Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was an enjoyable stay, and the rates are reasonable. The only drawback is the limited choice on places to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kiwiyorkie from yorkshire, uk

Basic but great location - great adventure tours!

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Slightly cooler being up in the mountains - lovely views. great access to the adventure tours
Location: Great location, adventure tours on sight - they were brilliant, did tubing, horse riding, canopy tours plus went to the hotpools, hand milked the cows
Fairly basic room, but clean. Friendly and helpful staff, great restaurant. nice pool which was fairly quite. Hand milked the cows, did the adventure tours and loved them so much went back a 2nd time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tim from vancouver

It is fine for a night

Posted Nov 17, 2013
its reasonably priced compared to other tourist attractions. Activities are advertised a lot nicer than what youre about to see. I wouldnt stay more than 1 night or 2 max. The place is out in the middle of nowhere so be prepared to spend the whole time in this little hotel complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mo from Wisconsin

A great place to stay.

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: time of our lives. Was the best zip lining ever! gorgeous views but too many people for amount of workers. Still had fun. over canyons & river.
Cons: everyone was so nice. The Bar is great, food is great, Gorgeous scenery. The WI-Fi is good. The Only thing we can say is to get dogs flea powder.
Location: The Adventure Tour and walking to the butterfly house and to look out at the point. Very Gorgeous flowers and beautiful path.
We arrived and wondered if this was a good idea, since road was a bit rocky. Truthfully, most of road was all newly paved, so only had rough 2 miles at end. We were disappointed by plain room, no tv, only one outlet in room (not in bathroom) and thought....... why did we book this for 2 nights???? Well we decided to make the most of it and drove farther to the National Park. Only to be told that it closes at 3, had to be out by 4, and volcano area is closed due to activity. We decided to walk to waterfall .... that was a joke. WHAT????? Then we stopped at the hot springs. It was quite the rough road trek, we were like WHAT? But once we got to the hot springs we said ..... WOW>>>>>>> LOVED IT! Made the rough road back and went to dinner..... LOVED IT!!!! Food was AWESOME..... ended up not caring about TV or little things anymore. We woke up early am and went for walk to look out point. LOVED IT! went to complimentary breakfast.... was willing to make anything for us.... booked the Adventure Tour ..... LOVED IT!!!! Horseback ride to different waterfall was gorgeous. Felt bad for horses as road and trail were awful. but we did not want to do horse part, but was glad we did. Then went Tubing. Was very fun. Got some bruises and nasty scrapes, but was worth it. Lunch was back at Hotel (buffet included with Adventure) and was good. Felt special as we had special table set up for us (surprise) Canopy tour was next-- zip lining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Agnes

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awsome!

Posted Sep 23, 2013
If you wake up at 3am because of the noise, it can be only cows xD No, seriously, the most wonderful please to stay and rest, the staff is so warm, they make you feel welcome at any time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Tucson, Arizona

Great breakfast, nicely sited room, great staff

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: Great staff, beautiful grounds, good for outdoorsy people. Did I mention how friendly the staff is? Even for Costa Rica!
Cons: Better communication about tours and activities offered (specifically times). The info presented in print vs. website conflicted.
Location: Hiking at Rincon de la Vieja National Park, Rio Negro hot springs, a spa, zip lining, horseback riding, waterfalls
Our stay was very pleasant - the rooms aren't super fancy, but simple touches like flowers on the beds, a hammock outside, and extremely friendly and helpful staff made it a wonderful stay. I was worried about the restaurant since the location is remote and without a vehicle it was our only choice, but the food was fantastic - gallo pinto, fresh tortillas, fresh cheese, fresh pineapple, to name my favorites. So simple and so tasty. Also, the hotel runs a free shuttle to the other locations in the area (Rincon de la Vieja park, Rio Negro hot springs, both of which were great), so not having a car was fine (to get to the hotel we hired a shuttle, not cheap but no worries). There were other hikes to waterfalls, and the zip lining canyon tour was also really fun. We spent two days / two nights and were pleasantly occupied with hiking, zipping, swimming, and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sylvain from Gatineau, QC, Canada

Best hotel near Liberia

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Volcano/spa
Cons: extra activities too expensive
Location: Well located to visit volcano and Liberia.
Rooms very clean, close to Rincon de la Vieja Volcano Park, volcanic mud and spa included in price of stay is worth it! Close to shopping in Liberia (20km). Staff friendly and food is great. Some extra activities are somewhat expensive... Overall price of stay within reasonable limits.