Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Long drive but worth it

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Rooms are spacious, even had a mini fridge. Pillows are terrible-bring a travel pillow if you can. Kids loved the butterfly garden, pools and petting the animals at the property. Staff is very accommodating. Def walk down to the blue river, it is amazing! You are a captive audience while there due to it being quite a drive but we found that the case with many hotels in CR. Stayed 2 nights and did adventure pass at gauchepelin but next time would just do horseback riding etc here at blue river to avoid the drive. would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Nice natural water pools and mud bath

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: People
Cons: Bathroom fixtures
Location: Rough road ,not much near by
Great warm hospitality,would love to come back,enjoy more time at this great facility
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Looking to hike Rincon del Vieja

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Beautiful location and a real feeling of solitude.
Cons: Plumbing...very week water...similar to most of Costa Rica but it would be great if it was improved.
Location: Not too much...you are sort of captured by the lodge. long drive down the very bad road to get to Liberia well over 1 1/2 hrs to Liberia.
Overall the experience was good. The single issue is the road to the lodge. It needs to be made clear that a 4X4 is recommended. We were told that the road was a "few meters" from the paved road to the lodge. More like 20 or more kilometers!!! Not a road for a Honda Civic which we have. 4x4 is required.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Don't go there: Neither a resort nor a spa

Posted Apr 17, 2015
The first impression of the Blue River Resort and Spa was already disappointing. The entrance of the hotel looks like a shabby cettle farm and the 'lobby' is a small room with neon lights and two old chairs. Seeing this, we hoped to be at the wrong destination as our imagination of a resort and spa is contrary to the appereance of this hotel. Nevertheless, we had some hope left for the rooms and the 'wellness' area as the hotel was recommended by so many guests. Unfortunately, it did not get better. The rooms were dark with no comfort, although they were clean. The 'wellness area' was even worse. It consists of four hot spring pools which are okay but not more. The worst thing was the sauna and the mud bath. Both of the facilities were shabby, dirty and very old. Furthermore any day guests were arriving and there was no chance of relaxation. The quality of the food was poor but had a high price. Another anyoing thing is that you do not have wifi at all. If you are lucky you have a wel signal at the reception... After all, we really do not recommend to stay there because the hotel rate is very expensive and you do not receive anything which is worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Excellent hotel, friendly and helpful staff, highly recommended. Please note that the hotel is located on the eastern side of the Rincon de la Vieja volcano so the road his not the best, takes about and hour and half to reach the hotel from Liberia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2015
I had a really nice time at this resort. I would recommend it to other people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas from florida

great stay

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
could not have been any better the administrator of the resort and all staff were perfect and went above and beyond any request we might have had ..all we can say was excellent...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from TORONTO, CANADA

ONE OR TWO DAY STAY

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: SPACIOUS, CLOSE TO NATURE, CLOSE TO THERMAL BATHS AND RESTAURANT
Cons: BEDSHEETS CAN BE UPGRADED TO FITTED SHEET, SO IT WON'T SLIP AWAY FROM THE BED. PILLOWCASES CAN BE REPLACED. CLEANLINESS DEFINITELY CAN BE IMPROVED,
Location: WE DON'T KNOW ANY. THE BOOK BINDER IN THE CABANA CAN BE CLEARER AND MORE SUGGESTIONS OF THINGS TO DO.
WE ENJOYED THE THERMAL BATHS A LOT. THE FOOD IS ACCEPTABLE. WOULD LIKE TO HAVE MORE COSTA RICAN FOODS. LOVE THE BUTTERFLY GARDEN; GENERAL GARDEN AND THE HUMMING BIRDS CENTER.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donald from missouri

review

Posted Feb 6, 2015 on Hotels
great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by gary from Minneapolis

Short Stay But Well Worth The Drive

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed only one day with one overnight. We enjoyed the hottest spring pool and the botanical gardens. (We also saw a Toucan, which we had been looking for all week.) Our dinner meal was very good and the service was exceptional. (Thanks, Jose.) The drive to and from is an adventure (mostly gravel and pot holes), but worth it. Our front-wheel drive compact did just fine.