Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay that offers great activities.

Posted May 20, 2014
Cons: Would have really appereciated a refrigerator in the room.
Location: Great nearby activities.
Stayed two nights. The activities were fun. We walked the nearby park trail to see the bubbling mud pots etc. It was fantastic! We also rode horses to a waterfall, innertubed down rapids (so fun), and bathed in the nearby hot springs where I had my first mud bath. We had a great time!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johanfrom Barendrecht

Goed uitvalspunt voor bezoek NP's

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Ligging, kwaliteit van de kamer.
Cons: nvt
Location: Goede lokatie voor bezoek aan NP
Een verhoudingsgewijs middelgroot complex waar diverse activiteiten in en rond het NP Rincon de la Vieja georganiseerd worden. Een prettig zwembad, vriendelijke bediening zowel bij receptie als restaurant. Belangrijkste voordeel is dat het dicht bij de ingang van het Nationale Park ligt. gelet op de kwaliteit van de toegangsroutes beslist een pré.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Ginnyfrom Houston

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful location. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms clean. Nice bar and restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jefffrom Thousand Oaks, CA

It is what it is

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is what this hotel is all about. The hotel itself is average at best. (The restaurant less so.) But if you are staying here it is because of the national park in which it sits. You can't get more convenience. Expect little from the hotel and you won't be disappointed.
2 out of 5
by carmenfrom Costa Rica

por quality hotel in excelent area

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: the place where it is
Location: walking to the national park, volcano, hicking, waterfalls
The fan and telephone of the room were not working even after our report. The room had a very bad smell. The foods are very por quality, por variety, very expensive.The hotel is in an excellence área that produce excellent tropical fruits, the offer por quality of those. The menú has por offer of costarrican food, if you don want the buffe. The Nactional park is great, the farm is in the same área, but the worker are not happy with the owner and the manager who run the hotel, this is a shame because they can not irraded happiness if they are very angry with the manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pietrofrom italy

great hotel

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staying in this hotel allowsto enter a private waterfall, hot springs and not to pay the parking at the volcano park entrance. Nice rooms (ask for one towards the volcano) and good restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Good ustomer service, delicious food and nice place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trishfrom Canada

Adventure Tours on site at Hacienda Guachipelin

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The setting. The grounds. The staff both within the hotel, grounds and Adventure Office. The pool looked inviting, but no time to check it out.
Cons: Try to vent septic tank away from occupied guest rooms
Location: Easy access from Liberia Airport. Didn't explore other opportunities owing to time restraints.
We were warmly greeted by the Reception Staff and quickly offered a refreshing juice drink. Our room was comfortable other than an unpleasant septic tank odour. Some of our group selected their evening meal from a menu, others decided on the buffet. Service was excellent, food adequate but not very exciting. Complimentary breakfast buffet before we embarked on our adventure. Must also comment on the grounds, green, neat and enjoyable. Then it was onto the main purpose of our stay, The One Day Adventure Tour, which is offered at a very reasonable cost. Our day was filled with a 45 min. horseback ride. Not the most exciting part of the day, if you are a rider, but a pleasant, quiet way to move along the trail. A bus was waiting to transport us to our next activity, white water tubing. An event not to be missed. Buffet lunch(included in cost) back at the Hacienda. After lunch the zip line, rock climbing, repelling, and Tarzan Swing awaited us over trees, bush and a wonderful canyon, so far below. This was the most challenging part of the day, especially for the inexperienced. However, the staff were very attentive to safety and patiently explained each exciting manoeuvre to the unsure...Like me! Then it was time to head off to the mineral baths and body mud painting, what fun, so relaxing and well earned after 8 hours of adrenalin rush and much laughter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Annefrom Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Great value, clean, good food, lots to do on-site

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our first visit to Costa Rica and the first place we stayed. We are a couple in our early 50s. We enjoyed it very much. It presented a good entree to Costa Rica insofar as the accommodations were comfortable and a very good value, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The "inclusive" nature of Hacienda Guachipelin gave us the chance to acclimate to C.R culture and to experience tropical desert conditions (new to us). The on-site activities were fun and challenging (for us) and easily filled two full days. We recommend H.G. to anyone who would enjoy these same experiences. Beware that the gate to enter the property is locked at 9 p.m. We arrived after 10 p.m. and only by sheer luck (some ICE workmen leaving for the day) were able to enter the property. Didn't make for a good first impression; however, the subsequent two days more than made up for this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Adventure Tour

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was exactly what we expected. Friendly, welcoming, helpful staff. Clean and comfortable room on beautiful grounds. The buffet meals had variety and the food was good. The location in the national park was perfect and only about 30-45 minutes from the airport. The roads were mostly fine on the way, just the last 5km were a bit bumpy because of the gravel road, but this was not a problem. The full day adventure tour was fantastic and the guides were pleasant, fun and focussed at all times on safety. The white water tubing was the highlight for us - perfect temperature in the water, just enough rapids to make it fun and we were even able to watch monkeys jump from tree to tree as we were floating down the river. No complaints about this hotel at all.