Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trish from Canada

Adventure Tours on site at Hacienda Guachipelin

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The setting. The grounds. The staff both within the hotel, grounds and Adventure Office. The pool looked inviting, but no time to check it out.
Cons: Try to vent septic tank away from occupied guest rooms
Location: Easy access from Liberia Airport. Didn't explore other opportunities owing to time restraints.
We were warmly greeted by the Reception Staff and quickly offered a refreshing juice drink. Our room was comfortable other than an unpleasant septic tank odour. Some of our group selected their evening meal from a menu, others decided on the buffet. Service was excellent, food adequate but not very exciting. Complimentary breakfast buffet before we embarked on our adventure. Must also comment on the grounds, green, neat and enjoyable. Then it was onto the main purpose of our stay, The One Day Adventure Tour, which is offered at a very reasonable cost. Our day was filled with a 45 min. horseback ride. Not the most exciting part of the day, if you are a rider, but a pleasant, quiet way to move along the trail. A bus was waiting to transport us to our next activity, white water tubing. An event not to be missed. Buffet lunch(included in cost) back at the Hacienda. After lunch the zip line, rock climbing, repelling, and Tarzan Swing awaited us over trees, bush and a wonderful canyon, so far below. This was the most challenging part of the day, especially for the inexperienced. However, the staff were very attentive to safety and patiently explained each exciting manoeuvre to the unsure...Like me! Then it was time to head off to the mineral baths and body mud painting, what fun, so relaxing and well earned after 8 hours of adrenalin rush and much laughter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from South Dakota

Great introduction to Costa Rica

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Cons: We did not read the time of serving breakfast so almost missed out as we were sleeping late.
There were so many pleasant things about our short stay at this eco-friendly hotel. I would recommend it to anyone that really wants to relax and enjoy the Pura Vida experience! We appreciate their concern for the environment and the animals. They all went out of their way to accommodate us and make us comfortable. They offered many activities for everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Lake Zurich, Illinois USA

We built memories of a lifetime! Paradise!

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: The accommodations were very clean. Gardens were beautiful! Loved the horses in the area! It can't get any more complete!
Cons: Food was very good. But room for improvement.
Location: Truly enjoyed the 3 km hike up at the Rincon de la Vieja National Park. Mud pots, steam vents, lizzards, butterflies, WHITE-FACED MONKEYS!!!
Gorgeous setting! Loved the canopy tour! Felt very safe with the guides and amazing views! One adventure after another...canopy tour, hikes, mud bath and hot springs! The staff was truly wonderful to us and helped us with future planning. I LOVED this Hacienda Guachepelin! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa Rica to the fullest!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was an enjoyable stay, and the rates are reasonable. The only drawback is the limited choice on places to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kiwiyorkie from yorkshire, uk

Basic but great location - great adventure tours!

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Slightly cooler being up in the mountains - lovely views. great access to the adventure tours
Location: Great location, adventure tours on sight - they were brilliant, did tubing, horse riding, canopy tours plus went to the hotpools, hand milked the cows
Fairly basic room, but clean. Friendly and helpful staff, great restaurant. nice pool which was fairly quite. Hand milked the cows, did the adventure tours and loved them so much went back a 2nd time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tim from vancouver

It is fine for a night

Posted Nov 17, 2013
its reasonably priced compared to other tourist attractions. Activities are advertised a lot nicer than what youre about to see. I wouldnt stay more than 1 night or 2 max. The place is out in the middle of nowhere so be prepared to spend the whole time in this little hotel complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mo from Wisconsin

A great place to stay.

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: time of our lives. Was the best zip lining ever! gorgeous views but too many people for amount of workers. Still had fun. over canyons & river.
Cons: everyone was so nice. The Bar is great, food is great, Gorgeous scenery. The WI-Fi is good. The Only thing we can say is to get dogs flea powder.
Location: The Adventure Tour and walking to the butterfly house and to look out at the point. Very Gorgeous flowers and beautiful path.
We arrived and wondered if this was a good idea, since road was a bit rocky. Truthfully, most of road was all newly paved, so only had rough 2 miles at end. We were disappointed by plain room, no tv, only one outlet in room (not in bathroom) and thought....... why did we book this for 2 nights???? Well we decided to make the most of it and drove farther to the National Park. Only to be told that it closes at 3, had to be out by 4, and volcano area is closed due to activity. We decided to walk to waterfall .... that was a joke. WHAT????? Then we stopped at the hot springs. It was quite the rough road trek, we were like WHAT? But once we got to the hot springs we said ..... WOW>>>>>>> LOVED IT! Made the rough road back and went to dinner..... LOVED IT!!!! Food was AWESOME..... ended up not caring about TV or little things anymore. We woke up early am and went for walk to look out point. LOVED IT! went to complimentary breakfast.... was willing to make anything for us.... booked the Adventure Tour ..... LOVED IT!!!! Horseback ride to different waterfall was gorgeous. Felt bad for horses as road and trail were awful. but we did not want to do horse part, but was glad we did. Then went Tubing. Was very fun. Got some bruises and nasty scrapes, but was worth it. Lunch was back at Hotel (buffet included with Adventure) and was good. Felt special as we had special table set up for us (surprise) Canopy tour was next-- zip lining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Agnes

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awsome!

Posted Sep 23, 2013
If you wake up at 3am because of the noise, it can be only cows xD No, seriously, the most wonderful please to stay and rest, the staff is so warm, they make you feel welcome at any time.