Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Excellent hotel, friendly and helpful staff, highly recommended. Please note that the hotel is located on the eastern side of the Rincon de la Vieja volcano so the road his not the best, takes about and hour and half to reach the hotel from Liberia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2015
I had a really nice time at this resort. I would recommend it to other people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom TORONTO, CANADA

ONE OR TWO DAY STAY

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: SPACIOUS, CLOSE TO NATURE, CLOSE TO THERMAL BATHS AND RESTAURANT
Cons: BEDSHEETS CAN BE UPGRADED TO FITTED SHEET, SO IT WON'T SLIP AWAY FROM THE BED. PILLOWCASES CAN BE REPLACED. CLEANLINESS DEFINITELY CAN BE IMPROVED,
Location: WE DON'T KNOW ANY. THE BOOK BINDER IN THE CABANA CAN BE CLEARER AND MORE SUGGESTIONS OF THINGS TO DO.
WE ENJOYED THE THERMAL BATHS A LOT. THE FOOD IS ACCEPTABLE. WOULD LIKE TO HAVE MORE COSTA RICAN FOODS. LOVE THE BUTTERFLY GARDEN; GENERAL GARDEN AND THE HUMMING BIRDS CENTER.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore

Nice hotel with lovely facilities

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Nice hotel with lovely facilities, including a bar/restaurant, spa, thermal pools, and botanical garden. The drive is very difficult, and includes about an hour on rough, unpaved roads.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome resort near Rincon de la Vieja Volcano

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Location: Bath in the Rio Azul, hike on the dirt road (3 km to Buenos Aires, small village with a pulperia), Rincon de la Vieja, Liberia
We stayed two nights in the resort with our 3 kids. They loved the pool with the slide, they had a lot of fun while we were enjoying the natural hot water pools. Spa, volcano mud, sauna, massage, all is included. The cabins are large with a very large bathroom, 2 queen beds. Gardens all around are fantastic! Lots of birds and beautiful flowers. They even have a butterfly garden. Great for families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Very pretty place, relaxing, REMOTE!

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Very pretty grounds and great staff. Not a luxury environment but comfy. Be prepared for a long tough ride to the property. Some of us got ill from the drive up! My husband and I stayed with our 2 boys (11yrs and 13yrs) for four nights. We felt four nights was plenty of time, there is not a lot to do on the property once you walk thru the gardens/butterfly house. We found the "mud bath" extremely lacking. We have been to Costa Rica before and to the real thermal mud baths, so a bowl of mud under a canopy was a disappointment. The tours last 2-3 hours then you can swim in the pools which are nice and relaxing, but the boys were getting bored. If you just want to get away and chill out this is a great place. We had a good time on the zip line tour. Horse back to the waterfalls tour was great, absolutely stunning! Missed the tubing adventure because the youngest was too small to go safely. The food was good but the menu is a little limited, after four days we wanted something new. Don't, take this as a negative review! We had a good time here and thought it was a good value. Just be prepared for remote jungle and lots of chilling out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice place, but in the middle of nowhere

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Butterfly garden, spa and friendly staff.
Location: Remote, all activities center around the resort. Zip lining, horse back riding, mud baths, spa and butterfly gardens. You can walk to a nearby village
The first hint was the 20+kms of bumpy, potholed road that took us to the resort. It was remote. But on grounds the staff was great, the facilities and grounds mostly well kept and lodging/food comfortable and fresh, making our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The activities were varied and the blue river unusual and lovely. We were disappointed that the hiking was minimal and that the Rincon volcano park was really an 1.5 hour drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2015 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola! Thank you for a review of your stay. Sometimes I am seeing a few repeating comments and would like to see if I can help clarify. REMOTE - Being remote depends upon your meaning, so permit me to expand on this. No other similar location (in the rainforest with blue rivers, natural mineral hot springs with our Eco-adventure tours and amenities) can be found nearly as close from Liberia (70 minutes) and the Guanacaste beaches. However, if you want to eat outside the hotel at a restaurant for tourists or to go shopping for cloths, then yes, we are remote. On the other hand, if you want convenience items and some locally made items it’s a short walk to the village and if you want a dip in a blue river or a walk in the forest, it’s just across the road. LOCATION OF RINCON DE LA VIEJA PARK: Our main tour inside Rincon de la Vieja national park (from the north side) begins at the resort and takes about 20 minute to reach. This fantastic guided tour lasts up to 7 hours and is a hike through primary rainforest, where you’ll witness the source of rivers, visit waterfalls and take a dip in a warm hot springs river. Also available is tours to the better known park entrances on the south side of Rincon de la Vieja (called Las Pailas and Las Hornillas) which is likely what the reviewer refers to because it takes about an hour and a half to drive there. This guest probably took one of our tours inside a nearby private park to experience the blue rivers and grand waterfalls which are unique to this side of the volcano. I hope that is helpful. Again, we greatly appreciate yours and all reviews. We try not to comment on most points made even if it’s a negative or falsehood so to let you decide. We have something very special and take great pride in showcasing and hosting you. Any questions, please don’t hesitate to be in touch. Yours truly, Kevin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, Costa Rica

A nice place to relax!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
This is a beautiful property, the rooms are huge and its very close to the river, walking distance. It also has beautiful walking trails and a butterfly garden, the food is awesome and the price is fair!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2015 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola! Thanks to everyone, especially this reviewer for taking the time to comment on your experience. I am starting to notice a few comments about “relaxation”, so I feel compelled to comment that relaxation accurately describes half the description. Let’s not forget the optional adventures that lay in wait. Eco-Adventure tours in the rainforest to blue rivers, grand waterfall and Rincon de la Vieja can be experienced by horseback, hiking, water tubing and zip lining. There are longer outings like white water rafting, snorkelling along pristine beaches and Cano Negro Wildlife Preserve. Also, as I write I’m thinking of my young children and the other kids who spend very active hours in the fresh water pool going down the bullet water slide, in the botanical gardens searching for exotic plants, frogs and fish, and in the butterfly gardens. Again, greatly appreciate your patronage and review! All the best, Kevin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Beatiful remote resort

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
This resort is a bit of a drive on rough roads, but well worth the effort. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola and thank you making the effort the time to post your review and for choosing to vacation with us. Both owners and staff take great pride in all that we offer. We encourage reviews and read them with a watchful eye to improve and receive acknowledgement. Believe it or not, I just learned that I can respond to your reviews. Though I prefer to let you decide, I’ll use some reviews as an opportunity to clarify and explain points being bought up. Here, I’ll address the “remoteness” Remoteness - Being remote depends upon your meaning, so permit me to expand on this. No other similar location (in the rainforest with blue rivers, natural mineral hot springs with our Eco-adventure tours and amenities) can be found nearly as close from Liberia (70 minutes) and the Guanacaste beaches. However, if you want to eat outside the hotel at a restaurant for tourists or to go shopping for cloths, then yes, we are remote. On the other hand, if you want convenience items and some locally made items it’s a short walk to the village and if you want a dip in a blue river or a walk in the forest, it’s just across the road. Again, thank you to the reviewer for your kind words. Yours truly, Kevin Glassman
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Staff!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The staff is excellent!
Cons: The whole place needs work! Each room should have a phone so that you can at least call the front desk, the pools need to be cleaned and fixed up..etc
The staff at the hotel is excellent and very helpful! The waiters at the restaurant are very pleasant, the food is good and your food comes pretty quick. The tours are great and so much fun but I wish that had more tours. The ride from the LIR airport is about 2 hours because the roads aren't the greatest, very bumpy but the view on the way to the hotel is amazing. The rooms are big but the pillow cases and comforters looked dirty, the website states that they have irons and ironing boards upon request that is not true (they stated that they don't offer either one). One of the pools was out of service the whole time I was there, there is no pool side bar as stated on the website and the "bar/lounge" was closed the whole time.