Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Greg from Dublin

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
When checking in we were informed that all guests needed a form of id, which is fine but as we did not know this it couldn't be blamed on the hotel. This should have been made clear on the booking though! What I found very wrong was the way we were spoken to when being told about this and the looks that my partner who was celebrating her birthday was given. Secondly we opted for the hotel car park, this is a good distance from the hotel and you are expected to drive your car to it based on a tourist map. The directions we were given brought us into a pedestrian zone and after about an hour and driving around the city we just left the car in another car park closer to the hotel. The rooms were nice and comfortable but very noisy due to the location. Nothing about this hotel is 5 star and I wouldn't waste my money on it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Abe from UK

1 night stay. Great service and comfort

Posted May 28, 2014
We stayed one night in Riga with our 1 year old son as a stopgap from elsewhere in the country. Arriving travel weary at around 1000 am the staff let us check in well before time, found us a room straight away and got everything set up for our tired little boy. The room was comfortable and clean. The room was more basic then we have been used to at the advertised standard but the bathroom was well equipped which made up for any perceived shortfall. We ate at the restaurant through convenience but were both extremely happy with the choice. The setting is fantastic and the food was excellent. Highly recommended on the basis of high quality and good value. In summary a really pleasant stay in a lovely hotel with excellent decor, helpful staff and a top notch restaurant to boot. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brendan from Ireland

Excellent location

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Cons: Tea and coffee in rooms.
Excellent location, excellent food, excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean from UK

Riga Hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff and great location
Cons: Nothing needs improving
Location: Situated in the heart of the old town it is very easy to walk to the river or view the old buildings, churches and battlements.
Very friendly and helpful staff, made the stay very relaxing and easy. Situated in the heart of the Old City, is ideal for viewing Riga.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rita from Vancouver, Canada

Downgrade, not 5 star

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Front desk staff whom treated the long distance incoming calls with rudeness and refusal to look up name, nor take a message after repeated calls.
I booked this hotel as 5 star advertised and previously awarded best hotel in 2012. The renovations are modern and lobby looks terrific, but the two rooms had dirty, stained bedspreads and carpets. One room was missing the soft tub chair. There were no coffee makers to our surprise. The standard rooms are very small, insufficient clearance between bed and writing desk. Bathroom only had one set of towels, early clean was denied after afew requests, rooms were not made up even when returning to change for dinner. My main upset was a front desk staff member would not look up my name when several calls came in from overseas. She refused to look for my reservation, told my long distance to call back another time. Several calls were made over two days and the same individual again refused each time. When my party reached me it was by another staff member whom had no trouble. This is Latvia and the official language is Latvian. Most employees appear to speak English well - why were both languages refused service on calls to hotel guests. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a wide variety. Front desk staff were smiling and courtious to me, as were porters and restaurant. Night attendant offered to provide sandwich to take along as I was departing in the middle of the night; as I checked out the tray was ready to go along with coffee and fresh fruit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Leonardo from Moscow

top hotel at the very heart of Riga

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fabulous hotel, smack in the centre of Riga. the only drawpark - no place near to park your car, so you have to drag your suitcase a couple of blocks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from London

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: Breakfast was great and cleanliness in communal areas superb!
Cons: No tea or coffee in room
Very pleasant stay booked through Expedia. I was travelling with a friend and wanted two twin beds but alas when we arrived we had one bed and a folding bed. We made a few enquiries at reception and immediately they gave us two single rooms - excellent service. My room was good though I would like to have had a kettle and coffee! Thank you for a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location, noise from surrounding restaurants and clubs at night, small but clean rooms, just OK internet connection. Good choice of hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MZ

Few days in Riga

Posted May 13, 2013
Pros: The location and staff
Cons: Sound proofing.
Excellent location in in the middle of the old town. Walking distance from all main attractions. Very friendly staff. A bit noisy during the weekend but who cares :)