Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Very pretty place, relaxing, REMOTE!

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Very pretty grounds and great staff. Not a luxury environment but comfy. Be prepared for a long tough ride to the property. Some of us got ill from the drive up! My husband and I stayed with our 2 boys (11yrs and 13yrs) for four nights. We felt four nights was plenty of time, there is not a lot to do on the property once you walk thru the gardens/butterfly house. We found the "mud bath" extremely lacking. We have been to Costa Rica before and to the real thermal mud baths, so a bowl of mud under a canopy was a disappointment. The tours last 2-3 hours then you can swim in the pools which are nice and relaxing, but the boys were getting bored. If you just want to get away and chill out this is a great place. We had a good time on the zip line tour. Horse back to the waterfalls tour was great, absolutely stunning! Missed the tubing adventure because the youngest was too small to go safely. The food was good but the menu is a little limited, after four days we wanted something new. Don't, take this as a negative review! We had a good time here and thought it was a good value. Just be prepared for remote jungle and lots of chilling out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice place, but in the middle of nowhere

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Butterfly garden, spa and friendly staff.
Location: Remote, all activities center around the resort. Zip lining, horse back riding, mud baths, spa and butterfly gardens. You can walk to a nearby village
The first hint was the 20+kms of bumpy, potholed road that took us to the resort. It was remote. But on grounds the staff was great, the facilities and grounds mostly well kept and lodging/food comfortable and fresh, making our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The activities were varied and the blue river unusual and lovely. We were disappointed that the hiking was minimal and that the Rincon volcano park was really an 1.5 hour drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, Costa Rica

A nice place to relax!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
This is a beautiful property, the rooms are huge and its very close to the river, walking distance. It also has beautiful walking trails and a butterfly garden, the food is awesome and the price is fair!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Staff!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The staff is excellent!
Cons: The whole place needs work! Each room should have a phone so that you can at least call the front desk, the pools need to be cleaned and fixed up..etc
The staff at the hotel is excellent and very helpful! The waiters at the restaurant are very pleasant, the food is good and your food comes pretty quick. The tours are great and so much fun but I wish that had more tours. The ride from the LIR airport is about 2 hours because the roads aren't the greatest, very bumpy but the view on the way to the hotel is amazing. The rooms are big but the pillow cases and comforters looked dirty, the website states that they have irons and ironing boards upon request that is not true (they stated that they don't offer either one). One of the pools was out of service the whole time I was there, there is no pool side bar as stated on the website and the "bar/lounge" was closed the whole time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montréal

Endroit magifique

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Les douches
Cons: Internet plus rapide
Nous avons été très bien accueilli par Daniel. Les jardins sont superbes. Les différentes piscines chaudes sont agréables. La piscine plus fraîche avec glissade d'eau est un délice pour les enfants. Le bain de boue est aussi une activité à ne pas manquer. Excellent endroit pour voyager en famille.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Köln

Schöne Anlage in der Natur

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Das Baden unterm Wasserfall während des Ausritts.
Cons: Das stehende Wasser am Restaurant zuschütten!!!!!!
Location: Ausritte, Rafting, Baden im Fluß, relaxen, ...
Eine schöne Anlage weit ab der Zivilisation mit tollen Ausflugsmöglichkeiten und einem stets hilfsbereiten Team. Leider ist um das Restaurant stehendes Wasser in die Anlage integriert, welches eine Hauptquelle der zahlreichen Mücken darstellt und somit einen nachhaltig negative "Einstiche" hinterlässt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by APfrom Florida

Enjoyed our stay, restaurant needs work

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was HUGE & the shower was big enough for a family! There are some gaps between the wall boards and you can easily hear what is going on in the cabins around you. The bed was comfortable & the sheets were clean (old, but clean). The porch & hammock were awesome! The grounds are beautiful. We really enjoyed walking around the property watching the hummingbirds, other birds and butterflies in the gardens. We took advantage of the volcanic mud & natural saunas. The mud has a serious funk. There are a number of hot spring fed pools as well as a cold pool with a slide on the property. The hot spring pools were murky, the cool pool was clean as far as I could see. I liked that you could walk into the hot spring pools without steps. My boyfriend enjoyed the work out room & sauna and said the facilities were very nice. A small breakfast buffet was included. The main thing we didn't like about the property was that you were pretty much stuck here for all meals & the restaurant is mediocre. Staff, as mentioned by some other reviewers, are not as attentive as they should be. My water glass was frequently empty for long stretches and getting someone's attention was not always easy. We did the waterfall/horse tour and the tubing trip. Both were a lot of fun. Our guides were knowledgeable and accommodating. The drive is not bad by Costa Rican standards-only about 20 km unpaved bumpy road to get to the resort. Management mentioned that more of the road is slated to be paved soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolfrom Bentonville, AR

Beautiful mountain location.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Not a hotel, but cabins, which made one feel great being in the jungle. Great layout, paved walking areas, marvelous hot spring pools, and massages.
Cons: Access road.
Location: One hours drive from main highway, partly paved, then rocky or dirt. Directions given were not too good, as we drove many miles in wrong direction.
Rather difficult to get to even though I had written directions. Loved the grounds, botanical garden, butterfly house, hummingbird feeders, excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by lavinchenfrom München

Super Entspannung und Komfort

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Super schönes Hotel, welches für Menschen, die Entspannung und Natur suchen nur zu empfehlen ist. Für Reisende auf der Suche nach Action und Alleinreisende ohne Auto nur bedingt zu empfehlen. Darüber hinaus besticht das Hotel durch stets freundliche Mitarbeiter und sehr schöne Extras wie hoteleigene Saunas und z.B. einen Schmetterlingsgarten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com