Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

It's a trap

Posted May 18, 2015
-Filthy room upon arrival. Hair in shower, stopper in sink was stuck. -Food was over priced and not good (there is only their Buffet and resto/bar to choose from the next town is very far from the location) -noisy -staff are alright -go do the day adventure tours don't spend the night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Wonderful Staff. Very helpful and friendly.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Great time. Mudbath, hot springs, waterfalls and a wonderful nature walk. hope to go back soon. Hotel staff, especially Jeremy and Tomas, we're the best. Well worth the trip! !!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Horses in poor condition, otherwise great!

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Cons: Care of the horses could be improved.
Location: There is very interesing hiking that is on an easy trail (Las Pailas trail) at the nearby national park.
I choose this hotel for my family because they offer an "adventure pass" tour that includes horseback riding, tubing, zip lining and hot springs. While we enjoyed all of the activities, when the saddles were removed from the horses, we noticed almost all of the horses had open saddle sores that looked very painful (many open wounds were at least an inch long). I wouldn't have ridden the horses if I had seen that, and indeed, I rode horses elsewhere in Costa Rica that appeared much better cared for. I don't think that most people see the horses without saddles, but we did because we were hotel guests with a room close to them. The other activities offered by the hotel were very fun and the price was right, the hotel staff was great, and the buffet breakfast and lunches were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

Need more than a day!!

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Location and the staff.
Cons: A map is provided at the hotel. Could be way more detailed with explanations so us Gringoes could find our way around easier.
Location: You are in the center of ecotourism in Guancaste - road in is good.
Staff helpful, food excellent. We spent two full days here with a 10 year old. Needed three days. A mixture of activities you pay for and some great free "exploration" activities. Cannot get better proximity to the national park. Tons to do. We come from a tectonically active area so we are accustomed to roads with volcanic rocks..... However, they are much sharper here. Two flat tires...... Be prepared.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Good location to attractions

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Food service
Good overall experience but food was disappointing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sorinfrom Toronto

Beautiful setting, great fun and value.

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Although the beauty of Costa Rica is no surprise, Hacienda Guachipelin's quality of service, accommodations and variety of activites are all a pleasant surprise given the affordable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hätten mehr erwartet

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Hätten mehr erwartet: Personal (Rezeption) teils unfreundlich, Anlage (aussen) heruntergekommen und ramschig (sieht teils aus wie schrottplatz), personal im restaurant sehr freundlich, Essen ist schlechtes kantinenessen und überteuert.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Exceeded expectations

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Great location and good value
Cons: Better sheets, please!
The hotel was much better than expected...lots to do at no additional cost. Beautiful location, great access for a stop over to hike Rincon de la Vieja. Rooms were clean and a good value. Our stay was less than 24 hours and we hiked National Park Trails, visited the waterfalls for a swim, enjoyed mud +thermal springs at dusk, morning swim at another waterfall, and the serpenteria/butterfly garden/archeological trail. Food was fine (not exceptional). Staff was quite helpful at reception and dining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael Douglasfrom Joliette

Vive la nature enchanteresse

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
Décor enchanteur au milieu de la jungle à la base d'un volcan