Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore

Nice hotel with lovely facilities

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Nice hotel with lovely facilities, including a bar/restaurant, spa, thermal pools, and botanical garden. The drive is very difficult, and includes about an hour on rough, unpaved roads.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome resort near Rincon de la Vieja Volcano

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Location: Bath in the Rio Azul, hike on the dirt road (3 km to Buenos Aires, small village with a pulperia), Rincon de la Vieja, Liberia
We stayed two nights in the resort with our 3 kids. They loved the pool with the slide, they had a lot of fun while we were enjoying the natural hot water pools. Spa, volcano mud, sauna, massage, all is included. The cabins are large with a very large bathroom, 2 queen beds. Gardens all around are fantastic! Lots of birds and beautiful flowers. They even have a butterfly garden. Great for families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Very pretty place, relaxing, REMOTE!

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Very pretty grounds and great staff. Not a luxury environment but comfy. Be prepared for a long tough ride to the property. Some of us got ill from the drive up! My husband and I stayed with our 2 boys (11yrs and 13yrs) for four nights. We felt four nights was plenty of time, there is not a lot to do on the property once you walk thru the gardens/butterfly house. We found the "mud bath" extremely lacking. We have been to Costa Rica before and to the real thermal mud baths, so a bowl of mud under a canopy was a disappointment. The tours last 2-3 hours then you can swim in the pools which are nice and relaxing, but the boys were getting bored. If you just want to get away and chill out this is a great place. We had a good time on the zip line tour. Horse back to the waterfalls tour was great, absolutely stunning! Missed the tubing adventure because the youngest was too small to go safely. The food was good but the menu is a little limited, after four days we wanted something new. Don't, take this as a negative review! We had a good time here and thought it was a good value. Just be prepared for remote jungle and lots of chilling out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice place, but in the middle of nowhere

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Butterfly garden, spa and friendly staff.
Location: Remote, all activities center around the resort. Zip lining, horse back riding, mud baths, spa and butterfly gardens. You can walk to a nearby village
The first hint was the 20+kms of bumpy, potholed road that took us to the resort. It was remote. But on grounds the staff was great, the facilities and grounds mostly well kept and lodging/food comfortable and fresh, making our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The activities were varied and the blue river unusual and lovely. We were disappointed that the hiking was minimal and that the Rincon volcano park was really an 1.5 hour drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2015 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola! Thank you for a review of your stay. Sometimes I am seeing a few repeating comments and would like to see if I can help clarify. REMOTE - Being remote depends upon your meaning, so permit me to expand on this. No other similar location (in the rainforest with blue rivers, natural mineral hot springs with our Eco-adventure tours and amenities) can be found nearly as close from Liberia (70 minutes) and the Guanacaste beaches. However, if you want to eat outside the hotel at a restaurant for tourists or to go shopping for cloths, then yes, we are remote. On the other hand, if you want convenience items and some locally made items it’s a short walk to the village and if you want a dip in a blue river or a walk in the forest, it’s just across the road. LOCATION OF RINCON DE LA VIEJA PARK: Our main tour inside Rincon de la Vieja national park (from the north side) begins at the resort and takes about 20 minute to reach. This fantastic guided tour lasts up to 7 hours and is a hike through primary rainforest, where you’ll witness the source of rivers, visit waterfalls and take a dip in a warm hot springs river. Also available is tours to the better known park entrances on the south side of Rincon de la Vieja (called Las Pailas and Las Hornillas) which is likely what the reviewer refers to because it takes about an hour and a half to drive there. This guest probably took one of our tours inside a nearby private park to experience the blue rivers and grand waterfalls which are unique to this side of the volcano. I hope that is helpful. Again, we greatly appreciate yours and all reviews. We try not to comment on most points made even if it’s a negative or falsehood so to let you decide. We have something very special and take great pride in showcasing and hosting you. Any questions, please don’t hesitate to be in touch. Yours truly, Kevin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, Costa Rica

A nice place to relax!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
This is a beautiful property, the rooms are huge and its very close to the river, walking distance. It also has beautiful walking trails and a butterfly garden, the food is awesome and the price is fair!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2015 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola! Thanks to everyone, especially this reviewer for taking the time to comment on your experience. I am starting to notice a few comments about “relaxation”, so I feel compelled to comment that relaxation accurately describes half the description. Let’s not forget the optional adventures that lay in wait. Eco-Adventure tours in the rainforest to blue rivers, grand waterfall and Rincon de la Vieja can be experienced by horseback, hiking, water tubing and zip lining. There are longer outings like white water rafting, snorkelling along pristine beaches and Cano Negro Wildlife Preserve. Also, as I write I’m thinking of my young children and the other kids who spend very active hours in the fresh water pool going down the bullet water slide, in the botanical gardens searching for exotic plants, frogs and fish, and in the butterfly gardens. Again, greatly appreciate your patronage and review! All the best, Kevin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Beatiful remote resort

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
This resort is a bit of a drive on rough roads, but well worth the effort. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola and thank you making the effort the time to post your review and for choosing to vacation with us. Both owners and staff take great pride in all that we offer. We encourage reviews and read them with a watchful eye to improve and receive acknowledgement. Believe it or not, I just learned that I can respond to your reviews. Though I prefer to let you decide, I’ll use some reviews as an opportunity to clarify and explain points being bought up. Here, I’ll address the “remoteness” Remoteness - Being remote depends upon your meaning, so permit me to expand on this. No other similar location (in the rainforest with blue rivers, natural mineral hot springs with our Eco-adventure tours and amenities) can be found nearly as close from Liberia (70 minutes) and the Guanacaste beaches. However, if you want to eat outside the hotel at a restaurant for tourists or to go shopping for cloths, then yes, we are remote. On the other hand, if you want convenience items and some locally made items it’s a short walk to the village and if you want a dip in a blue river or a walk in the forest, it’s just across the road. Again, thank you to the reviewer for your kind words. Yours truly, Kevin Glassman
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Staff!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The staff is excellent!
Cons: The whole place needs work! Each room should have a phone so that you can at least call the front desk, the pools need to be cleaned and fixed up..etc
The staff at the hotel is excellent and very helpful! The waiters at the restaurant are very pleasant, the food is good and your food comes pretty quick. The tours are great and so much fun but I wish that had more tours. The ride from the LIR airport is about 2 hours because the roads aren't the greatest, very bumpy but the view on the way to the hotel is amazing. The rooms are big but the pillow cases and comforters looked dirty, the website states that they have irons and ironing boards upon request that is not true (they stated that they don't offer either one). One of the pools was out of service the whole time I was there, there is no pool side bar as stated on the website and the "bar/lounge" was closed the whole time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montréal

Endroit magifique

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Les douches
Cons: Internet plus rapide
Nous avons été très bien accueilli par Daniel. Les jardins sont superbes. Les différentes piscines chaudes sont agréables. La piscine plus fraîche avec glissade d'eau est un délice pour les enfants. Le bain de boue est aussi une activité à ne pas manquer. Excellent endroit pour voyager en famille.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Köln

Schöne Anlage in der Natur

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Das Baden unterm Wasserfall während des Ausritts.
Cons: Das stehende Wasser am Restaurant zuschütten!!!!!!
Location: Ausritte, Rafting, Baden im Fluß, relaxen, ...
Eine schöne Anlage weit ab der Zivilisation mit tollen Ausflugsmöglichkeiten und einem stets hilfsbereiten Team. Leider ist um das Restaurant stehendes Wasser in die Anlage integriert, welches eine Hauptquelle der zahlreichen Mücken darstellt und somit einen nachhaltig negative "Einstiche" hinterlässt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by APfrom Florida

Enjoyed our stay, restaurant needs work

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was HUGE & the shower was big enough for a family! There are some gaps between the wall boards and you can easily hear what is going on in the cabins around you. The bed was comfortable & the sheets were clean (old, but clean). The porch & hammock were awesome! The grounds are beautiful. We really enjoyed walking around the property watching the hummingbirds, other birds and butterflies in the gardens. We took advantage of the volcanic mud & natural saunas. The mud has a serious funk. There are a number of hot spring fed pools as well as a cold pool with a slide on the property. The hot spring pools were murky, the cool pool was clean as far as I could see. I liked that you could walk into the hot spring pools without steps. My boyfriend enjoyed the work out room & sauna and said the facilities were very nice. A small breakfast buffet was included. The main thing we didn't like about the property was that you were pretty much stuck here for all meals & the restaurant is mediocre. Staff, as mentioned by some other reviewers, are not as attentive as they should be. My water glass was frequently empty for long stretches and getting someone's attention was not always easy. We did the waterfall/horse tour and the tubing trip. Both were a lot of fun. Our guides were knowledgeable and accommodating. The drive is not bad by Costa Rican standards-only about 20 km unpaved bumpy road to get to the resort. Management mentioned that more of the road is slated to be paved soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2015 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola! Thank you for the constructive feedback and your complements. We read all reviews carefully and now that we just learned we can respond we’ll try to take advantage only by addressing point of importance. There were three important points brought up here: 1. The gaps between the wood must be filled regularly as the wood shrinks. I’m sorry to learn that you experienced this and it shouldn’t happen. The sound is now under control. 2. The natural mineral “green” hot springs - Our hot springs are our jewel. We are among about three other locations that offer natural hot springs in Costa Rica and the water properties are truly special. The water and the pools are kept very clean, but the mineralization and maintenance merits an explanation. As the hot springs fill the pools for the first time the water clarity is really good but one of the minerals in the water is copper. It’s a fantastic natural disinfectant for the skin. When the copper is exposed to the air it begins to solidify in the water. Initially it is a beautiful hint of green and over time gets murky. The change is slowed by filling the pool with more hot springs. Every two days, each pool is completely emptied and thoroughly cleaned. Then the process starts all over again. One of the pools (the island pool) is so big that emptying and cleaning it takes three days. 3. The restaurant – we are constantly finding ways to improve, add new choices and maintain high standards. The prices are kept as reasonable as possible, even though some guests don’t seem to realize this. A visit today will be a much improved experience. Thanks for your patronage and for taking the time to review us! Yours truly, Kevin