my traveling emergency..will try other service if the neef applys...I was so dissapointed..just wanted to relax..but was not to be...would love a refund
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angel from Cincinnati, OH

Good people running the hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The service was great!
While the service was excellent, the hotel itself was under a lot of rennovation. At times this was annoying. Many things need repaired. But will be a great hotel after the work is completed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in midst of remodel - had to dodge ladder.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: convenient to my son's home.
Location: several restaurants near.
Will be nice when finished, except yellow is a bit bright! Well past time to replace moldy shower curtain in room 203. Also, staff did not monitor handicap parking spaces and 3 of the nights a car was parked illegally and I was not able to use handicap space.
2 out of 5
by dsgt from North Carolina

You get what you pay for but...

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The only thing is that it was close to the event that we were attending.
Cons: Cultural differences in what is considered etiquette. Please knock before you enter someone's room, and don't take items unless the room is vacated.
Location: Location is in a commercial district of strip malls and franchised businesses within 2 to 3 miles. Just outside of Richmond. Not a bad place.
In looking at the other reviews posted for this site, some facets can be confirmed and some of the complaints can be debunked, the "missing coffee pot" as far as I can tell results in that the coffee maker is a single cup maker with the filter tray in the coffee package. The hot water issue as discovered by my son was actually a study in playing around with the dial to get the hot water to come out more than the cold. Yes, the facility is actually attempting to renovate and update but it stops there, if it wasn't for that, the score would actually be a "1". For one, during renovation, no one at the end of the day decides to clean up the dust that accumulates on the outside door handles or the floor edges along the hallway. Next, and please take this as a serious caveat, if you are staying multiple nights, take EVERYTHING with you. I had taken everything (I am a police officer and did not want to leave my duty weapon and badge in the room) that morning and left a pair of shorts on the hook in the bathroom inadvertently. When I came back that evening they were gone, maybe assumed that I had vacated the room. I did not ask the front desk to see if they had them because I know no one would admit that they did. Then around 10:30 PM on the last night, staff just took it upon themselves to use the master key and open the door to ask if we asked for pillows. No knock to announce, just opened the door uninvited. To me not a very safe place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Everything fine but the shower

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
My room was pretty nice but the shower was broken. Most of the water kept coming out of the faucet and almost none out of the shower head. I told the woman at the desk as I was leaving. She wrote it down but offered no sympathy or discount. Perhaps showers aren't important to her.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Shauna from Salt Lake

Getting a new coat of paint

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although the lobby was being painted during my stay and it was a bit torn apart, I was happy with the service and would stay there again. Good pillows.