Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Horses in poor condition, otherwise great!

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Cons: Care of the horses could be improved.
Location: There is very interesing hiking that is on an easy trail (Las Pailas trail) at the nearby national park.
I choose this hotel for my family because they offer an "adventure pass" tour that includes horseback riding, tubing, zip lining and hot springs. While we enjoyed all of the activities, when the saddles were removed from the horses, we noticed almost all of the horses had open saddle sores that looked very painful (many open wounds were at least an inch long). I wouldn't have ridden the horses if I had seen that, and indeed, I rode horses elsewhere in Costa Rica that appeared much better cared for. I don't think that most people see the horses without saddles, but we did because we were hotel guests with a room close to them. The other activities offered by the hotel were very fun and the price was right, the hotel staff was great, and the buffet breakfast and lunches were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

Need more than a day!!

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Location and the staff.
Cons: A map is provided at the hotel. Could be way more detailed with explanations so us Gringoes could find our way around easier.
Location: You are in the center of ecotourism in Guancaste - road in is good.
Staff helpful, food excellent. We spent two full days here with a 10 year old. Needed three days. A mixture of activities you pay for and some great free "exploration" activities. Cannot get better proximity to the national park. Tons to do. We come from a tectonically active area so we are accustomed to roads with volcanic rocks..... However, they are much sharper here. Two flat tires...... Be prepared.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Good location to attractions

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Food service
Good overall experience but food was disappointing
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hätten mehr erwartet

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Hätten mehr erwartet: Personal (Rezeption) teils unfreundlich, Anlage (aussen) heruntergekommen und ramschig (sieht teils aus wie schrottplatz), personal im restaurant sehr freundlich, Essen ist schlechtes kantinenessen und überteuert.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Exceeded expectations

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Great location and good value
Cons: Better sheets, please!
The hotel was much better than expected...lots to do at no additional cost. Beautiful location, great access for a stop over to hike Rincon de la Vieja. Rooms were clean and a good value. Our stay was less than 24 hours and we hiked National Park Trails, visited the waterfalls for a swim, enjoyed mud +thermal springs at dusk, morning swim at another waterfall, and the serpenteria/butterfly garden/archeological trail. Food was fine (not exceptional). Staff was quite helpful at reception and dining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael Douglasfrom Joliette

Vive la nature enchanteresse

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
Décor enchanteur au milieu de la jungle à la base d'un volcan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Hikarufrom SF

文句なし

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
レンタカーでなければたどり着けないが、リンコンデラビエハに行くには絶好の立地。 ホテルはサービスが行き届いており、接客も申し分ない。 部屋は清潔でWiFiはフロントとレストランのみながら、場所によっては拾える。 料理は種類は少ないが、価格はリーズナブル。 リンコンデラビエハは火山の活動性も高く、非常の楽しめるためにお勧め。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting, pleasant staff, fair food

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hacienda Guachepelin location is remote ($70 -15mn cab ride from Liberia airport) if you don't have a car. Lovely setting facing the volcano, pleasant staff, enough activities for our two-day stay. Horse back ridding was a great way to discover the area. Natural geothermic pools with mud rubs were lovely. Food -like breakfast- is good but stick to local costa rican cuisine otherwise meals are overpriced - and can be bad like the undercooked large pizza $20.00, non-flambée banana flambée for $6.00, skimpy meat portions with frozen vegetables, cake desserts tasted coal baked, etc. Still, the open dining room overlooking the beautiful vista reminded us why we came here. Also same with the rooms and bathrooms; they looked a bit tired but the hamacs and scenery outside made up for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alicia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Working ranch with luxurious resort type feel.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Great staff; clean spacious rooms;
Location: Beautiful setting with views of the Rincon de la Vieja and Santa Marie volcanoes on the border of the RDLV National Park.
We stayed at Hacienda Guachipelin for 2 nights. All staff were very friendly, welcoming, and helpful with information on things to do and sights to see. Make sure to take a tour of the serpentarium (snakes), frog exhibit, and butterfly garden. Lots of activities available including horseback-riding, zip-lining, tubing, rock climbing, visiting thermal springs. Great food in on-site restaurant, breakfast buffet included.