Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in historic Richmond

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Lovely lobby and rooms. Close to restaurants and shopping.
Cons: Need thicker windows to keep out street noise (especially garbage trucks beeping at 4 am.).
Location: Great location near restaurants and shopping.
The bed and pillows were hard and the street noise was loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Cons: Took about 15 minutes to get car from valet parking, and wish it could have been quicker.
Location: Excellent location. Easy to walk to government buildings, shops, variety of restaurants.
Very peaceful and pleasant setting. We heard no noise from other rooms or lobby. Staff were friendly and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time and stay

Posted Jan 15, 2015
This was a great place to stay. Clean room, pleasant staff great location. We had a great visit and even met an undisclosed TV star in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlottesville, VA

Fabulous stay

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Situated right near the great museums and historic districts, this is the place to stay in Richmond. The room was lovely, comfortable, and clean as a whistle. I'll stay there whenever I go to Richmond.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Stayed for one night with my girlfriend. Great location to restaurants and bars downtown. Very clean. Very cool older hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia Beach

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Great hotel to stay in, cozy, accommodating for our dogs and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great mid-trip stop!

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Excellent stop over from Massachusetts to Savannah east coast run. Great food, intimate small bar. Staff most helpful and friendly. A little treasure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington, VA

Gracious Staff and Beautiful Room

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
We arrived at the Berkley Hotel around 9:00 and were greeted warmly at the desk. The registration lady welcomed us and gave us our room keys and direction on how to connect to the internet. She told us to call with any requests. We rode the elevator upstairs to our large beautiful room which was tastefully appointed with two double beds and a couch and chair arranged for television viewing. The room and bathroom were immaculate with toiletries, towels, hair dryers, bathrobes and luggage racks. There was coffee for morning wake-up. In short it was a five-star experience. Everyone from the cleaning staff to the registration staff could not have been nicer. In fact we said, "There's nothing like being in the South!"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Nice older hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff...large rooms...comfy beds and linens....nice furnishings
Cons: Lighting in room
Location: Went to The Tobacco Company restaurant two nights for dinner. LOVED this place! Fantastic steaks and great service.
I really enjoyed my stay. Loved my large, clean room. Bedding was fabulous! Only room complaint is the lighting...it's very dark and the three lamps provided didn't cut it. Couldn't even use the closet b/c it was too dark to see inside my suitcase! Had breakfast all three days in the restaurant and they were all delicious. On the first night, I was awoken at 3 am by a very loud sound...I thought it was a train. It continued and continued. I finally looked outside and saw a man blowing leaves in the Bank of America parking lot. I was FURIOUS! I called the front desk and they said they would look into it, but didn't hear anything further. The next two nights I was awoken by the beeping sound of trash collector trucks. Both times were around 5 am. As far as I am concerned, this is illegal (where I live they cannot do this until 7am because of a noise ordinances). I alerted the front desk and they said this has happened before and they have complained, but to no avail. The owners/management MUST take care of this problem...even if it involves calling the police. This is UNACCEPTABLE and would keep me from coming back. And they need to alert the BOA management office about the leaf blowing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Comfortable Downtown Hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Very relaxing stay after a long drive. Nice bar and dining room. Good food and service. Availability of room service a nice touch that coupled with an attentive staff gave the feeling of a bygone era.