Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by VK from New York

Wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Cons: Nothing, it's really great.
This hotel exceeded every expectation. It's located in a great neighborhood, clean, the room are spacious. I would highly recommend it. We traveled with 2 little kids, and there is a park and a playground right next to the hotel, which was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caroline from Cheshire

Very good hotel with excellent breakfast.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay here, lovely large room with sofa and chairs although a little disappointing that it only had velux windows as we were on the top floor and could not see any view. Staff very pleasant and helpful. A very good choice on the breakfast buffet. Hotel is on airport express route so we were dropped outside the hotel and collected from there on the way back to the airport - excellent service for 5 euros per person each way and helpful drivers. Hotel 10-15 minutes away from the old town lovely walk across 2 parks and along the canal. We ate the 3 nights we were there at the Frying Frog - same street just further along; excellent, really good value food and friendly service. In all a very enjoyable city break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from England

Very good hotel - we would go back there

Posted Jan 8, 2014
We stayed at the Monika over the 2014 New Year. The hotel is an easy stroll through a very pretty park to the Old City and just around the corner from the Art Noveau buildings. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was terrific. The strange thing was the absence of any 'charicter' to the hotel. I cannot put it any better. Dont be put off just expect a very high quality entirley functional hotel. Sort of C Class Mercedes of hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ursula from Baden

everything allright

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: all
Cons: nothing
Location: only stayed there for one night, got around in the city by taxi. Things to do nearby: see café-recommendation above.
nothing to complain about - has all what it takes for a good business hotel. Wifi was free and good ! I will stay again in this hotel. A tip: visit the café just across the street "the double coffee" - excellent food and large selection of food, deserts, coffee specialities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Spacious Room, Great Breakfast

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: Very spacious rooms. Hotel was very clean. Buffet breakfast - European style - featuring warm and cold dishes was much better than expected.
Cons: The entry vestibule, immediate lobby could be dressed up a bit more, made more cozy and inviting. Not bad, just not GREAT.
Location: 10 mins or less walking to Old Riga. The walk is beautiful past the parks and Embassies. Surrounded by good cafe's and a grocery store.
The Monika Centrum Hotel in Riga, Latvia is a terrific value for money. The location is really excellent, sitting adjacent Embassy Row. The hotel itself is not stunningly beautiful, but it does have architectural character that fits in well with the absolutely beautiful embassy buildings that are visible across the street. The hotel is located in a relatively quiet location, even while it sits on a major thruway and is still less than a 10 min walk to Old Riga. The hotel is surrounded by good cafe's and even a grocery store for supplies. The morning complimentary breakfast was a very nice (much better than average surprise) featuring both warm and cold selections. The tables are adorned with white linen and the staff attentive but not invasive. The rooms were quite spacious with comfortable desk seating area and a very clean modern bathroom. The mattress was quite firm, which for some will be welcomed and others, not so much. Facilities in the hotel were also good with a more than adequate work out room, spa and sauna. All were impeccably clean. This is NOT a 5 STAR unforgettable hotel. It is a very solid 3.5 to 4 star hotel that provides more than you would expect for the very reasonable rates. The hotel and the rooms were very clean and the staff was very good, but not Ritz exceptional. I would not hesitate to stay here again on future visits to Riga.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

nice but could be nicer

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location and the building is great yet the room is cluttered with oversized furniture and outdated upholstery is tacky. I stayed in a suite, yet the floor plan of the room made absolutely no sense. The floor levels of the rooms were different and it was quite an effort to use the step to the inner room. The shower was too small for a suite room, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Riga Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Located in the Art Nouveau district of Riga, hotel is 5-10 pleasant walk through parks to the old city. Efficient staff. Good and typical room for this type of hotel, including reasonably sized and with decent bathroom. Internet worked fine. Fairly diverse and large buffet breakfast options. Will note the bed are extremely firm, which is great if you like that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Can from Los Angeles

Nice hotel next toark and nice restaurants

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: Close to everywhere
The staff were very helpfull with a big smile on their face and Perfect English.Rooms are so big and comfortable.They don't have quen or King bed but 2 twin bed and bath tub little slippery tub Mat is needed,Please beware of fridge they charged 3 Lat = $ 6 for small bottle of water :(((( I strongly recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jodi from Kentucky

Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
I wish I could stay there again this August, but it is fully booked.