Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Staff!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The staff is excellent!
Cons: The whole place needs work! Each room should have a phone so that you can at least call the front desk, the pools need to be cleaned and fixed up..etc
The staff at the hotel is excellent and very helpful! The waiters at the restaurant are very pleasant, the food is good and your food comes pretty quick. The tours are great and so much fun but I wish that had more tours. The ride from the LIR airport is about 2 hours because the roads aren't the greatest, very bumpy but the view on the way to the hotel is amazing. The rooms are big but the pillow cases and comforters looked dirty, the website states that they have irons and ironing boards upon request that is not true (they stated that they don't offer either one). One of the pools was out of service the whole time I was there, there is no pool side bar as stated on the website and the "bar/lounge" was closed the whole time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AP from Florida

Enjoyed our stay, restaurant needs work

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was HUGE & the shower was big enough for a family! There are some gaps between the wall boards and you can easily hear what is going on in the cabins around you. The bed was comfortable & the sheets were clean (old, but clean). The porch & hammock were awesome! The grounds are beautiful. We really enjoyed walking around the property watching the hummingbirds, other birds and butterflies in the gardens. We took advantage of the volcanic mud & natural saunas. The mud has a serious funk. There are a number of hot spring fed pools as well as a cold pool with a slide on the property. The hot spring pools were murky, the cool pool was clean as far as I could see. I liked that you could walk into the hot spring pools without steps. My boyfriend enjoyed the work out room & sauna and said the facilities were very nice. A small breakfast buffet was included. The main thing we didn't like about the property was that you were pretty much stuck here for all meals & the restaurant is mediocre. Staff, as mentioned by some other reviewers, are not as attentive as they should be. My water glass was frequently empty for long stretches and getting someone's attention was not always easy. We did the waterfall/horse tour and the tubing trip. Both were a lot of fun. Our guides were knowledgeable and accommodating. The drive is not bad by Costa Rican standards-only about 20 km unpaved bumpy road to get to the resort. Management mentioned that more of the road is slated to be paved soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Bentonville, AR

Beautiful mountain location.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Not a hotel, but cabins, which made one feel great being in the jungle. Great layout, paved walking areas, marvelous hot spring pools, and massages.
Cons: Access road.
Location: One hours drive from main highway, partly paved, then rocky or dirt. Directions given were not too good, as we drove many miles in wrong direction.
Rather difficult to get to even though I had written directions. Loved the grounds, botanical garden, butterfly house, hummingbird feeders, excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not the best, but nice.

Posted Apr 22, 2014
We ended our trip to Costa Rica with a stay here. It was nice enough, but 2 nights was plenty. We did the zip-line and horseback ride. Those were great, especially zip-lining! The staff, even the excursion crew, were great. They all are not staying, so can't speak for your trip. We did the volcanic mud mask, that was fun. We would have been bored if we stayed longer. We loved our beach time so much that we would return, not sure if we would return to blue river. Although they're not fabricating, some of their details are stretched a bit in the descriptions.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Pura Vida from Costa Rica! We truly appreciate taking the time taken to share your experience at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. I forwarded your complements to our staff and have taken close observation of your other comments. Keep in mind that there is a lot to do. There are several tours available that start at the hotel in addition to zip lining – these being water tubing, hiking and horseback riding. There are also longer tours like river rafting and a snorkelling and beach tour and the Cano Negro wildlife preserve. After such exhilaration we return to the resort where there are still many activities to take advantage of including soaking in the hot springs slide on the water slides, visiting the butterfly gardens, strolling the botanical gardens, swimming in the blue river, laying on your balcony hammock, taking a mud bath and playing with the miniature horses and donkeys. There are actually more activities, but its all up to you. Sincerely, Kevin Glassman, owner
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gus from cr

Great if you want to Rest and be away of stress

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Great nature around it a peaceful place to stay, great staff, Luis the tours' guy is excellent. Restaurant service and internet connectivity can improve.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Pura Vida from Costa Rica! Thank you for taking the time taken to share your experience at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. This past week we have found a way to improve the WiFi but keep in mind it is not that fast and not available everywhere on this large property. Such is the price we pay for paradise. We are happy to learn that your vacation was enjoyable and hope you will visit us again soon. Sincerely, Kevin Glassman , owner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Springfield, VA

Nice mountain retreat

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Entire staff was very friendly. Amazing hiking tour(but over priced). Facility is very clean. Beds are uncomfortable. Food was average and over priced. There is nowhere else close by to eat. Beautiful surroundings. We would go back. The road to get there is pretty rough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by danielle from ny

A resort of pure relaxation

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Love this resort a lot off the beat n path be prepared to drive on off road for over an hour if you think you are heading the wrong way keep going there are signs but road conditions still bad they are paving road so maybe when you go it will be better.. I will say once you arrive ... its paradise and worth every minute.. rent 4 wheel drive!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nicole from New Jersey

A hidden paradise

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a beautiful place to stay. The dirt road leading in can be challenging but it was worth the bumpy ride. A 4x4 is recommended. You are literally in the rainforest with a mountain view!!! The staff members are extremely friendly and informative. The tours provided by the resort were affordable and very good. Also several national parks are close. We were able to drive to the beach within 90 minutes. The complimentary breakfast offered is delicious and authentic Costa Rican dishes are offered. The resort restaraunt offers a decent menu and is reasonably priced. This is a good thing because it takes at least an hour to get to Liberia where there are more options. Overall I enjoyed my stay. I would definitely return here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dave From GP from Alberta, Canada

Nice get away, worth the drive

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Restaurant food was great. Hot spring pools were nice even in the hot weather. Butterfly garden very vibrant and well looked after.
Cons: Pillows are too soft on the bed. After 3 days you've pretty well done it all so I would only stay that long.
Location: Not much to do nearby except do the offered excursions. We did zip line and a horseback ride. Hang at the bridge, go into the village for ice cream.
I had read that the road to get here was rough but being from northern Alberta I was not to concerned. Regardless we did rent a 4wd Bego and I'm glad we did. Not so much the road is muddy or anything (at least at end March when we went) but the road is very rocky. I was more worried about puncturing a tire than getting stuck, my tires being a little tread weary. Anyway the room was fantastic, nice and big, air conditioned and a big fan on the ceiling. I would suggest that they add a couch or a couple of comfortable sitting chairs inside the room. There is plenty of room for it but you are kind of stuck sitting on the bed. Alternatively I brought in a chair from the deck at night. Anyway, you are quite remote so the only place to eat is the restaurant on site. Luckily the food is fantastic and the prices, though not cheap, are reasonable for what you get. The waiter we had each day was great as well, very friendly. The butterfly garden there was fantastic, the kids really enjoyed hanging out in there. They also have a botanical garden that winds through the jungle. Hundreds of birds and lots of hummingbirds around. Lots of flowers and plants to keep you looking. We could hear the howler monkeys but I never saw any. Hot springs good, mud bath is literally a vat of mud you spread on yourself then clean off in the pool. Make sure you gas up in Liberia! I ended up buying 2 gals of gas from the store in town. She came out with a couple of milk jugs full of gas! Got us back tho!