Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from Vancouver Island

Great Mexican getaway

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: The general vibe, friendly, laid back, but you are aware that the management and staff are always there, working hard to make your stay a pleasant one
Cons: nothing really, in our opinion, we like it the way it is
Location: the beach is great for a stroll, though it can get busy during Mexican holidays. The main street for touristy shopping, La Pinita market days are fun
We have been to Los Cocos several times and have never been disappointed. The management and staff have always been friendly, polite, and very willing to please. They have constantly made us feel welcome, and special. The restaurants are clean, the food well prepared, tasty and the staff all do a remarkable job of keeping it clean and fresh all the time.....they work very hard at it. The main thing, simply, is that it is a Mexican resort catering to Mexican families, which is why it appeals to us. We want a spot to go where we can relax, enjoy the sun, walk the beach, and lounge around the pool, and not have to think, or bother about anything, and they do a great job of providing that. We enjoy the ambiance of Los Cocos and Rincon in general, much more than higher priced options we've tried all along the Mexican Pacific coast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nanis from los angeles

Nice and clean hotel

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Muy limpio y su comida rikisima
Pasamos Unos Dias inolvidables en familia fue muy agradable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margrit from Innisfail AB Canada

Beautiful first experience in Guayabitos, Nayarit!

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Location: Guayabitos and the next town/city La Peñita are interesting in their own way
The colourful hotel buildings reflect the culture. The neat layout really appealed to us. Can definitely recommend Los Cocos Decameron, Guayabitos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Chicago

Hotel was great (Expedia - bad experience)

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Everything the place , food, people,
Everything in hotel was great !!!! Expedia vacation package bad deal no transport from airport to hotel 1,1/2 hour , flight back goooooood deal !!!!!!!!!!!! 15 hours instead normal time 4 hours
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pasquapete from Canada

Nice relaxed place at the beach

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: relaxing, not too crowded...great beach
Cons: A La Carte- surf & turf "special" was inedible
Location: Great beach for walking..gentle waves
Good value, enjoyable stay. Good food (except a la carte), clean.Small but clean rooms with great beds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No good food,drinks to watery ,room beside of bar

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Couldn't sleep until the bar closed,bench in the beach to hard,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lori and Curtis from Ucluelet

We will be going back

Posted Dec 13, 2013
Pros: The adult pool,the staff,the beach,ala cart restaurant(la bamba room). The hotel is also very clean .The price.
Cons: nothing,as we like it just the way it is.
Location: We went on tours with Salvador who's family has a restaurant down the beach and would recommend him, had a great time. Got explore more of the area .
We knew going there it was not a 5 star and for the price it is well worth it. The staff is excellent and makes your stay very comfortable. The area is what really makes your vacation here great. Everything you want is a short walk away and the town is very quaint and your feel safe there wondering around at night. It is a quieter area so if you are looking for night life this is not the place for you. Most the tourist are older or locals. The beaches are crowded on the weekend but good during the week also the hotel has a shuttle which takes you to a quiet private beach area. We are planning on going back again for sure. We would totally recommend this hotel for people who are on a budget and like to spend more money on going out and doing things rather then on having use their funds on a 5 star.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

November 27 - 28, 2013

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I've stayed in many all inclusive hotels and this one was average in most aspects. Average food, average drinks due to low quality mixes, average service except in the dining room where it was better. Enjoyed cycling on the average bikes which need maintenance and sailing on a nice Hobie cat. Stayed two nights and the first was Mexican night where the food was limited and the music was way too loud - it made folks eat and run. The second night offered turkey dinner only in the a la carte restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Allan from B.C.

For those who don't want the big town atmosphere

Posted Dec 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Second time here and more like Mexico, people overall friendly and more laid back. If you are 4 or 5 Star person it won't be for you. Relaxed place to be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adios, Los Cocos

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Pros: The people, from the housekeeping staff to the bellhop to the staff in the Tropical and Canoa restaurants, are fantastic – always friendly and helpful
Cons: The "La Bamba" restaurant staff are disinterested and the food is lacking in quality.
Location: Beautiful location on a beach with an ocean as calm as a swimming pool
My wife and I returned to Decameron Los Cocos in Guayabitos, Mexico and stayed from November 9 – 17, 2013 and WE WILL NOT RETURN. Even though we could easily stay at a nicer, more modern resort, we continue to come to this hotel as it has become something of a family tradition. My wife and her mother were guests in the past, other members of the family have stayed there, and we had a good time there two years ago. This vacation we were blessed to have the rest of our family join us throughout the week so by the end there were about 29 of us staying at the hotel. Some family members even changed their plans to arrive a day early or stay an extra day. This is when we discovered that our loyalty and past patronage meant nothing. Unbelievably, the hotel would not extend the same on-line rates for the additional days and charged us per person (instead of per room) at a higher rate that worked out to almost 5 times as much per night!! They didn’t even charge the “rack rate” posted at the front desk but said they had to charge more because the reservations were originally made through Expedia. I still don’t understand it and we wasted hours out of our valuable vacation time arguing with them to try to work things out. They actually wanted my brother to get an extra room because his child-care plans fell through and he had to bring an additional two children. Really, they want to split up a family on vacation? How much can it cost for an infant and a 2-year old?