Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frances from Liverpool, UK

Hotel with a story to tell.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: What we liked about this hotel was the staff, the location, the hospitality and its value fo money.
Cons: The sauna could be opened earlier.
My partner and I stayed at the Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars in Riga. We were given a very warm welcome and quickly came to realise that the hotel's aim was to be like a home from home. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were extremely pleasant and happy to chat and answer questions. Added to this was the provision of tea and coffee all day long, as well as fresh fruit, an afternoon snack and an evening meal - at no extra charge. I found it to be a very relaxing stay. The hotel is conveniently situated about 10 minutes walk across a park to the Old Town. During our stay we visited the Russian Orthodox Cathedral, which is in the park and the Jewish Museum which is just around the corner from the hotel. There is a lot to see and this hotel was a convenient place to stay whilst we explored the lovely city of Riga. The bed was very comfortable, the room was fine - not too hot - not too cold, and we slept very soundly. A refurbishment of the Reception and lounge/dining area had started on the day we left and as my only criticism would have been that some items of the furniture here could do with a make over, now that I know it's being done, I have no criticisms at all. We would recommend it and would be more than happy to stay there again. The hotel building has an interesting story behind it of a family's escape during WW2, buried treasure and their eventual return to reclaim what was theirs. Go there and read about it yourself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Anne from Yorkshire

Great hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent stay at Clarions Hotel and would definitely recommend. Lovely touch,Waffles in afternoon and unlimited tea and coffee together with fruit. Also free buffet supper was delicious with choice of soup, salad and hot meal.Only negative comment would be the temperature of the food could have been hotter. Overall a very,pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Great Hotel and surroundings.

Posted Oct 3, 2012
This is my first stay at this hotel but it won't be my last. Just returned home after spending 5 nights in Riga at this superb hotel. Been visiting Riga since 2005 but always stayed in the old town before. This hotel is suitable for everyone,business, couples,family, staying alone, no matter what group you are in a warm welcome awaits you at the Hotel Valdemars Firstly the reception staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable nothing too much trouble wether it be restaurants sightseeing or taxi's . House keeping is first class. The breakfast and evening meals are superb, great value for your money. All in all a very friendly hotel for everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from St Albans, UK

Faultless

Posted Jun 13, 2011
Ideal location, 5 min walk to City Park and 10 mins to Riga Centre. Had a superior room which was big, clean and comfortable. Free tea, coffee, fruit and cakes during the day and included breakfast/dinner buffets were excellent. Friendly staff and nice bar area outside for a quiet drink. Should be a 4 star hotel, not 3 - If you're thinking of visiting Riga, stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Singapore

In the heart of Riga

Posted Jun 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
Great value for money. The breakfast buffet, dinner buffet and free internet are much appreciated and are the key factors for my coming back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Too good to be true - but it is

Posted Nov 4, 2010
Stayed here with a group of girlfriends to celebrate a birthday. Absolutely unbelievable hotel, we didn't dare believe it was true until we checked out. Clean, stylish, close to town (10 minutes walk through parks), friendly and cheap, with free use of jacuzzi and steam room. Oh and free wifi! We arrived thinking we had a great deal for bed and breakfast, only to discover that dinner is also included! This hotel just kept getting better. The staff could not be more helpful, with the receptionists organising a birthday cake for us and even helping us to arrange treatments at a local spa. The room is more than comfortable, with a decent hair-dryer in the room (a must for us girls). Blissfully quiet at night. I really don't think I could recommend this place strongly enough. I would definitely stay here again, if I can get a reservation because this place is likely to be seriously popular!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from coventry

Riga's reet good

Posted Nov 16, 2009
Smashing Scandinavian-style hotel only 10 minutes walk from the Old Town. Friendly staff. I look forward to returning and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Aberystwyth UK

Excellent value, service and location

Posted Sep 30, 2009
Very well run hotel with great touches of care and attention. Free 24 hour coffee & tea avalable in reception, games and books, hot-tub, small gym and a fantastic FREE homestyle cooked buffet every night! I feel homesick just writing about it. Right in the heart of the "embassy district" and a 10 minute walk to the old town. I will definetly go back to the Clarion when in Riga.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mooresville

Excellent family-owned hotel just outside Old Town

Posted Sep 23, 2009 on Hotels.com
This hotel is perfect for a visit to Riga. The location is just outside Old Town but is right on all the bus lines making it easy to get to/from the airport without taking an expensive taxi or the Air Baltic van. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The hotel is owned and operated by a family that has owned the building for nearly a century. Very nicely decorated rooms. Only complaint is there isn't a clock in the room so bring your own if you don't want to depend on a wake-up call. Also, if you want a wash cloth (for your face) bring your own, as well as hand lotion. Hotel offers complimentary coffee/tea all day (including take-away cups) but seemed to overlook refilling the pots and creamer when empty. Breakfast and dinner were tasty. If checking out early let reception know the night before. They prepared a breakfast box for us which was appreciated. Hotel also offers a nice workout facility, jacuzzi and a sauna (not working when we were there) for guests. This was a great hotel for exploring the city, especially the nearby Art Nouveau district.